Thoughtful Mornings

This morning, as I was enjoying my breakfast, I suddenly realized that—wow!—Friday will be January 1, 2010.  Is it just me, or was the year 2000 just yesterday?  I can remember all the worries and concerns of Y2K, and that just seems too recent to be ten years ago!  Time sure flies, doesn’t it?  I love looking back to see everything that happened in the past year, while looking forward to all that will come in 2010. :D

Breakfast!

  • 6 oz. plain yogurt mixed with 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1.5 c. Kashi heart to heart
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 2 T. chopped walnuts
  • dollop of cranberry sauce for fun ;)

Yum!

There was a wind chill factor in the negative digits today.  I was half-ready to work out in the den with Jillian Michaels yelling at me from the tv screen, but mom surprisingly didn’t get put off by the chilly wind and low temps.  So we both bundled up extra warm, pulling scarves over our faces and wearing our biggest down jackets with enough layers underneath to clothe several more of us. ;)  It’s a good thing too.  Once we were out strolling, the wind literally was enough to knock the breath right out of you, as it howled its way across the open fields, blowing in all directions.  The conversation for the entirety of the walk was centered around outdoor survival and what we would do if we ever got lost in such weather…haha. :D Then I was reminded of The Road, a book which I’ve promised to review and will probably be finished with by tomorrow. :D  Stay tuned!

Once home and dethawed, I got to work on lunch.  Nothing too fancy for today, but I was determined to spice up last night’s lentils a little bit.  I thought about the lentil tacos that I routinely make, and how the salsa is what gives it the flavor.  So I decided to replicate this idea and dumped in about 1/2 a bottle of salsa into the leftovers.  Voila!  Worked like a charm.  It’s now a better then “good” dish.  The guacamole and cilantro on top may or may not have helped as well. ;)  I ended up mixing my peas in with the rest of the dish after snapping the pic, because more color is must in this dish! :D

On the side I toasted a slice of the homemade walnut raisin bread with a pat of butter.  It was crispy on the outside, soft and doughy on the inside.  Mmm…

Today must have been a very thoughtful day for me, because in addition to reminiscing about how fast time flies, I also thought about New Years Resolutions and how silly it would be to wait until Friday to start them.  Every day is a new opportunity to start afresh—why wait for a new year??

So I’ll share my Resolution #1: Be Less of a Procastinor

It’s true, I’m a procastinator.  I have improved a little over the past couple years with college and working and such.  But still…I have a long ways to go and would like to continuously work on this area! :D  In honor of that resolution, I spent 1-1/2 hours on my interinship application and got quite a bit done.  The best part is how good I feel for being so productive. :D

I also spent some time making a future breakfast for the family.  I cooked up 4 servings of Irish Oatmeal and have plans for doing something with this either tomorrow or Thursday morning. :D

A couple weeks back, Doctor Kracker sent me a delightful package full of—what else?—crackers!  I was incredibly excited, because I’ve been wanting to sample some of these nutritious gourmet crackers and culinary crisps for some time now.  They come in a multitude of flavors, but the first one to really pop out at me was the Cherry Semolina. 

Eight crackers boasts 110 calories, 2 g fiber and 4g protien.  Pretty good for such a cute little cracker! :D

C-R-U-N-C-H!!!

You won’t miss crunch at all with these.  They’re super crunchy.  The cherry flavor is light, and the cracker is only subtly sweet.  Both my mom and I loved this flavor.  My dad commented that he prefers his crackers thinner, but admitted these would probably be good with goat cheese and pears.

I didn’t have goat cheese, unfortunately.  Next time, I’ll be prepared. ;)  I did have American cheese though, which wasn’t quite as gourmet but still tasty. ;)  I made a plate for a snack, including 1/2 a pear.  It was delightful.  I’ll buy these again—I think they’d be a great addition to a cheese plate for when company comes over.

My snack carried me well into dinner.  I couldn’t for the life of me decide what to make.  I kind of wanted roasted butternut squash, but a recipe from Veganomicon sounded good too.  Dad wanted chicken due to many a meatless night in the past few days.  What to do???

…combine all three of course! :D

Sometimes hodge podge meals come together and sometimes they don’t.  But usually it’s almost always worth the risk.  Tonight it came together quite well. :D  From Veganomicon, I created the Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf (click me for the recipe! :D ).  The only variations I used were in substituting 1 T. olive oil for the 2, using ground instead of whole coriander seeds, and added a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, drained.  It was really simple and tasty.   On the side was the roasted squash and on top I added some sauteed peices of chicken breast, which I cooked in a tsp of olive oil with a bit of salt & pepper.

I practically licked my bowl clean, feeling quite satisfied with the fact that I was able to please everyone’s tastebuds with one meal. ;)

After 20 minutes or so of ab and arm exercises, I followed up with a bubble bath, an orange, peppermint tea and SELF. :D  I’m just relaxing for the rest of the night, and there will definitely be a snack in the very near future. ;)

G’night!

7 thoughts on “Thoughtful Mornings

  1. wow your photographs are stunning!! I can’t believe the new year is on friday. Kind of weird/scary.

    lovely yogurt bowl!

  2. i am with you, 2000 was seriously just yesterday! i have tried those crackers and i enjoyed them~crunchy with a fruity hint. less of a procrastinator~can i join you?!

  3. I’ve been reflecting a lot lately, too – it does seem CRAZY that 2000 was 10 years ago!? What the heck?!

    Anyway, glad you had a good day – very good dinner solution! :-)

  4. ummm i remember EXACTLY where i was on new years before 2000. crazy just how fast time can fly!

    that’s funny you say you don’t want to procrastinate, because i never would have guessed that! you always seem so motivated and on top of things :)

    totally jealous of those dr. krackers – i saw those new flavors, and want to try them, but my wallet is telling me no :)

Leave a Reply

