Blue Skies Smiling :)

This morning I woke up to the sound of rain again.  I decided to make the most of it by making (what else?) a big bowl of oatmeal.  Instant cheering up… 😀 

100_6062

The house was sooo cold today, with it only being 40 degrees outside and the heat being turned off inside.  I was my regular wimpy self, layering on the sweaters.  And the hug mug may have had an appearance as well… 😉  It was made the usual favorite way of 1 c. of coffee to 1/2 c. soy.  Mmm…warm and comforting. 

100_6063

And…drum roll please…the GREEN MONSTER has officially made its way into my home.

I had made one back on St. Patty’s Day because I thought it would be fun to drink something green.  I didn’t really expect to enjoy it.  But I kind of did.

This time I decided make one for lunch, and switched the mango that I had originally used, for a banana…and with a few other ingredients added in, I’m an official fan!

The mix included:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 T. pb
  • 4 c. spinach
  • 1 c. soymilk

100_6064

I also had a grilled hummus sandwich…same ingredients as last night because I couldn’t resist having another. 😀

100_6070

And…*gasp*…my snack was eaten outside!!!  The rain had finally stopped, and I was uber excited to be outdoors without dodging rain bullets for once!  Mom and I headed out for a 4-mile walk and I didn’t need to open my umbrella once.  YAY!  It doesn’t take much to get me excited. 😉

I ate the other 1/2 of my mocha-odwalla bar post-walk…mmm…this is definitely my favorite flavor.

100_6083

Then I got a call back from the volunteer orientation leader at the hospital and she said she would register me as a volunteer after I go through the orientation (which is in a couple weeks from now.)  Which means that I’ll hopefully be in touch with the RD soon and can get started with shadowing and volunteering with her.  Ahh…that would be great.  I’m really looking forward to that and hope it works out. 

And finally the sun peaked through around 4 o’clock.  I grinned ear to ear and haven’t stopped since.  I instantly went outside and soaked up the SUN!!! 😀

100_6100

…and enjoyed the last reminders of the never ending rain we had this past week.

100_6107

…the flowers appear to be hanging on to the last drops. 😀

100_6089

Supper revolved around one of my favorite foods, sweet potato fries!  I popped them into a 425 F oven, for about 20-30 minutes, on a sprayed cookie sheet.  I also had a large green salad consisting of:

  • greens!
  • tomatoes and cucumbers
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • MorningStar Veggie Burger
  • 1 tsp each of EVOO and balsamic vinegar

100_6121

Yum!

100_6123

Dessert!

100_6132

The sun started setting after I came back from a 2-mile after-dinner walk, and the sky was still a georgeous, glowing blue.   It felt so good to be soaking up blue skies and sunshine. 😀

100_6133

Then later I watched What Not To Wear (guilty pleasure!!) while snacking on some kashis and a cheese stick.

100_6059

I’m feeling pretty zombified by this point, which explains the brief post.  Gotta love Fridays!

Enjoy the weekend everyone!! 😀

Exercise: 4-mile walk post-lunch; 2-mile walk post-dinner…yay for sunshine!!

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Blue Skies Smiling :)

Leave a Reply

