Soup(or) Salad

Quick mornings demand quick breakfasts! 

  • 1.5 c. kashi cinnamon heart to heart
  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 banana
  • handful of almonds

My snuffly nose was still here this morning, but that didn’t prevent me from wanting to work out.  I’m taking this as a good sign that my energy levels are coming back to some degree of normalcy. :D  These last couple of days have left me feeling wiped out! 

I took advantage of a) my unexpected energy levels and b) no foot pain (!!!) to go out for a run.  I’ve always followed the guidelines of listening to my body.  If the pain came back or persisted to be worse, then I’d stop…immediatey.  Speaking of which, I always thought that the whole bit of advice on stopping a run when limping begins to occur is a bit extreme.  I think by the point limping starts, there’s a serious problem, and the run probably could have been cut short sooner.  That’s just my personal opinion.  I much prefer to air on the side of caution. :D

The run went really well.  I walked down one long hill to avoid pounding on my foot, and really concentrated on short steps with a quick turnover rate.  It’s hard trying to get 3 steps per second, but that’s my goal. :D  It does wonders for taking the extra impact off the feet and legs!

After my run, I made a quick smoothie-to-go:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 c. milk
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 T. crushed flax

I *heart* my amazing grass travel cup! :mrgreen:

My packed lunch for today included more sweet potatoes!  One large–very large!!!–sweet potato provided three meals.  Not bad for $1. :mrgreen:

  • 1/4 sweet potato, cooked and diced
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • salsa (about 1/4 c.)

This mix was just okay.  Nothing special, but it wasn’t bad either. 

Also in my packed lunch were orange slices and a Doctor Kracker Sunflower Cheddar flatbread with a laughing cow wedge.  Totally love these Doctor Kracker flatbreads!  I think they’re even tastier then the mini “crisps”.  They’re super crunchy but not as hard as the little ones. 

Last week, I had the funnest package arrive on my doorstep. :mrgreen:

Elli at KIND Snacks offered to send me some samples of their products!  I’ve sampled the KIND fruit and nut bar before (and loved it!) and can’t wait to dig into the rest of their flavors! :D 

I snagged the Passion Fruit Macadamia bar for an afternoon snack while in Community Nutrition.  Honestly, I did not love this bar.  I *did* love the coconut bits and the crispy puffed rice peices, but there was something about the tropical flavor that I wasn’t a fan of.  I’m thinking that’s personal preference though.  If you normally go for the fruity bars, you might enjoy this particular bar. ;)

I didn’t get to eat until 7 tonight, but it was totally worth it for this Moosewood Cookbook Minestrone Soup. :D  It was chock full of zucchini, garbanzo beans, green peppers, onions, tomatoes and barley.  I love tomato based soups.  They make such an awesome salad replacement in the cold winter months. :D

Annies whole wheat bunnies kept things simple.

I’m taking the night off from homework since today is technically my Friday.  I feel as if I got a lot done this afternoon in the library, working on a paper with one of my friends.  We’re focusing on the dietary habits of Haiti and it’s so fascinating!  It totally has me captivated. :D

If you had to pick one of these three ways to eat your vegetables, would it be in smoothie, soup or salad form?  Honesly, I love all of them, but if I absolutely had to choose, I’d pick soup (although I can guarentee you that this will change when summer rolls around. :D )

20 thoughts on “Soup(or) Salad

  1. I’m glad the run went well :D I’ve never thought of pace in terms of steps per second. I’m going to pay attention next time!

    I like to eat my veggies hot right out of a bowl (so I guess salad)

  2. Yay for your good run!! That’s such good news!

    I’m so excited for you about your KIND package – I absolutely LOVE all the flavors I’ve tried.

    Roasted veggie bowls are my favorite. Is that a salad??

  3. That’s a tough question :/ I do like a good butternut squash souo…but then I also love roasted veggies in a salad! Depends on the season I say :)
    Interesting about running – I’m probably being very dim, but I’d never thought about how quicker steps = less impact. I’m tall so I take really long strides…maybe I should shorten them!? OoHER, made me think :)

    • Definitely try it out! I’m tall and normally want to take long strides too, so it felt a little funny to be running with shorter steps at first. But it really does lessen the impact.

  4. Girl you are a beast when it comes to working out! I also admire your willpower when it comes to sweetpotatoes. I can’t stop til I’ve finished a whole tattie!

    That’s so exciting about the KIND bars! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the other flavahhs.

  5. Oh I love the combo of sweet potatoes and black beans! Good salad!
    I’d have to say I prefer to eat my veggies in salad form. For some strange reason I just don’t really like soups and smoothies. Maybe it’s a texture thing?
    Hope you feel better. Have a great Friday!

  6. What a fun package! I have been meaning to try those bars! I was thinking about making soup and for ideas I came to your blog. You always have the best soups and bread! :) mmm, barley! I think I am making some tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

