Hiking and Cookouts…

4th of July weekends are never complete without…

Time Spent Outdoors

The sun was shining, the breeze was blowing, and the mountain was calling our names. ;) 

100_6947

The views on top were absolutely beautiful, making the hike well worth all the effort. ;)  We were trying to figure out how many times we’ve hiked this one up.  I remember climbing up it with the family since I was 4 years old (although I’m pretty sure my dad carried me up at least half-way at that point ;) ).  I didn’t always enjoy hiking when I was small, but looking back, I’m so glad we did.  So many great memories and now I absolutely love it!!!  You can’t beet getting outside and active on a gorgeous day. :D

100_6953

The mountain has a road to the top too, so I decided to try and hitchhike my way down.  Haha…kidding!  Considering how “busy” the road was, I might have still been there at this very moment.  ;)

100_6952

Backyard Cookouts

I quickly threw together this pork chop marinade from weber’s great grilling website.  It was so easy to put together.  I simply threw the marinade into a bag, added in the pork chops, and let it sit for 20 minutes.  Just enough time for the coals on the weber to heat right up to the correct temperature.  The outside of the pork chops got all crispy, and the marinade was so very flavorful.  You can barely taste the brown sugar, but it did offer nice crispy edges and markings.  I was a little afraid the lemon juice was going to make it sour, you know?  But it came out nicely balanced with the soysauce, sugar, and olive oil.  Loved it, and I’ll be keeping it on record for the next time we grill up some chops.

Dad did an awesome grilling job, by the way… :D

100_6956

The brussell sprouts were perfecto too!  I drizzled about 1.5 pounds of sprouts with1 T. olive oil and sprinkled them with salt and pepper.  I tossed them and threw ‘em into a sprayed baking pan, cooking in a 400 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

The outer “burnt” edges are the best part. :D

100_6957

There were also some grilled taters.  I sprayed a doubled sheet of foil, threw on 4 chopped potatoes, and drizzled 1 T. olive oil.  Then I liberally sprinkled on garlic powder, cajun, and paprika.  Throw the enclosed packet on the grill, and cook until tender and it starts to brown and gets crispy on the edges.

Easy Peazy!  :D

100_6959

All together to make a very delightful meal…

100_6961

Watermelon

Because, honestly, what 4th of July celebration is complete without it? :D

100_6963

It was a very enjoyable weekend.  I fit in lots of outdoor activities, spent some great quality time with the family, and enjoyed some very good food too.  I hope you all have really enjoyed this past weekend as well! :D

7 thoughts on “Hiking and Cookouts…

  1. hi girlie, it sounds like you had a great day :) that pic of you and your mum is so cute! and it looks gorgous out, so sunny!
    dinner looks great and i LOVE watermelon,…nothing reminds me of summer more!

  2. yeah for holiday hiking! those views look gorgeous, and it looks like you had a fabulous weekend. the hawaiian themed party looked like so much fun, and your breakfast cookie? totes to die for! even though i didn’t get my 4th of july watermelon :(

    happy monday!

  3. Thanks so much for your lovely comment on my IBD post – I really appreciate it. You are so right about eating healthily being about what your body needs at a particular time; I need to remember that sage advice!

    Your hike looks so good! I used to go rock climbing with my family in Wales about as often as it sounds like you guys hike – your post brought back all those memories! Pork chops, brussel sprouts and taters also look the bomb!!

    My Sister’s Keeper…ehhh. Mixed feelings. I didn’t think it was that great of a movie and yet I balled my eyes out most of the way through. What can I say – I’m a cry baby! If you’ve read the book, erase your memory of that because there are some big changes!!

    Happy Monday!

  4. Pingback: Green Eggs “Minus” The Ham « Running To Slow Things Down

Leave a Reply

