Busy Bee

Today I had plans. 

  • Whole Foods & Trader Joes
  • Hospital visit with volunteer coordinator
  • Run
  • Homework
  • Figuring out where to do my food service internship at

Busy, busy, busy…so I needed a good hearty breakfast which became this bowl of oats! 😀

100_6385

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1 apple (just 1/2 in the mix and the other 1/2 to eat while everythings simmerin’…:D )
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1 T. crushed flax

…and on top:

  • 2 T. walnuts
  • sprinkling of coconut

Today’s 4-mile run felt great!  I haven’t been feeling super motivated lately, which is strange for me.  I don’t like forcing a run in, so I usually won’t (unless I know my body will feel super great after and I just need a good kick in the pants to get out there! 😉 )  And usually that doesn’t happen, because running feels so good and I typically want to go.  It’s “me time,” “quiet time,” “prayer time,” and “fresh air” time, all rolled into one delicious package. 

And today I ran because, to put it simply, I wanted to.

I came back, literally dripping with sweat.  I chugged some water, took my calcium supplement, showered, and felt like a million bucks.  Amazing what a good workout will do for your energy level. 😀

Lunch was a repeat from yesterday’s meal.  I had a smaller then normal portion, along with some kashis, because…

100_6388

…I also wanted to include this as part of my meal.

100_6392

Opened the package, smelled it, and grew kind of concerned.  I was kind of, admittedly, scared to try this one because it just seems so…grassy!  And it even looked like grass when I poured it into my smoothie.  But then I realized that it was kind of silly to be judging it by its color.  If I always did that, I never would have tried the Green Monster…horror!

100_6393

I blended up…

  • the last of the red kale (about 3 c.)
  • a banana
  • about 4 ice cubes
  • 1 c. milk
  • Green Super Food pack

Vwoosh…vwoom…brrqkkk…

My blender is super old, in case you couldn’t tell from the sound effects. 😉

Old blender aside, this smoothie came out delicious!  I seriously couldn’t taste anything “grassy” or out of the ordinary.  All I tasted was frothy banana with a hint of kale in the background.  Super delish! 😀  And a ton of tasty veggies were easily consumed in one sitting.  Not too shabby… 😀

100_6394

I hit whole foods at a really good time.  It wasn’t busy at all!  I went with the goal of spending as little money as possible on as high quality goods as I could.  I did end up making a small little $$ splurge by paying more then normal for some organic lettuce.  I always get organic spinach, but not so much with the lettuce.  Considering how much I practically live on the stuff, I figured it might be worth paying extra to get it pesticide free. 😉 

And I almost bought three organic tomatoes until I saw them ring in at $10.  Eeks…a bit excessive for the budget.  I’ll just have to wait until farmers’ markets start selling them for cheap. 😀

There were some good deals too and I think it was an overall, very successful shopping trip. 😀

I came home later then I was planning on because shopping through whole foods is never a quick stop. 😉  So I called the hospital to set up a time to meet with her (going again tomorrow!) before noshing on a banana oat muffin with a dollop of peanut butter.

100_6395

The meeting with the volunteer coordinator was brief, due to it being later in the day, so I’ll be checking in again with her tomorrow in the afternoon.  I hope it all works out so that I can do my internship there.  It would make life so much easier.  And it’s conveniently close by.  Ah…*crossing fingers*

I knew Nicole was coming over for supper tonight, so I convinced mom into going for a 3-mile walk before dinner since we most likely wouldn’t get the chance later.  It would mean a late supper, but that muffin was holding me over super well.  So mom had a light snack, and we both headed out for an enjoyable, giggling filled walk.  I’ve noticed each walk has a tone.  Some are serious and quiet–neither of us talk much.  Some are one-sided–one of us needs to vent about something.  And some are giggle fests—neither one of us can stop laughing.  Love each unique mom walk.  😀

I immediately got to work on supper when we came home.  This was nothing fancy for tonight.  Just a quick ‘n’ easy shepherd’s pie.  I browned the ground beef and added a McCormick (no partially hydrogenated oils or icky ingredients!) taco seasoning pack.  That was put on the bottom of a loaf pan, topped with steamed corn, and lastly topped with mashed potatoes.  You could also easily substitute a mixture of beans to make it vegetarian, or switch the hamburg for lean ground turkey.  Super versatile, which makes it a nice meal depending on what you have in your house at the time. 😀

On the side I sauteed 2 zucchinis & 1 summer squash in a T. olive oil and sprinkled with oregano, basil, salt and pepper.  Mmm…simple but delicious. 😀  I’m so happy to be seeing some of these veggies popping up in farmers’ markets already.

100_6397

And so happy Nicole could come over tonight… 😀

100_6396

For dessert I wanted something a lil’ more filling because I was still just a tiny bit hungry.  So I settled on a huge grapefruit.  Seriously, this thing was probably the size of two of my fists together.  Huge!  But very delicious and refreshing…exactly what I wanted. 😀 

100_6400

Nicole stayed and visited until 9’ish, and by that time my stomach was growling yet again…time for a lil’ snack of honey nut cheerios and milk. 

100_6401

I can’t believe we’re already passing by Humpday with tomorrow being Thursday.  Where does the week go? 

I’m really glad I was able to accomplish some of my tasks for the day, because it’s amazing how fast a to-do list can pile on up.  Tomorrow’s a new day, and my main mission is to finish grocery shopping, meet again with the volunteer coordinator, get some homework done, and email the RD to figure out a time to meet with her.  The business continues! 😀

Hope you’re all doing wonderfully!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Busy Bee

  1. I love your paragraph about the “mom walks.” I know exactly what you mean…the tone is usually set in the first minute of the walk. I walk more with my dad than I do my mom and I am usually the one talking and asking questions. He answers–so that leads me to think I am not getting on his nerves too bad. haha

    I love Trader Joes so much! And that muffin looks so good…yuuuum

    • It still hasn’t actually started yet!! Crazy, I know. There’s a long process of just getting started, and figuring out everyone’s schedules. I can’t wait till everything is figured out and I have a set schedule… 😀

    • Thanks! 😀 I have an obsession with collecting spoons…the smaller they are, the more I seem to like them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

