Internet Glurps…

Back in time, there lived a girl with a computer problem.  The internet was up, the internet was down…the internet was fast, the internet was slow.  No matter what she tried, she could not solve the problem.  Then a man who knew the ways of the internet and computer (aka, dad) and exactly how it worked, simply flicked a button on a box, and suddenly…everything became right again.  😀

Sorry about that…yesterday’s internet problems were driving me practically insane.  I managed to get some homework in for about an hour, but after that?  The internet decided to take a billion minutes before opening up even my homepage.  Oh lovely…I’m usually a patient person.  Just not when it comes to computers. ha… 😀

Without further ado…I’m going back in time to Friday…

Breakfast: breakfast cookie!  Complete with cocoa, bananas, peanut butter, walnuts, and coconut.  YUM!  Everytime I see Alison’s, I immediately drool.  And they’re really super filling and fun to eat!  Love it…

100_6894

Workout: So, this was kind of an interesting run. 

The day was absolutely beautiful…70 degrees, cool breeze, sunny.  Pretty much perfect. 

I was planning on a four miler.  But then I found myself running behind the town marathoner, and I didn’t want to be following him the entire time.  So, I took a side street and decided to turn this run into a 5-miler which I haven’t done in forever.  I was feeling great.  I kept my pace nice and even, while also going a bit slower then normal.  My legs were nice and refreshed due to not running yesterday (Thursday) too.

Then on my very last mile, I was about to pass a woman who was walking up a hill.  I waved to her, smiled, and said the standard “hey, how’s it goin?”  That’s when she gave me an evil glare and started running along with me.  Me, being the very NON-competetive person that I am, instantly slowed down so she could go past me if that’s what she wanted.  But then she slowed down right along with me.  Hm…so I decided to speed up just a little, so I could get past her.  But then she sped up. 

No clue what she was trying to tell me or do, but I instantly got a spark of my dad’s and sister’s competitiveness (which seemed to have mostly skipped over me) and booked it up the hill, having an outright race with this woman.  Finally when I got a step in front, she slowed down and fell back into a walk. 

My sides were burning, my shoulder was aching, and my breathing was feeling pretty labored by this point.  But my pride wouldn’t let me stop, so I kept running.  Oh goodness…it was strange.  But the good news is that I think it might have brought out a competitive streak in me that I didn’t know I had.  Races are starting to sound kind of interesting?? 😀

Snack: I’m never too hungry after a run, but clementines always hit the spot.  They’re the perfect little hydrators. 😀

100_6897

Lunch: Nicole swung by to go running before I headed back out with her to her apartment.  Before leaving, I made us all some huge salads:

  • lettuce of course
  • tomatoes, cucumbers, carrot
  • red onion
  • 3 olives
  • mozzarella stick
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 tsp olive oil + drizzling of balsamic vinegar

…+ kashis too of course. 😀

100_6900

We (as in, Nate, Nicole, Matthew and I) all had plans to go to the IMax theatre tonight to see Transformers 2.  So I packed Matthew and myself a supper on-the-go, so we could dash there right after he was out from work.

Snack: Before heading out from Nicole’s apartment, which included my giving Stitch a 10-minute airplane ride (wherever he looked, I would bring him over to it, and he seemed to be enjoying himself…crazy little guy 😀 ), I munched on a yogurt with bittersweetness granola, and a couple of cherries provided by Nicole.  YUM!  I haven’t had cherries at all yet this summer, and these were so tangy sweet and good. 

100_6901

Snack #2: On the way, we all stopped at dunkies…I picked up a small iced latte with skim milk which hit the spot.  It was really starting to warm up by this point in the day, and this is exactly what I was in the mood for.  THANKS NICOLE! 😀

100_6903

Dinner: I wasn’t really in the mood for the standard sandwich-on-the-go for dinner, so I opted for a baked sweet potato, topped with salsa and kidney beans, as well as chopped cilantro from the herb garden. 

100_6904

The movie: Ummm…unless you’re a die-hard Transformers fan, you probably won’t enjoy it.  I hate to say it, but it really wasn’t that good.  I thought even the special effects were just okay.  Maybe I just had higher expectations then I should have?  Has anyone else seen it yet? 

Snack: When I got home, my stomach was again starting to rumble, so I poured myself a nice bowl of shredded wheat with raisins and soymilk. 

100_6907

HAPPY JULY 4th!!!  😀  I hope everyone has some fun stuff planned! 😀  I’m heading out to a birthday party/4th celeberation this afternoon, and I’ll be sure to take a ton of pictures of course. 😀  Have a great weekend!

Exercise: 5-mile run

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Internet Glurps…

  1. the breakfast cookie looks delicous 🙂 i must try make one soon!

    haha thats so odd about that women trying to copy your pace the entire time..what was her deal??
    sounds like a great run though 🙂 5 miles is awesome!

    dinner looks great! and im glad you liked the movie..im defo not a transformers fan so i wont be seeing that anytime soon!

    have a great 4th of july 🙂

  2. Your story about the crazy lady is hilarious! Some people are so weird! I am also pretty non-competitive and I’m friends with a bunch of really competitive people – I just don’t care that much! BUT running has definitely sparked a bit of the competitive drive in me and I am SO into the idea of racing. It’s the only thing that makes me wanna WIN! Ha.

    Happy 4th 🙂

  3. That’s hilarious that you ended up in a race on the street. How strange for that lady to be so competitive when you were just running on your own, minding your own business. lol. That’s hilarious. I like your sweet potato/salsa/bean combo. I may copy. Happy 4th!

  4. I just started reading your blog and I love it! 5 miles is great and the competition with that lady sounds like a funny commercial or something! lol I also love that you’re studying dietetics, I am thinking of becoming an RD, although it will be a longgg road because I am about to finish my bachelors in hospitality!

    Just wanted to say I love the blog, I am trying to start my own but its a work in progress!

    • Thank icanmakemyown! 😀

      I think hospitality would be a great double major to have along with dietetics. I’ve taken a couple of hospitality classes, as required by the nutrition/dietetics major, and I think it really helps to have some of that as a background, for sure. 😀

Leave a Reply

