A Girl Needs Her Sleep…

*Quick Question: Do you like these photo sizes or was it better when it was a bit smaller? :)

Can you believe I’m still sore??  I must have used some muscles that I’ve never used before, because I was in pain.  Thankfully, a few morning stretches got most of the kinks out, and I can tell I’m on the upswing towards walking like a normal human being again soon. haha…

I knew a morning run wasn’t going to be happening because of that…and also because I’m off to a horrible start with the sleep challenge that Angharad has put together.  That would be due to the fact that I was up until midnight last night working on a homework assignment, and up by 6 this morning to work at the hospital.  Eeks!  Tonight I’ll be in bed nice and early to make up for it! ;)

However, in spite of my rough start to the morning in terms of sleep and exercise, I did fit in a very nice breakfast. :)  

That would be:

  • 1/4 c. oat bran
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 large and very ripe banana

Sprinkled with FEED’s bittersweetness granola and a glob of almond butter.  Amazin’! :D 

100_7217

I couldn’t believe how quickly time flew by this morning.   Before I knew it, I was sitting down for a midmorning snack break with the morning crew at the hospital’s kitchen.  I wasn’t sure how a smaller bowl of oatbran would hold me over, but it did quite nicely.  I was just starting to get kind of hungry, so I searched out the cafetaria line to see what I could come up with for a snack.

They had these little mini bowls of kashi heart to heart cereal, so I grabbed one and topped it with a strawberry activia yogurt.  It was the perfect hit of crunchy and sweet. :)

          +

 

Time continued to fly by, and before I knew it, I was on my way home for lunch.  All I wanted was an exact repeat of yesterday’s salad.  I know, I know…incredibly repetitive!  But I picked up this humungous box of fresh greens and I want to use them all up before they go bad.  And I just never grow tired of salads for lunch.  They’re so very versatile.  :)  Plus I had some more annie’s whole wheat bunnies on the side…

100_7221

Dessert…up close and personal.

100_7224

I headed out for a 4-mile walk by myself this afternoon, and realized that A) I prefer running solo but B) I enjoy walking with company.  Running keeps me sane because it’s my me time which I use to think or not think depending on my mood. :)  But walking is meant for chatting, gabbing, and laughing, in my opinion, or at least that’s how it’s always been for me.  So walking by myself took some getting used to.  By the end, though, I was rather enjoying the slowed down pace and the quiet too.  But I still can’t wait for my regular walking partner to return from her vacation soon. ;)

I snacked on a juicy red grapefruit out on the sunny porch afterwards…

100_7226

Then I had the pre-dinner munchies and decided to finish off my bag of Food Should Taste Good Sweet Potato Chips while making dinner.  These were really, really, really good.  I have one free coupon left that they sent me, and I’m tempted to purchase another sweet potato bag. ;) Ha…but I should probably try a new flavor since there are so many out there to try.  Maybe the Olive chip?  Hmmm…

100_7227

Dinner was a classic “Sarah concoction.”  That is, random ingredients and flavors that sound interesting at the moment, all thrown into the same meal.  Sometimes it works out, and sometimes it doesn’t.  But it usually always pleases the tastebuds that need pleasing at the current moment.  Oh, and keeping it healthy is of course, a must as well. ;)

This was a plate of randomness…in the back I have bulgur which was made with 1/4 c. bulgur + 3/4 c. water + 8 minutes in the microwave.  Next to it (clockwise) are some sardines.  My brother and I love the stuff, but unfortanetly they’re not always pleasant to look at, so I sort of hid them in the corner. :D  Up close I roasted 1/2 a small zucchini and 1/2 a small summer squash and 1/2 an onion in a 425 degree oven for 8-12 minutes.  I sprinkled garlic powder, oregano and basil all over them for ultimate tastebud pleasing power.

And on top I poured about 3/4 c. worth of Newmans Own Pasta Sauce sprinkled with parsley.

Strange? Yes!  Satisfying?  Absolutely!  ;)

100_7231

…honey nut cheerios were my night time snack… :)

Phew…I’m definitely feeling the effects of lack of sleep!  It’s amazing how important it is to our daily moods and energy levels, which is why I’m sooo very glad that I’m participating in this sleep challenge.  It’s a little ironic that I missed a good 8 hrs. on my very first night of joining (eeks!) but I’m determined to put in 100% effort, taking it one day night at a time.  This girl needs her sleep! :)

Exercise: 4-mile walk…5-mile bike ride (which didn’t effect my soreness at all…yay!)…+ gentle yoga and dancing to the radio.  Yes, I admitted it… ;)  Hope you are all having a wonderful Hump Day!  The weekend is just around the corner… :)

19 thoughts on “A Girl Needs Her Sleep…

  1. DEFINITELY the bigger pics. But have you seen the size of the pics on my page? Ummm yeah, I’m a big picture kind of girl. These pics give your post a whole different feel!

    Good luck with your sleep challenge! I am a total beast if I don’t get enough sleep, hope you are heading off to bed as I type!

  2. I think I like the size now.

    If I don’t get my 8 hours I go crazy! Sleep is so important to me. I teach and when I am in a bad mood EVERYONE is going to have a bad day!

  3. I like the bigger pictures! Maybe I should attempt to make mine bigger.. yours look awesome like that!

    Good luck with your sleep challenge! I’ve actually never had a hard time getting enough sleep.. I’m a morning person so 10:00pm is actually late for me!

    Your salad looks like such a good combo of flavors! Salads can never really get boring when there’s so much toppings to choose from.

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  4. I most definitely like the bigger pics. Up and close and personal with the food! My roommate raves about the Olive chips – I’m looking forward to trying them out! I just bought the chocolate flavored ones today…have you tried those ones?

    • Oh, I’ve wanted to give the chocolate ones a try for a long time now, but they never seem to come around the grocery stores out here. Let me know how you like them though, because I’m still keeping an eye out for them! :) I’m glad to hear the olive ones received rave reviews from your roommate, though…now I’m definitely buying some. :)

  5. Bigger pics! :D
    I’m also a repetitive eater as I hate wasting stuff. That also means I’ll just throw in anything and everything to come up with random meals. Haha.
    I feel most refreshed with 7 hours of sleep. I was in bed around 8:30 last night and woke up 3:30 this morning. Perfect for a rare morning run.

    • Woah! You go girl, that’s awesome! I’m not so sure I could get up at 3:30 in the morning, but that must have made for an absolutely wonderful run. I love going out first thing in the morning. :)

  6. hi hun, i like the larger pics :)

    love all the eats! especially breakfast! yum!

    i agree with you about the walking with someone usualluy being more fun…running is a solo thing for me but id prefer to go for walks with people, but i do also enjoy solo walks…i think its dependent on the mood im in.

    have a nice night :)

  7. Oh love, sorry that the sleep was not forthcoming! :(
    There’s always tonight… Yay for an awesome breakfast at least to make up for things!

    I’m actually not sure if I made my own challenge last night (haha) since I had to be up extra early this morning and had to force myself into bed!

    I much prefer the bigger pictures – it’s easier to see all your beautiful eats!

    Also – I’m with you on the running/walking thing completely! The idea of running with someone else kind of scares me because it’s seriously my regenerative me time. Walking however! That’s a different story.

    Happy Almost-Friday x

  8. loving the pics either way – they are always pretty :)

    do you find annie’s whole wheat bunnies are SERIOUSLY like crack? i once bought a box at target, because i was really hungry. after shopping, at the check out, i handed her the box and it was almost all gone. hahahaha…is that bad?

    happy thursday to you!

  9. Try the potato and chive flavor of Food Should Taste Good chips – aaahmazing! Don’t worry about your salads being repetitive – I eat the same salad nearly every single day for lunch :-)

  10. bigger = better in this case :) haha

    wow that salad looks amazing!!! I love all of the beans!
    I dont know why, but whenever I hear adults eat Honey Nut Cheerios I just find it adoarble :)

  11. I like the bigger pictures! I love your square glass bowls. Where did you get them?

    I haven’t been craving salad as much as I normally do! Weird. Maybe because the weather in the NW is a lot less humid and hot. I’m sure when the summer is over and I’m home home, I’ll be eating salads like no other! I love their versatility, too! Hope the soreness subsides!

    • I picked them up at Pier 1…they always have such an awesome selection of glass bowls! :) Especially in the clearance section…love it there!

Leave a Reply

