Rainy Days=baking+yoga

There’s something about rainy days, a warm bowl of oats, and having no plans that does the body good sometimes. 😀

This morning I woke up to the sound of pouring rain.  Days like this remind me of being a kid, camping outside, and watching my dad quickly set up the tarp so that we’d all stay warm and dry while eating supper.  Mmm…cozy memories.

My morning included a nice big bowl of oats:

  • 3/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1 banana
  • lots of cinnamon + dash of nutmeg
  • small handful of raisins
  • about 2 T. walnuts
  • about 1 tsp. coconut
  • the last of the homemade granola (sad…but happy to try somethin’ new! :D)

Hits the spot…every time. 

100_6366

I’ll give my mom credit…she’s as die hard as I am when it comes to getting out for some fresh air and exercise.  We used to walk my black lab every day, rain or shine, sleet or hail, ice or snow…he needed his exercise so we never said “no.”  Ever since, I think we’ve both sort of stuck with that daily habit. 

So we went out into the pouring rain, both carrying our trusty umbrellas, facing the rain drops with fearless determination, as we headed out for a quick 3-mile walk.  So dramatic! haha… 😉  Once I got my feet nice and wet, I realized there was no point in dodging puddles and sort of ended up aiming to slosh through them.  You’re never too old to be a kid!! 😉

After I came home, I threw on some warm, comfy socks and got to work on lunch.  This recipe I can post because it’s available online through Cooking Light.  I love the simplicity of the recipe, and aside from the vegetable chopping, it’s pretty quick and easy.  I left out the feta cheese because I didn’t have any on hand, and didn’t measure the veggies exactly.  I just threw in two stalks of celery and two large carrots.

Tomato and Lentil Soup

Ingredients

  • 2  tablespoons  extravirgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2  cups  finely chopped onion
  • 1/2  cup  finely chopped carrot
  • 1/2  cup  finely chopped celery
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 5 1/2  cups  water
  • 1 1/2  cups  dried lentils
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh dill, divided
  • 2  bay leaves
  • 1  dried red chile pepper
  • 1  (8-ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1  tablespoon  balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 3/4  cup  (3 ounces) crumbled feta cheese

Preparation

Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion, carrot, celery, and garlic; cook 10 minutes or until the vegetables are tender, stirring frequently. Add water, dried lentils, 1 tablespoon dill, bay leaves, chile, and tomato sauce. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 30 minutes or until lentils are tender. Stir in remaining 1 tablespoon dill, vinegar, salt, and black pepper; discard bay leaves and chile. Sprinkle with cheese.

Nutritional Information

Calories:  276 (27% from fat)
Fat: 8.2g (sat 2.8g,mono 4.1g,poly 0.8g)
Protein: 16.7g
Carbohydrate: 36.4g
Fiber: 16.4g
Cholesterol: 13mg
Iron: 5mg
Sodium: 700mg
Calcium: 118mg

100_6369

…I also had a grilled cheese sandwich on the side.  Ultimate comfort food on a rainy day. 😀

Dessert was a peice of very dark chocolate.

100_6370

In the time it took me to figure out the groceries for next week, I had this iced coffee with 1 c. coffee + 1/2 c. milk + 1 tsp. sugar.  I love trying to keep the budget low while fitting in good, wholesome foods that include lots of veggies, fruits, whole grains and lean proteins.  Food is crazy expensive, never mind trying to get certain products organic!  But it’s all about balance.  Some products aren’t worth that extra cost, but some definitely are. 

***Do you find yourself buying things organic even when it costs more, and which products are they?***

100_6339

This afternoon I worked on some homework for a bit, but found myself getting so frustrated and confused.  This is my first online class I’ve ever taken, and there’s just something really strange about not having contact with the professor.  I have so many questions about the class, and I hate to bombard the professor with email after email.  It would be sooo much easier to talk in person.  Ugh…just gotta hang in.  Tomorrow I’ll be calling hospitals to see if I can volunteer for the lab part of the class as well.  I can’t wait till everything is just figured out and my schedule starts to look normal.

I gave my first Amazing Grass Drink Powder a try!  I was dying to see what the chocolate flavor was like.  At only 30 calories, I considered creating an ultimate smoothie concoction with the works, but decided that for my first try, I wanted to drink it straight up and see what it was like all on its own.

So I did…

100_6373

The smell was surprising.  “Smells like chocolate!”  I guess I was expecting it to smell like grass. haha…but it didn’t.  It had a nice cocoa odor, which made me even more excited to taste it.  So I threw it into a blender with 1 c. milk and 4 ice cubes to get it all thick and frothy.  I liked the appearance of it too. 

100_6375

The verdict?  Yum!  It was a little less sweet then I was sort of expecting–not over-cocoa’ish–but the more I sipped it, the more I enjoyed it.  I think it would be perfect in a banana & pb smoothie, which is how I think I’ll be trying it the next time I have one.  I’d definitely buy this flavor again in the future, especially for vacationing or for a snack or breakfast. 

100_6374

I wanted some crunch with my afternoon snack too, and settled on a small bowl of Barbara’s Shredded Oat cereal.

100_6376

I finally finished up with all the confusion homework for the day, and almost went out for a run.  But then I decided that my body could probably use a bit of variety…besides, it was raining, and I have been looking for a good excuse to stay in and practice some yoga.

So I did. 😀

I spent a good 45 minutes from Yoga is Yummy’s yoga videos, focusing on the arms and hamstrings.  I’m so very tight, and it felt wonderful afterwards.  Running has definitely strengthened my legs, and given me confidence.  But I think yoga is such a great addition to my running routine, as it helps loosen me up and will hopefully prevent future injuries as well.  Lovin’ it. 😀

You can’t beat leftovers when it comes to quick ‘n’ easy dinners. 😉  I finished off the rest of yesterday’s chicken pot pie (minus any chicken peices…so I ended up eating two turkey deli slices later because I was still hungry!)  I also cut up about 1/2 the red bell pepper to munch on.  The meal was even more tasty then yesterday, and the sauce was much thicker and flavorful.  Mmm…

100_6377

I was thinking about my Green Monster addiction lately, and how much I love having smoothies for breakfast.  But I still need something to chew on in order to make me completely satisfied, full and content.  And something with oats too. 😀

So I made these…

100_6378

First things first…don’t expect them to be sweet like banana bread!  There’s no added sugars, so they’re pretty simple and plain, but that’s how I wanted them to be so that I can add my own toppings as I would if it were regular oatmeal.  You know, stuff like peanut butter, almond butter, honey, mashed banana, etc.

If you want something a little sweeter, add a bit of sugar to the dry mix and/or sprinkle a bit of brown sugar or cinnamon-sugar on top while they’re baking.

Banana-Oat Muffins

Ingredients:

1 c. milk
1 c. regular oats
1 egg
1/4 c. canola oil
1 c. whole wheat flour
1 banana, mashed
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1-2 tsp cinnamon (I think it could use more then a tsp, but that’s how much I used this time…)

Let milk and oats sit together for about 10 minutes.  Combine with rest of wet ingredients.  Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl.  Mix dry and wet ingredients together.  Pour evenly into sprayed muffin tin and bake at 425 for about 20 minutes (test with a toothpick to check for doneness.)

Easy Peazy! 😀

I ate one warm from the oven. 

100_6380

I went for a quickie, very short speed walk after dinner–probably about a mile or so.  It felt good just to stretch out my legs and get some fresh air.  The rain finally stopped and there’s talk that the sun might even poke out tomorrow too.  Maybe during my morning run? 😀

Tomorrow’s humpday, by the way!

Exercise: I decided to not run today, and instead went for a morning 3-mile walk with mom.  I felt like a little kid, sloshing through puddles and just having fun. 😀  Just this one day off from running is making me antsy to run again though, so I’m definitely feeling that tomorrow is going to include a run for sure. 😉  I also enjoyed 45 minutes worth of yoga for my hamstrings and arms which felt absolutely wonderful.  I need to do this more often!  I think my hamstrings would be forever grateful. 😀  And later after dinner I went for a nice 1-mile walk to get some fresh air.  An easy day of working out, which means I’ll be ready to get a good, hard run in tomorrow.  😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Rainy Days=baking+yoga

  1. Oh, I love sprinkling brown sugar on the top of muffins right before baking. Mmmm.

    And nothing smells better than freshly baked muffins.

    Yay for rainy days and puddles. 🙂

  2. Wow – look at that bowl of oats! A girl after my own heart. I love to do a serving and a half of oats, and banana, cinnamon, raisins, and walnuts are staples in my morning bowl. And look at those muffins – YUM!

    I love your blog! I’m going to add you to my blogroll. 🙂

  3. Yum yum yum–all of your food looks absolutely delicious! You are making me hungry again and I just ate. haha.

    There is nothing better than baking and just relaxing on a rainy day…I plan on doing some baking today as well.

    I am new to being an “owner” of a blog but have been reading them for months…and I loooove your blog!

  4. Lentil soup is my fave! Actually, anything lentil is my favorite 🙂 Your recipe is similar to my gramma’s, with a few exceptions that I can not wait to try out. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

