Shoppin’ Trip

I was planning on shocking you all and starting my day with something other then my apples ‘n’ oats. 

But…

100_6165

I have a good excuse though.  My mom, sis, and I always plan a huge shopping trip before each season to get some necessities and to just have some fun girls only time.  I wanted to be nice and full and energized to shop, and oatmeal just seemed right.  Tomorrow…be prepared for somethin’ new. 😉 ha…

I also made myself an iced coffee the usual way: 1 c. iced coffee to 1/2 c. soymilk.  Mmm…I sipped it slowly and it lasted me the entire drive to the mall.

100_6168

We had so much fun shopping that we didn’t realize how hungry we were until glancing at the clock and realizing that noon had come and past.  Time to eat something for more shopping energy! 😀 

Usually we’ll stop at Subways or sometimes the Ninety-Nine restaurant on our shopping trips, but today we each brought along or own lunches.  Saved money and it was nice to get outside for a little bit of fresh air too. 😀

I packed myself some kashi crackers and a nice big salad made up of:

  • salad greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots (the regulars!)
  • about 1/2 c. black beans
  • cheese stick
  • green bell peppers
  • leftover steamed broccoli and cauliflower from yesterday
  • dressing: 1 tsp each of EVOO, balsamic vinegar, orange juice…plus a couple dashes of garlic powder and mustard powder.

Lunch was filling and tasty. 😀

100_6174

+ pineapple for dessert…

100_6175

And a stop at starbucks is a huge requirement of any girly shopping trip.  Nicole chose the bottled Mocha Frappucino. 

100_6186

And I went with a Grande Iced Soy Latte.  I came really close to buying a new cup that starbucks is selling.  It looks identical to their iced coffee cups, but it’s insulated–and feels like a plastic material–and you can get them in grande or venti sizes.  I was in love!  I resisted, but it’s very tempting to go back sometime and pick one up.  Then I could feel environmentally friendly by bringing my own iced coffee cup and I could use it at home when I brew some starbucks beans.  Maybe I’ll buy one for dad for fathers day and pick myself up one while I’m at it…shhh…. 😉

100_6187

I found this blue straw hat and colorful scarf…instant outfit!  haha…maybe someday I’ll actually get the nerve to wear something like this. 😉

100_6180

Nicole found an equally fun outfit.  Nicole, one of these times we need to actually buy these things and go out, k?  😉

100_6176

I was starting to feel pretty fried by the end of the day, probably due to the fact I had gone unprepared without a granola bar or any other snacks.  I’m usually always prepared with a kashi bar in my purse, but not today unfortanetly.  It had been 5 hrs since lunch and coffee break, so this apple that was waiting in the car was a wonderful sight.  I snacked on it for the ride home and it was just enough to hold me over for dinner.

100_6201

I considered just pouring myself a bowl of cereal for supper because I was so hungry!!!  But mom was equally hungry, so I decided to throw together a quick meal of whole wheat mac ‘n’ cheese with peas, carrot sticks, and a couple slices of Natures Promise roast beef.  It isn’t the prettiest meal ever, but did the trick. 

100_6206

Nicole headed home, and mom and I headed out for a quick 2-mile walk to loosen up after the car trip.  It was a very successful shopping trip: we all had fun and we all found some very good deals.  😀

Now I’m just relaxing a bit before what will hopefully be an early night.  Tomorrow I have a decent sized to-do list to work on, so I’d like to get an early start on that.  G’night! 😀

Night-time snack…fat free, plain Dannon yogurt with 2 T. almonds and a small handful of raisins.  I love this mix of almonds and raisins with yogurt, and always forget about it…mmm…

100_6207

Exercise: 2-mile walk + shopping! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Shoppin’ Trip

  1. You definitely need to sport that outfit one night. HOT! Hehe. Seems like you had a fun-filled day of shopping. Always fun! Can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve for a new breakfast!

  2. Ooohhh I might need to try that salad dressing – orange juice? I’ve never seen that, but I’m intrigued!

    Looks like you had so much fun shopping – I love my soy lattes too. Glad you had a good day, and have a good night 🙂

  3. Holly—definitely give it a whirl! I used to just mix in EVOO and balsamic vinegar, but always felt like it needed some sweetening. Since I’m such a fan of citrus fruits in my salad, oj just seemed like the perfect fit. 😀

  4. I will have to try those recipes! Thanks for the suggestions! And thanks for stopping by the blog- I’m new! 🙂

Leave a Reply

