Highlightin’ the Day…

“A cloudy day is no match for a sunny disposition,” William Arthur Ward ๐Ÿ˜€

Highlight #1

After waking up to a big ol’ plate of oat cakes, walnuts and bananas, I was craving a good sweaty workout.ย  For some reason or another, I wasn’t all that interested in running.ย  But biking just sounded like fun so I headed out for a casual ride that turned into a 18-mile workout.ย ย  As much as I love running, it’s fun to mix things up once in a while too!ย  I passed through farms, fields, dirt roads, and more farms.ย  It was absolutely beautiful.ย  Next time I’m packing my camera with me. ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyways, on to my fuel…milkย is a great post-workout recovery drink.ย  Not only is it super refreshing (and tasty,) butย the balance of carbohydrates and protein is ideal too!ย  And I also love that it’s not too heavy on the stomach.ย  Whenever I finish a sweaty workout, I’m usually not too hungry right away—but I know I need to eat something!ย  That’s exactly how I felt today…but a Green Monster sounded just right.

In the mix:

  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 3 c. spinach (you can’t taste it, I swear…give it a try sometime ๐Ÿ˜€ )
  • 1 c. ice cubes
  • 1 chocolate Amazing Grass Kids Packet (because even adults can be kids at heart…;)…and its super tasty too)

Frothy…Sweet…Smooth…YUMMY!

100_6644

Highlight #2

Hanging out with this girl always guarentees a great day. ๐Ÿ˜€ย  We went to Panera for lunch, along with two other friends.ย  I ordered my usual—Mediterranean Sandwich on whole grain bread with black bean soup, an apple, and an iced nonfat lattte (I’m so predictable!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )ย ย  I can’t wait to hang out again soon, Nicole!!ย  Maybe next weekend? ๐Ÿ˜€

nicole 080

Highlight #3

My dad brought home these cafetaria trays a while back, when his workplace was getting rid of them.ย  At first they never saw any use…now we take them outside all the time.ย  I felt like I was back in my freshman year of college, eating in the caf’.ย  Only the food is much tastier now…hehe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

100_6648

Highlight #4

I finished the day off on a sweet note. ๐Ÿ˜€ย  I scooped the last of the homemade vanilla puddin’ into a bowl, poured in the rest of the hardened homemade chocolate frosting (which tasted like fudge) and topped it allย with 1/2 a graham cracker.ย  Heaven on a spoon. ๐Ÿ˜€

100_6650

Tomorrow I’m bringing Dad for his surprise father’s day gift and I’m so excited.ย  It’s gonna be fun. ๐Ÿ˜€ย 

Hope you all are having a great weekend so far!! ๐Ÿ˜€

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Highlightin’ the Day…

  1. I love the trays! It definitely reminds me of elementary school! I can’t wait to see your Father’s Day surprise!

  2. I haven’t tried milk as a post-workout snack. I’ve heard great things about it, though!

    Father’s day… exciting ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you let us know what you got your dad!

  3. I loved your “highlights!” And I was also happy to see you are using Amazing Grass product in your smoothie. I am going to buy some of that powder today, I hope, and try it tomorrow.

    Do you have a favorite Amazing Grass product? And do you feel higher energy when you drink/use them?

    AND YAY for Daddy’s Day!!!!

    http://healthymadison.blogspot.com/

    • I *love* the chocolate amazing grass flavor, especially when it’s mixed with bananas and soymilk for sweetness. ๐Ÿ˜€

      But you know, as much as I absolutely love ’em, I don’t really feel higher energy then normal or anything. I do like that it adds in some extra veggies to my day, and I also like the taste of the chocolate/fruit flavored ones. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. yeah for the bike ride – i need a new bike, and wish i had the money because sometimes, a bike ride is exactly what you need!

    have fun with dad today – love the graham cracka/frosting combo ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

