Hungry Monday

Usually I’ll turn my breakfasts into a drawn out, slow-food-style, and early morning quiet time.  I like to take my time with eating, and breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

But today I woke up starving which resulted in my wolfing down this whole wheat cinnamon raisin english muffin and guzzling this delicious Green Monster, which was made by blending:

  • 4 c. kale (without the stems this time…makes it less “bitter” tasting…but if you don’t mind a stronger kale taste, all the better! :D )
  • 1 large banana
  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 1 T. pb

So, needless to say, it wasn’t a slow food morning.  Last night I wasn’t hungry at all after running, so I kind of expected that I was going to wake up starving.  ;)

100_6351

Then I blogged for a while, and went for a 4-mile walk.  I was toying with the idea of doing some beginner’s yoga instead, but, I decided that since it is supposed to be rainy the rest of the week, I’ll have plenty of chances to stay indoors and do that.  But since this morning was 65 degrees, sunny, and wonderful (my mood is sooo influenced by the weather!) I went out for a walk in the sun. :D

When I came home I was hungry again, so munched on a handful of almonds.  The perfect lil’ tide me over for lunch.

100_6352

Have I ever mentioned how much I enjoy finishing leftovers off and seeing the fridge clear out?  It’s a not-so-secret pleasure of mine, and I can’t even explain why I enjoy it.  I just do.  Which is why I enjoyed finishing off the black beans and canned salmon that were leftovers in the meat tray of my fridge.  I felt so economical and healthy, all at the same time. :D

This salad was made with:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, red onions
  • the rest of the canned salmon
  • about 1/2 c. black beans
  • 1 tsp olive oil, drizzle of balsamic vinegar, and a capful of orange juice

kashis too. :D

100_6354

My hungry day persisted, so I gave myself some time for lunch to settle and then had a yogurt parfait.  Plain yogurt, chopped fresh pineapple, and homemade granola sprinkled on top.  I can’t wait for this granola to be finished.  Not because I don’t like it, but because I’m dying to try out Boo’s Kitchens’ granola recipe that she talked about from Emeril.  So excited! :D

Anyways, this hit the spot…finally.  No more stomach grumbles. 

100_6355

I made myself an iced coffee, using 1 c. coffee to 1/2 c. milk + tsp. sugar, and drove off to my volunteer orientation at the hospital.

I was kind of nervous at first.  Am I overdressed?  Am I going to be quizzed?  What’s going to be expected of me? Etc, etc, etc…but then when I finally got there, I just relaxed and decided to enjoy the fact that I was completely new and could get away with asking tons of questions without feeling stupid. ;)  And everyone was super, super friendly.  I’m looking forward to the fact that I can now officially get in touch with the RD and plan some hours to work with her.  SO excited about that.  :D

And when I came home I found THIS package in the mail!!

100_6356

Amazing Grass was nice enough to send me a box full of goodies to try out and sample on my blog, along with the smoothie cup as well!  They must have known I needed a good traveling cup, because I’ve been wanting one for forever. :D  And I’m really looking forward to trying and reviewing some of the products on my blog.  Especially the bars, since I’m always on the lookout for nutritious and healthy bars to bring along when school starts again in the fall.

THANKS AMAZING GRASS! :D  Looking forward to trying these goodies out!

Supper came from Cooks Illustrated Light cookbook.  This was their chicken pot pie recipe.  The only variations I did were in subbing in half the flour as whole wheat, using less chicken (due to the small amount of leftovers from Saturday’s meal :D ) and used only 2 T. butter in the biscuits instead of the 4.  Again, once I figure out copyrighting laws and all that fun stuff, I’ll see if I can post recipes like that. 

Totally delicious…I had 1-1/2 biscuits with lots of the veggies.  Yum, yum…

100_6362

And I was feeling in the mood for something a lil’ sweet to finish the meal, but wasn’t overly hungry.  So I settled on 1/2 a graham cracker square with a pat of peanut butter and some peanut butter chips.  Can you tell I was having a pb craving?  ;)

100_6365

Now I’m going to be working on some homework and hopefully I can start to make some sense of what’s expected in the class.  It’s a tad bit confusing, but once I reread some of the material I think I’ll (hopefully) get any and all confusion cleared right up. :D 

Hope you all are having a good start to the week! :D

11 thoughts on “Hungry Monday

  1. I want to try those bars so bad! You’ll have to tell me if you enjoy them! I love cleaning out the fridge too but that never happens in my household where 4 people eat different things lol

  2. You salad looks yummy. I’ve just started trying Amazing Grass stuff too, and I really like all of it (except the bars). But it goes so well in smoothies without ruining them like some greens products I’ve tried.

    Looking forward to following your blog!

  3. I thought I loved having an empty fridge until I came here and had nothing to work with. Lol! :P

    I totally busted out a jar of PB today. I love the stuff!!

Leave a Reply

