Saturday Recap

What a great Saturday…Nicole was hanging out with Nate in the morning which meant our shopping trip was planned for later in the afternoon.  I was able to have a relaxing morning, included a 2-mile run (no leg cramping! yay!) and have time to also be productive in getting some chores done as well.  Love mornings like that…:D

Of course, no good day starts without an equally good breakfast!  I’m still on a roll with this apple ‘n’ oats thing.  I can’t get enough of it.  And it keeps me full for hours which most breakfasts never do.  The same old, well-loved mix includes:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • tons of cinnamon, a little bit of cloves, and a dash of nutmeg
  • 1/2 an apple (saving the other half to munch on while prepping 😀 )

All cooked together, then topped with:

  • 2 T. walnuts
  • 2 T. granola of choice (my fave is almost finished…sad!)
  • and a couple spoonfuls of coconut on top for extra chew and eye appeal

I think I’ll be eating this until either I get incredibly tired of it or something new and exciting comes along that keeps me just as full. 😀

100_5927

I sipped this iced coffee with soy while chatting with the parents.  I love weekends with no chemistry.  I think I could seriously get really used to it. 😀

100_5928

So, like I already mentioned, I really enjoyed today’s run.  I wanted to go further…much further…but knew that I shouldn’t be increasing my weekly mileage more then 10%, and I already was just by doing the 2 miles.  This week I covered 11 miles compared to last week’s 8.  But that was a low week…still…no injuries is my ultimate goal!! 😀

After my run I wanted water…and watermelon!  So I had a nice big bowl full of the sweet and juicy fruit, which completely hit the spot.

100_5929

Lunch had to be equally refreshing because it was just that sort of weather!!!  I made myself a nice big salad with the works.  On top of all the green leef lettuce and spinach I had…

  • 1/4 avocado
  • handful of raisins
  • garbanzo beans
  • couple slices of turkey deli meat
  • carrots, tomatoes, cukes
  • tsp each of balsamic, EVOO, and orange juice

And on the side were the beloved kashis. 😀

100_5931

Dessert!

100_5932

I was kind of planning on washing the cars after that, but…it didn’t really happen.  I decided instead to focus on finishing up the ironing, watered the garden, and made dad and Matthew supper for tonight.  I just couldn’t let myself go out for a fun weekend and leave them behind with nothing. 

I used to buy an all-natural taco seasoning mix at the grocery store but haven’t been able to find it.  I was super disappointed, because I refuse to buy Old El Paso.  Some of the ingredients are less then stellar, and I didn’t know what alternative I had to making a quick ‘n’ easy taco meal.  Does anyone know of any homemade recipes for taco seasoning that taste really good?

Instead I bought McCormick’s taco brand which taste extremely similair without all the hydrogenated oils and mispronounced chemicals and additives! 😀  It is still a little high in salt, but just watch the salt intake for the rest of the day. 

100_5936

Not too shabby!

100_5937

Considering Matthew is a vegetarian, I used kidney beans in place of the beef/turkey and first sauteed some peppers and vidalia onions in about a T. of EVOO.  It made a nice big batch…great inside a burrito.  I hope they liked it!

100_5938

Nicole came over around 3’ish to pick me up.  I was all packed and ready to go.  I absolutely love spending the weekend out with her.  I was looking forward to it all week.  Shopping + girl time + chick flick movies (aka “Bolt” in this case…haha…not exactly a chick flick, but it was so cute) + good food + 2 adorable cats = guarenteed fun!

We shopped a lil’ before heading to Panera for lunch.  I’m kind of boring when I go out to eat here because I always love the same sandwich.  I tell myself to try something new, but the Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich will always call my name.  There’s just no preventing it. 😀

So that’s what I got.  I substituted whole grain bread and had black bean soup, an apple, and an iced latte on the side.  Yumm…

100_5943

After shopping some more and picking up some stuff for tomorrow morning’s breakfast, we headed back to the apartment to watch a movie and just relax.

This totally hit the spot…Edy’s X-treme PB icecream with some banana slices.  Mmm…

100_5954

Thanks for having me over Nicole!  I had sooo much fun. 😀

100_5951

Have I ever said how much I love these two furbabies?!?  They never fail to make me laugh and smile.  Nicole adopted both of them from a shelter when they were still little, and they’re almost a year old already. 

This is High St.  Such a prince…haha.  He insisted on cuddling this morning and with a face like that, how could anyone say no??? 😀

100_5982

And this guy is hysterical and such a cuddle bug too.  I’m such a proud “aunt.” 😀

100_5973

Hope you’re all enjoyin’ the weekend! 😀

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Saturday Recap

  1. Pier One! I tend to go a little crazy whenever I go there because I love all their dishes…especially the clearance section. 😉

Leave a Reply

