Blue Skies Smilin’…

 The next 3-4 days are supposed to be rainy again.  But I didn’t care at all today.  Why?  Because I saw the sun and blue skies were smilin’ at me. 😀  It’s been a full week of constant rain, and I think everyone was starting to feel vitamin D deprived.  Even the happiest of people were starting to become cranky…time for some SUN!!  Let’s just say I spent as much free time as possible outdoors, soaking up some rays… 😉

I was able to drag myself out of bed this morning and grabbed a pre-run kashi bar.  I chugged some water, threw on my running gear, and was out the door before I had a chance to argue with myself. 😉

100_6738

It’s amazing how a different time schedule for running makes me feel.  I used to be exclusively a morning runner because I liked getting my workout in nice and early.  It helped wake me up and started my day on the right note.  Now I rarely run in the morning, and usually fit my workouts in towards the end of the day.

So when I went out for a short 2-mile run this morning, I felt a little out of sync.  I felt good, but I was definitely more stiff then normal and found myself breathing much harder.  After the first 1-mile though, I came to the conclusion that I kind of enjoy these morning runs once in a while.  There’s something about an early, quiet morning…having nothing but your sneakers and your thoughts for company. 😀 

When I came home, I whipped this meal together.  I made two slices of French toast by mixing 1 whole egg with 1 egg white, adding a splash of milk and vanilla, plus 1 T. crushed flax.  Then dunk the whole wheat bread into the mix.  Fry in a sprayed pan until nice and toasty & cooked thorough. 😀

On the side I had some apple slices and a dip for dunking.  I made a sweet dip by mixing yogurt with 1 T. each of peanut butter and maple syrup.  Mmm…

100_6739

Then I made an iced coffee with 3/4 c. coffee + 1/4 c. milk + 3/4 tsp. sugar…and had another cup at the hospital when one of the nurses made a “social pot of coffee” to share with everyone.  Next time I’ll have to turn it down.  One cup is fine for me, but any more then that and I just get too jittery!!

I spent some time with the Diet Technicians in the nutrition office today.  I can’t wait until I can actually get put to work…it’s been great to shadow everyone, and I’ve learned so much already. 😀

When lunch time rolled around, I was feeling pretty hungry, so I’m glad I packed a large, satisfying salad to munch on. 😀  For this salad, I topped a bed of greens with:

  • mozzarella stick
  • cucumbers, tomatoes, carrot
  • 1/2 c. garbanzo beans
  • 1 tsp each of olive oil and balsamic vinegar

On the side I had a very juicy red pear and the last of the kashi crackers…

100_6743

Then mom and I headed out for a 2.5 mile walk.  I brought my water bottle even though it was a short walk since the sun was feeling so strong…

After our walk, I finished up with the grocery shopping for the week.  I’ve discovered that going to the stores in the afternoon is so much more enjoyable.  Less people, more parking spaces, and more time to actually take my time.  I’m such a shopping nerd…it’s one of the many highlights of my week. haha… 😀

This afternoon I was feeling pretty hungry and needed a snack to hold me over for dinner.  So I pulled out THIS Amazing Grass bar from the pantry.  I’ve been hearing mixed reviews about it, and wanted to see taste it for myself. 😀

100_6744

I opened it…looked good and chocolatey.  Then I smelled it…smelled good and chocolatey.  Then I tasted it. 

You all know I love adding Amazing Grass packets to my smoothies because I think it adds a good boost of flavor as well as some nutrients.  But this bar was just, I don’t know…kind of missing something?  I thought it was just okay and probably wouldn’t buy it again.  The flavor seemed a little off to me.  I did enjoy those bits of sunflower seeds spread throughout though, because they gave a nice little nutty crunch.  Some people love these though, so you may want to try them for yourselves too before you say “yay” or “nay.” 😉

100_6746

I was in a very GREEN mood again for dinner. 😉  I had an exact repeat from a couple breakfasts ago…two slices of bread with 1/2 a smooshed avocado.  And a green monster to drink.  This one was made using:

  • 4 c. spinach
  • 1 c. ice cubes
  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 Amazing Grass chocolate packet (now these, I will purchase again…;) )

This all made for a very delicious, very green dinner.  Continuing on with the green theme, I decided to not use the dryer to dry the bed sheets.  Instead I threw them on the clothes line outside, to let them air dry.  I felt so eco-friendly!!  😀  Hopefully the sunny weather will come around more often so I can keep it up…

100_6750

After dinner I went out for another 3-mile walk to soak up some more sun.  I almost didn’t want to go back inside afterwards…it’s just too nice to see the sun again. 😀

Post-dinner snack: Raisin bran with soymilk hit the spot and now I’m just finishing up on some homework before heading to bed.  I have to be up and awake early tomorrow, but then it’s the weekend!! 😀 

100_6752

***Expect a Guest Post from my vegetarian brother (sorry for the labeling, Matthew! haha) some time over the weekend, by the way!! 😀  I talked to him tonight and he said he’d love to do one, so it’s all set.  Let me know if there are any specific questions or topics you’d like him to talk about other then the Boston Marathon (which I already asked him to cover.)***

Exercise: 2-mile morning run, 2.5 mile post-lunch walk, and a 3 mile after dinner walk…lots of sun time today! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Blue Skies Smilin’…

  1. sounds like a day of lotsa walking 🙂 im glad the sun came out for you! i love morning runs, i always have more energy in the morning rather than in the afternoon

    breakfast looks delicious, now im craving french toast 🙂

  2. Your eats are so green! haha. I love it.

    Now I am officially craving french toast. Thanks a lot!

    I am excited for the guest post…even though I do love your posts the best of course! 🙂

  3. when i can get myself out of bed, there is nothing better than a morning run. i agree – the quietness of both the outdoors and my mind is amazing.

    love all the GREENESS! have a happy friday!

    • That’s half the battle, isn’t it? Especially on darker/rainier mornings when sleeping in sounds so good. Of course, it always feels GREAT when I actually get out of bed and run though. 😀

    • I know, I was kind of disappointed that I *didn’t* like them, because a lot of other people have. I’ll have to give the other flavor a shot too. 😀

  4. I love my morning runs for all the reasons you mentioned! But I agree, sometimes the schedule has to be revamped and as long as you are getting them in, that’s all the matters. AM runs definitely get my day started off on the right foot…. literally! hehehe

  5. Wow! Lots of impressive walking! I’m so much more of an afternoon runner – I am so stiff first thing in the a.m. plus I’m just not a morning person!

    I love tracking your blog – such a good read. I’ve been thinking and thinking recently about starting my own blog and I’ve finally bitten the bullet! Please stop by and leave a comment if you get a chance!
    http://eating-for-england.blogspot.com/

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

