Productive To-Do Lists…:)

Last night I went to bed by 9:30 and didn’t wake up until 7:30…that’s a good 10 hrs. worth of sleep!  Whew!  My body is thanking me now.  Sometimes a good, solid sleep is what the body needs! :D

Speaking of last night, I was also super productive.  First I managed to put together a killer to-do list for homework, working at the hospital, and my running routine.  Angharad completed a 10k recently, which is totally inspiring me to do my own.  I know I need to be more structured in a running program, so that’s why I’m going to give it a go for a couple weeks and see how my legs feel about upping my mileage/endurance.  More news to come!! :D

I also put together breakfast last night too…my very first bowl of overnight oats for this summer!  It hasn’t been warm enough to enjoy this cold version of oats, but yesterday as I was sweating over my oatmeal, I decided it was due time for the cold stuff!!

Last night I threw together:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 large banana
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • cinnamon and nutmeg

This morning I mixed in a 6-oz. container of plain, fat free yogurt and added 2 T. walnuts on top for crunch, flavor and a dose of healthy fats.  Yummo!!  Simply delicious! :D

101_7636

Along with the warm weather demanding cooler breakfasts, it also demands that exercise be planned in the early morning or later evening.  So mom and I headed out for a 4-mile walk this morning.  It was super hot outside, and thankfully I brought along a water bottle.  I was sweating buckets by the time we got home.

For a snack, I didn’t want anything heavy since I was feeling the heat, so I made myself a Polly peach. :D  Who knew that almond butter could find a place on peaches too?

101_7644

After noshing on the juicy, cold peach, I found myself in the zone for finishing up some homework.  I discovered today that if I really buckle down, I can finish most of my assignments within the next two weeks.  How’s that for incentive?  It would give me two more weeks of complete freedom before the fall semester starts up again.  I need that!  So I’m aiming for it… :D

I accomplished two hours worth of homework and then broke my concentration to get lunch created. 

Lunch was a delicious veggie sandwich with carrot sticks on the side.

101_7646

There was a lot going on in this sandwich, with layer upon layer of goodness.  From the top down, it was filled with:

  • 1/4 a smashed avocado
  • 4-5 basil leaves
  • lettuce
  • cucumber slices
  • tomato slice
  • 1/4 c. roasted red pepper hummus

Messy but worth it. :D

101_7645

Still feeling the grumbles, I broke out a glass of milk and decided I wanted to make a chocolate milk using cocoa and a touch of sugar for sweetness.  Don’t.  Unless cocoa is heated or blended well into a smoothie, I’ve discovered it tastes about as chalky as it looks. ;)  Anywho, it tasted fine, but the texture was weird. 

101_7648

Then I hopped right back to the laptop and conquered a couple more hours worth of homework.  See what a good to-do list can do for procastinators like myself?  It does wonders. :D 

I wasn’t all that hungry during this time of writing and thinking, so I went for a red pear.  Just enough to hold me over for dinner.

101_7649

Dinner started with a side salad, drizzled with balsamic vinegar.  I ate it inside with the fan blowing directly on me.

101_7650

When it finally started to feel cooler out, I made my way outdoors to the porch and ate 3 slices of homemade pizza.  Pizza can be a totally delicious, and nutritious, meal option!  Make a whole wheat (or go half-half) crust, top it with a red sauce and herbs, layer on some veggies, sprinkle a bit of low-fat cheese, and voila!  Easy peazy and healthy to boot… :D

I’m a huge fan of zucchini with red sauce…I think they’re made for each other.  The zucchini was from our garden and tasted almost sweet.  So fresh!

101_7652

Aside from the zucchini, the other star of the show were the green olives.  I had green olives and feta cheese on a pizza in Boston before, and ever since have fell in love with this addition.  They soften nicely, get a little browned, and add such flavor. 

101_7651

Night snack: Bowl of LIFE cereal with milk…

I’m off to relax some while enjoying some new magazines.  I just picked up the latest bon appetit and can’t wait to check out all the fun recipes.  Not to mention the fact that I still need to finish My Sister’s Keeper.  It was a “I can’t put this down” read until I stopped before going on vacation, and I haven’t touched it since.  I need to get back into it so I can find out how it ends! haha…

G’night all!!

Exercise: 4-mile walk in the morning + 2-mile walk after dinner

15 thoughts on “Productive To-Do Lists…:)

  1. I want to copy all of your meals today – tomorrow! That veggie sandwich looks AWESOME, and homemade pizza…. it’s been too long!

    YAY for productivity and I’m cheering you on for that 10K already!

  2. I just made overnight oats & I’m trying them out for the first time tomorrow morning! So excited for them.

    Your pizza looks awesome…I was actually just saying to my sister how we need to make some pizza soon…there’s nothing quite like it! yum.

    I hope you get back into My Sister’s Keeper… the ending is something that can’t be missed!

  3. Oh gosh everything looks delicious!

    I LOVE overnight oats but sometimes they don’t hold me as long as hot ones for some odd reason.. did they hold you a while?

    And that sandwich sounds so good! I”m going to add basil leaves to mine next time. Great idea!

    • I know what you mean! That’s usually the case for me too, but for some reason this bowl did hold me over really well. :D

  4. Yay for doing a 10K!! You can totally do it lady – I would love to see you rock it! Having a “training program” has helped me loads because I’m a total procrastinator with exercise! To-do lists can extend to work outs too!! Haha.

    Also, that pizza looks awesome and peach with AB sounds delightful! I had AB on my salad tonight and it rocked my socks :)

  5. you know you were tired and needed the sleep when you get 10 hours worth of it :)
    the overnight oats look delicious!yum!
    i just finished my sisters keeper…i LOVED it…definetly an addictive book!

  6. You should sign up for a race as you are very active and athletic. If only there was one in my city now, I’d totally join one.

    Your sammie is AMAZING. I love all those layers.

    Yay for that long and well deserved sleep. Nothing beats that feeling when you wake up and realize you’ve had slept longer than normal but feel sooo good. :D

  7. Overnight oats are one of my favorites! Actually, I think you just inspired breakfast tomorrow morning! I am trying to break my smoothie streak but was a bit unhappy this morning as I, too, was sweating over my oats, delicious but uncomfortable, haha.

Leave a Reply

