Ready for the Weekend??

I was up bright and early this morning, all fired up and ready to get to work with the RD.  I was planning on a long day of volunteering, so I wanted a nice, filling breakfast.  I decided to go with a delicious breakfast cookie.

Last night when I was preparing it, I accidentally forgot to add the banana right away, so I kept on adding milk, thinking it was too dry.  Once I realized that I was missing the banana (which explained the “dryness”) I had already added more milk then I needed.  Which means it came out more like cookie batter then an actual breakfast cookie. haha…I love these breakfast cookies because they fulfill the basic breakfast needs: 1) super filling, 2) fun to eat, 3) nutritious, and 4) tasty.

In the mix I threw together:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 mashed banana (minus a few slices which I saved to put on top)
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1 T. crunchy peanut butter
  • about 1/4 c. soymilk (use less if you want a firmer “cookie”)
  • handful of raisins
  • 1-2 T. cocoa

Plus a sprinklin’ of coconut on top the next morning. 😀  I also made myself a tex-mex scramble by whisking together 2 egg whites, 1/4 c. black beans, and a dollop of salsa.  Yum!  The nicest part of this breakfast was being able to eat it outside, underneath the sun! 😉

100_6754

I decided that I really wanted a comforting cup of hot coffee, but was afraid that there would be a “social coffee time” at the hospital as well.  I decided to just make myself 1/2 a cup of coffee in case.  Good thing I did, because I was right.  So I had another 1/2 c. of coffee at the hospital…perfect! 😀

Today was a really, really good day with the RD.  I decided to pay closer attention to as many medical terms as I could, and learn along the way.  I have yet to take Medical Nutrition Therapy (that comes next year,) so I’m still unfamiliar with some of the terminology.  But today I found myself learning a ton of hospital lingo, and found that I was starting to really enjoy the experience even more. 

I enjoyed visiting the Maternity floor again, and listening to the RD discuss nutrition with some of the new moms.  After spending some time with the inhouse patients and filing a ton of paperwork, the RD put me to work by having me set up the new bulletin board in the nutrition office.  It doesn’t look too bad, if I say so myself. 😀  I’m not an art major by any stretch of the imagination ( 😉 ), but it was fun to have the chance to use a little creativity.  The board goes over the effects of caffeine on kids and how much caffeine can be found in some of the more popular beverages.  It was a fun project to put together. 😀

Around 12’ish, I headed down to lunch with the RD manager, and two of the diet technicians.  I brought a packed lunch of a kashi bar, an orange, and a salad made up of:

  • mesculin greens
  • tomatoes, carrot, cucumber (they’re really in there, honest! 😉 )
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 3 olives
  • 1 tsp each of olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Everything tasted so fresh and delicious!  It took a little too long to eat because of the sheer volume of it all, but I managed to enjoy it as best I could without taking too long to eat it. haha…

100_6757

I was out by the late afternoon, and came home excited to head out for a walk in the sun.  I made myself this little snack beforehand: a yogurt topped with the rest of the mini bag of FEED’s raisin nut granola.  Yum, yum, yum…perfect little snack for a warm afternoon.  I haven’t tried the other flavored granolas from FEED yet, but I have a strange feeling that this flavor is going to be at the very top of my favorite list. 😉 

Then mom and I headed out for a speedy 4-mile walk.  It was perfect.  Blue skies, 70 degrees, sunny…love it!

100_6760

Dinner’s 3-course meal started with a nice big side salad splashed with red wine vinegar.  Simplicity can be so good sometimes. 😉

100_6763

…then came the main entree of whole wheat pasta with homemade spaghetti sauce.  It was super chunky with mushrooms, green peppers, ground lean beef, and chopped tomatoes.  The sauce is just as good without the meat for vegetarians as well, since we don’t add it until the very end.  😀 

100_6762

Dessert was a dish of super sweet, chopped pineapple chunks.  I knew it was going to be a good one when I picked it up yesterday, because I could smell the pineapple before even cutting into it.  I’m guessing it must be the season for pineapples, because they’ve all been really sweet and perfect lately!

100_6764
My snack tonight was a repeat from last night…raisin bran with soy.  I tend to be a creature of habit. 😀

100_6768

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m very ready for the weekend! 😀  It seems to always come just in time, doesn’t it? 😉  Hope you all have some fun plans and enjoy some time off too! 😀

Exercise: 4-mile walk before dinner…plain and simple!  I hope tomorrow morning is clear so I can fit in a good, long bike ride!  But if not, I’ll have to get creative and think up some other fun activity…have a great weekend, everyone!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Ready for the Weekend??

  1. I was craving pasta all day as well! I did not get my wish as I had family dinner plans but your spaghetti looks so tasty!

    The 10K training is exciting but going very slowly! Eek! You should definitely think about training for one – the training itself is so much fun and it’s great to have a goal 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by and saying hi – have a great weekend!

  2. that pasta looks delicious 🙂 im totally craving it now!

    i must try making a breakfast cookie soon, your looks really good!

    Sounds like a great day with the RD, id love to have that job, its so interesting!!

    have a great night hun 🙂

  3. Man, 70 degree weather sounds so awesome and refreshing right now! It is mega hot here–today heat index is 100 degrees! Ahh, sometimes I want to go for a leisurely walk but its impossible in this weather b/c I feel like I am in a sauna. haha

    • Oh goodness…I hope it cools down for you very soon! We’re expecting a heat wave over here too, so I’m trying to enjoy the cool weather while I still can!

  4. Hi,
    I’m enjoying your stories of your internship. What is the difference between the RD and diet technicians. What do diet technicians do in the hospital?

    • The RD (or registered dietitian) is responsible for the counseling, inpatient/outpatient work (as far as the diet needs of different patients…diabetetics, geriatric patients, maternity, etc.), and stuff like that. They’ve gone to a certified school for 4 years, taken an approved internship (which usually run about a year long) and then have taken the RD exam.

      The diet technicians, at least here at this hospital, act as part of the team with the RD’s. The RD might tell them, “Ruth on floor 100 is milk intolerant,” for example, and the diet tech will be responsible for making sure that goes on her file, and shows up daily along with “Ruth’s” menu before its turned in to the kitchen. They’re also responsible for filing the menu’s, making sure the diets are being followed, and stay in contact with the kitchen to be sure things are following up. They’re very important in supervising a lot of different things. Many times you don’t need a college degree to get this sort of job, but it does help to have some science classes under your belt. 🙂

  5. look at you and all your marvelous eats as always – i especially love the fresh pineapple (my fave fruit) and breakfast cookie.

    i’m glad things with the RD are going so well – can’t wait to hear more. it’s really interesting to read.

  6. Your breakfast cookie looks great! When I make them I usually add pumpkin and it makes it nice and mushy.. just the way I like it!

  7. I too have accidentally on purpose played around with the amount of liquid in a breakfast cookie. I’ve come to discover that I like them more wet than dry. Cookie batter is a great way to describe it. And who doesn’t like to eat cookie batter??!

Leave a Reply

