Lesson Learned!

6:30am…

I woke up feeling 10x better this morning after a solid night of sleep.  My energy was back and so was my appetite. 😀

So far my tastes for hot breakfast hasn’t overtaken my love for cold breakfasts.  Maybe it will take that first snow fall to convince me that it’s time to make the switch?  Or maybe once the Christmas tree is up, it will finally hit me that winter is here.  Or, maybe, subconsciously I’m just wishing the warm weather would stick around for good. 😉  Whatever the reason, I went with a cold bowl of overnight oats my for my morning fuel:

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 sliced banana (very ripe=secret)
  • 2 T. cocoa

After a night in the fridge, I stirred in 6 oz. plain yogurt this morning and added 2 T. walnuts + 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin granola on top this morning.  Mmm…chocolate and pumpkin pair so nicely together.  They were so meant to be. 😉

8:30am…

You know how on some morningstakes, it takes serious work to get yourself motivated to head to the gym or go out for a run?  As much as I love running, I still have those days too.  But then there are other mornings–like today!–where I’m practically dying for a run.  I think it’s due to my not running since Saturday’s 7-miler.  And now that my energy is back after having the flu, this lack of running is really catching up with me. 😀  After I grabbed a quick snack of a toast and some peanut butter, I was out the door in a blur of motion. 😀

My run went great!  I love runs when you feel as if you’ve learned something new about form or pace.  Today I learned that keeping my legs lower to the ground and sort of “gliding” along left me with more energy…and no pains or kinks in the knees or shins! 

Oh, and I also learned that Christmas trees are now being sold down the street, which makes me excited for the coming weekend!  I absolutely love the smells of Christmas trees, and decorating them is one of the many things I look forward to each December. 😀

11:30am…

Are you a “eww! sardines?” person or a “oh! sardines!” person?  I’m a “oh, sardines!” person. 😉  I think for such a little fish, they get such a bad rap!  They’re super healthy, super quick, and super cheap.  In other words, they’ve got a lot to brag about and deserve some recognition. 😀 

Today I had an open-faced sandwich.  First I toasted a slice of bread, then I topped it with a slice of cheese and a can of heated and mashed sardines (mixed with a bit of hot mustard and parsley.)  Then I popped it under the broiler for a couple minutes, just to get the cheese and sardines melted together.  Mmm…

+ the last of what’s left in the vegetable tray! (aka, 1/2 a carrot, a couple cucumber slices, and a handful of lettuce…down to the bare minimums here! 😀 )

+ a yogurt parfait for dessert!

  • 6 oz. plain yogurt
  • 1/2 c. blueberries (microwaved for about 20 seconds to slightly dethaw)
  • 2 T. Pumpkin Flax Granola

3:00pm

One banana manna bar…

…and one apple

…made for a very tasty and fun snack to nibble on through my Nutrition in the Life Cycle lecture.  However, they weren’t nearly as filling as I wanted them to be.  I had a raging appetite after about an hour, and I did my best to ignore it since I didn’t have any more snacks on me!

7:00pm

Lesson learned: always bring an extra snack even if you don’t think you’ll need it.  Because sometimes your stomach decides differently. 😉

I was beyond hungry when I came home and dug right into some homemade pizza!  There was limited cheese left (about 1/4 c. for the entire family sized pizza,) so I simply subbed in some garbanzo beans. 😀  They actually go really well on pizza, as they contribute a nice flavor punch to the meal.  I also topped my slices with broccoli and had a glass of milk on the side…

…slice #1 was practically inhaled. 😉

slice #2 was more thoroughly enjoyed in a slow food fashion. 😀

+ the last of these frozen treats! 😀

I just ate a bowl of raisin bran cereal with soy…and I’m finally full.  I don’t feel as if I didn’t eat this past week even with the flu, but apparently my body thinks it still needs to replenish itself…haha. 😀 

Tomorrow I’d like to brave the expected rain and get out for a 4-mile morning run!  This is a low mileage week, but it’s all in preparation for next week’s longer mileage that I’m planning for. 😀  And on that note, I think it’s time to go relax a lil’…

G’night!!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by One Beautiful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

About One Beautiful Life

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a 30 something year old who loves Jesus, nutrition, green tea, my family and my tuxedo cat named Humphrey. I enjoy photography, cooking and working at the local hospital as a Registered Dietitian. Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Lesson Learned!

  1. You know sometimes I just love those bottomless pit days.

    I’m an oh. sardienes (blech) person. OK I’m veg so I probably shouldn’t answer that question.

    And I’m totally an all-year-round overnight oats kind of gal myself. Water is cold and I still drink that in the winter, right? Oats are basically water. Am I right or am I right?

  2. Don’t say “brave the rain”, but rather “can’t wait for the rain”. Running in the rain is heaven to me. Dress appropriately and it’s just a blast.

    And while I’m new to the overnight oats thing, it was freezing here this morning (actually below freezing). Didn’t give having overnight oats a second thought. They’re wonderful. I recently came into some pomegranites. They’re really good with the oats.

    Jim

    • I much prefer that way of looking at running in the rain. Sometimes I need the reminder to look at it positively. 😉 You’re right, running in the rain can be such a blast!

      Pomegranates in oats sounds like a wonderful idea! I’ll be sure to give that a try! 😀

  3. Good to fuel yourself when feeling under the weather.
    I’ve never seen that bar before but my previous experience with banana bars hasn’t been promising.
    I don’t think I’ll ever grow a taste for sardines but I loved my tuna sandwiches 🙂

    • I’ve never been a *huge* fan of the banana bars, myself. I like the simple ingredients, and it has grown on me since I ate the first bar from the box I have, but I still don’t think I’ll restock once they’re gone. There’s something off about the texture and flavor, I think.

  4. It’s funny because I was eating oatmeal during the summer and have just recently fell in love with cold breakfasts!

    I’ve actually never had sardines.. I’m kind of scared to them to be quite honest! Although I have learned to like most of the foods I eat now so maybe I should give them a try 😉

  5. ahhhh loving the new new layout! so much fun to change things up, no?

    i have had many a bottomless pit days – the key is to enjoy them when they happen 🙂

    not going to lie…too scared to try sardines 🙂

Leave a comment