Hump-Day Happenings…

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.”
– Julia Child

Rainy mornings call for oats…they just do. 

100_6729

I used my hug mug and favorite green spoon. 😀 

The mix was made of:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • splash of vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 T. flax
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • topped with 2 T. walnuts

I woke up a good 15 minutes earlier then normal just to be sure I could sit and enjoy this bowl of oatmeal. 😀  I don’t like having to rush through my morning, and having some free, quiet time is a must before I start my day.  Usually I’ll do a little bit of light yoga, eat a hearty breakfast, and blog a little…

Then I stashed a kashi bar in my purse, which I ate later for my 10 o’clock snack, and headed off to the hospital.  I met the RD at 9’ish, and we chatted briefly before I sat in on my first counseling session.  Talk about exciting! 😀  There’s something about 24 hr. food recalls and conversations about controlling diabetes…they just never get old. 😉  I especially liked seeing how the RD handled different situations, and how she changed her motivation tactics depending on the personalities of the people. 

Breakfast technically should have kept me full.  But even after having my kashi bar, I found myself feeling pretty hungry.  It probably has something to do with the extra exercise I fit in these last two days…needless to say, lunch couldn’t come soon enough. 😉

I headed to lunch with two RD’s.  I came prepared with some leftover chicken soup (which didn’t actually have any chicken left in it, hence the cheesestick for a lil’ extra protein,) two slices of homemade bread, and a large juicy grapefruit.  I found it a little hard to eat through all this food in the amount of time everyone else at the table finished their sandwiches, so I’m thinking that next time I’ll have to decrease the volume a little. haha…:D

100_6730

After thanking the RD for letting me shadow and spend some time in her office today, I headed home… 

…Once arriving back at home, I was feeling pretty hungry.  I knew I’d be eating in another 1/2 hr. or so though, and didn’t want to fill myself up with a snack.  So I made myself a veggie plate of carrots and super sweet cherry tomatoes from Trader Joe’s.  These are like candy to me…so addicting! 😀

100_6732

Dinner was Spicy Broccoli Soba Saute from MoosewoodCookbook.  I made a few changes: I eliminated the sake and used all water, added in a can of cannellini beans, used whole wheat pasta instead of the soba noodles (its what I had on hand,) and doubled the sauce for the 1 lb. pasta used.

On the side I also sauteed a head of cabbage in a T. of olive oil.  This was such a tasty and quick meal to throw together!  I really enjoyed the spicy/sweet combo of flavors, and really liked the addition of the beans for protein and flavor.  Everyone agreed that this recipe could only be better with mushrooms…mmm…

100_6734

Then this package came in the meal from the guys over at FEED granola.  Yup, you can just imagine how excited I was. 😉  I love, love, love granola.  I ate it every morning for breakfast with hot milk while on my 12-day hike, and have had a love affair with it ever since (it’s just one more thing that never grows old!)  Now I mostly enjoy adding a bit of very good granola to yogurts, oatmeal, etc.  So I was more then looking forward to trying this stuff out…

100_6731

I decided to open up the mini-sized Raisin Nut (available online, at Whole Foods, and other stores…check their website to find a local store near you!) Granola and topped my last, plain chobani yogurt with a sprinkling.  Oh. My. Goodness.  This may be the best granola I’ve tasted yet.  It was like a crunchy cinnamon raisin cookie…my mom agreed.  Even my dad who doesn’t normally care for oats or cinnamon said this stuff was super good. 

100_6736

Sooo…my brother won’t be home until tomorrow.  But I can guarentee you that once he enters the house, I’ll give him my camera and tell him to figure out a day to snap away and give us all a recap. 😀  I’ll definitely ask him to talk about the Boston Marathon too, since one of you requested it. 😀

If I’m out early tomorrow, I’ll be going grocery shopping and finishing up some homework.  I also hope to fit in a short run tomorrow morning before I leave for the hospital…let’s see if I can motivate myself to get up and out before breakfast!!  Happy Humpday!!! 😀

Exercise: 3-mile after dinner walk in the misty rain…just enough to work out some kinks and stiffness in my legs after sitting in the office at the hospital.  It was a nice (and needed) recovery day after the past two days of good, hard workouts. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Hump-Day Happenings…

  1. I want that granola! And those oats.. they look so good! Isn’t it weird how sometimes certain foods hold us and other times they don’t?

    • It always boggles me…I think it has a lot to do with what I eat the day before or how active I’m being, but even that can be really random. 😀

  2. Pingback: Shopping for all ages » Blog Archive » Hump-Day Happenings…

  3. Your dinner looks delicious!! And that granola sounds sooo yummy too! I love raisins in granola.

  4. Holy granola! I go through a lot of granola too, but I’ve mostly stuck to Nature’s Path. Perhaps I should give FEED a try?

    • Definitely give it a try for a different flavor choice!! 😀 This granola actually reminds me a *lot* of Nature’s Place (another one of my favorites.)

  5. breakfast and dinner look delcious!! that spicy soba noodles recipe sounds awesome!

    glad you had a great time with the RD, it sounds like such fun 🙂

    oo free granola? thats always good 🙂

    • Oh I know!! This one is actually pretty good. In 1/4 c. of the raisin nut flavor, there is 150 calories, 4 g. fiber, 5 g. sugar, and 5 g. protein. Not too shabby! 😀

      • don’t you guys wish it was a 1/2 cup with those stats? I know, I’m dreaming 🙂

  6. I’m the same as you in the morning- I need my quiet relax time! The problem is, I bring my breakfast with me to work.. and read blogs while I eat.. so I don’t start being productive til about 10am… haha..

Leave a Reply

