The Mooovies…

Oh goodness…I just returned from a night out at the movies to see My Sister’s Keeper.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the house!  Even the guys were sneaking in a few sniffles.  I’ve only read my way through half of the book, so I was not prepared for the twist.  I won’t give anything away, but if you’re reading the book (and enjoying it,) definitely go see the movie!  I think the book is better in that it goes further into developing the characters, but the movie was really well made too. 

On to this morning…

When my alarm clock went off, I was feeling super sleepy and seriously considered resetting my alarm…especially with the sound of rain pattering on my window, practically screaming for me to go back to bed.

But nope…I managed to pep myself up and was out the door, after first chugging some water and eating a small bowl of cheerios with a scoop of chunky peanut butter…

100_6998

The run was absolutely beautiful!!!  The clouds were dark on one side of the sky, with one blue circle of sky coming through.  Over the hills, the sun was peaking through just a little, making the clouds look like they were glowing.  It was stunning, and I was so glad I had the chance to be out so early! 😀

I went with a short 2-mile run again, so that I would have time to shower and eat breakfast before heading to the hospital.  And thanks to the fact I had prepped some quinoa last night, this breakfast was super quick to put together…

I reheated 1 c. of cooked quinoa and added this good stuff on top:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 T. almonds
  • 1/2 c. soymilk (heated)
  • cinnamon sprinkled on top

100_6999

I really liked this mix.  It wasn’t oatmeal by any means, but it was still really good.  And it made a nice change from my normal breakfast routine.  I have another cup of cooked quinoa to use up, so I’m sure you’ll be seeing it again tomorrow morning. 😉

Then I was off to the hospital, with my coffee-to-go. 😀 

I spent 3 hrs. in the kitchen for my food service lab component today.  I told the cold prep worker to put me to work, and I’m so glad she did. 😀  I was happy to see that their methods of cold prep were different then the assisted living facility I worked at last year.  No cubing or cutting by hand!  Everything was simply thrown into a food processor and packed away for the chefs and hot food workers.  I was pretty slow at what I was doing, but the woman I was working with was super patient…and incredibly fast. 😀  I also spent some time in the cafetaria.  Aside from one very burnt toast, it went smoothly…haha. 

During break time, I joined the workers at the employee table for a midmorning snack.  The bagels and egg sandwiches looked mighty tasty, but my breakfast was keeping me nice ‘n’ full, so I went for a nice light snack of activia strawberry yogurt. 

I’ve never tried these before, and it’s not the usual yogurt I would choose.  But it was actually pretty tasty.  Super sweet, yes, but not fake tasting or anything.  It was also lower in sugar then some of the others (17 g) but that may be due to the smaller size as well… 😉  It’s only about 4 oz.  Nothing that would keep you full for very long, but it made for a nice quick snack, especially since I wasn’t overly hungry. 😀

By the time lunch rolled around, I found myself sitting in the nutrition office upstairs, with the RD’s.  The manager had invited me over to eat with them in a staff meeting, so of course I said yes! 😀  I packed this tasty lunch before heading out.  It all started with a spinach and carrot salad…it’s as simple as it sounds: spinach with a carrot and balsamic vinegar to drizzle on top. 😀 

100_6996

+ an egg salad sandwich.  Another simplistic component of my lunch…I simply mixed 1 whole egg + 1 egg white + 2 tsp mayo + salt & pepper.  All on top of two slices of German Dark Wheat bread (which tastes like pumpernickle…love it!)  I haven’t had egg sandwiches in ages… 😀  Only lettuce would have made it better, but alas…the fridge is becoming more empty by the minute. 😉

100_6995

Last but not least was another yogurt that I had packed along with my lunch and a bit of FEED bittersweetness granola sprinkled on top.  Never fails to hit the spot… 😀

There was a crazy rain storm, after I arrived home.  It was only 3 in the afternoon but the clouds were so dark that it looked more lik 8 at night!  Then an hour later–following thunder and giant sized rain drops–the sun came out.  This weather has just been so strange!  But of course I wasn’t complaining to be seeing the sun. 😉  Mom and I took advantage of it and headed out for a 4-mile walk.

As soon as we got back from our walk, I hopped in my car and dropped it off for an oil change.  I’m hoping it’s going to be ready by tomorrow morning, because it’s going to be a challenge trying to juggle cars since everyone has different time schedules.  But somehow we’ll manage.  😀  At least mom has a day off tomorrow, so I can take her car to the hospital.  And Thursday is my day off, so that will work out fine too. 😀

After dropping off the car, I got to work on dinner.  Spaghetti with broccoli and red sauce was on the menu.  But a minor clumsy moment—which caused one pot of pasta to be dumped in the trash with another on the way…eeks!—caused it to be coming a little later then normal.  So we all split a grapefruit to hold us over…

….soooo juicy and perfect!!  😀

100_7002

Then dinner finally came and it was worth waiting for. 😀  I love broccoli with red sauce…I think they’re perfect together. 

On the side I had some leftover green beans from last night which were still mighty tasty.

100_7004

Mom and I were off to the movies to see My Sisters Keeper.  I brought along about a cup’s worth of puffins to munch on throughout.  Thankfully I ate it at the beginning of the movie, since I was too choked up for the rest of it. 😉 Ha…

100_7007

Now I’m getting ready for bed.  I think I’ll be going out for another 2-mile run tomorrow morning, and take a rest day on Thursday.  But I’m still not sure…I guess it depends on how much I feel like I need the sleep tomorrow morning.

Happy early Hump Day!! 😀

Exercise: 2-mile run this morning and a 4-mile walk pre-dinner…both were super enjoyable. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “The Mooovies…

  1. My Sister’s Keeper is such a sad book, so I can only imagine that the movie is just as emotional!
    Your eats today look fantastic–that German bread looks phenom!

  2. Everyone is saying such fabulous things about the movie, I want to read the book and then watch the movie! You make me excited to do both. Do you think you’ll still finish the book now that you’ve seen the movie?

    • Oh definitily!! I’ve heard they’re both a little different, so I want to keep reading to see how that is, because the beginning of the movie follows it pretty closely (word for word in some spots!)

  3. My Sister’s Keeper was definitely a good movie and a good book. Are you going to read the rest of the book even though you saw the movie? I really think you should because the book is MUCH better and MUCH different than the movie…

    I cried my eyes out in the movie too! Especially when they were all at the beach…it got to me. haha

    • The book is so good, isn’t it? I’m definitely going to keep up with reading it, because I love how it gets into each character…and I just can’t put it down! 😀

      I’m with you on the beach scene…that part was one of the most emotional, I think.

  4. Hi hun
    i have to go see that movie, everyones talking about it! i wanted to try read the book first, but maybe il just read it after!

    that egg sandwhich looks delicious!
    i love those yogurts…i have them most nights with granola…the vanilla flavour is the best 🙂

    Im glad you had another great day at the hopsital, i love hearing about it 🙂

    have a nice night hun

  5. I forgot to blog about the movie! I’ll have to catch up tonight, thanks for reminding me 😉

    I’ll be honest I didn’t think the movie was great. I did however ball my eyes out the whole way through! What can I say?! If you haven’t got to the end of the book then I won’t spoil it for you but let’s just say the film deviates slightly from actually happens!
    I did enjoy the film – I just so preferred the book and all its detail.

    Broc and red sauce is a fave of mine as well – yours looks so good! Love the quinoa for breakfast as well – I’ve been meaning to make brekkie couscous for a while. I’ll have to try this now too!

    Have a great day!

      • You will indeed be balling like a baby! It’s really pretty different though…my friends and I were walking out the theater like, “what the eff did they do that for?!” haha.

        Defo finish the book – it’s a treat. Happy Hump Day

  6. ohhh i loved the book, and do want to see the movie! i will remember to bring kleenex 🙂

    love the quinoa breakfast – it looks delicious! happy humpday dear!

  7. I need to see that movie! It looks so sad though I don’t know if I could handle it haha.

    Great idea for quinoa! I have some sitting in my pantry and I have no clue what to do with it.

    What exactly is red sauce?

    • Oh sorry…I tend to call tomato sauce “red sauce” to differentiate it from white sauces like alfredo’s. Somehow I just always call it red sauce instead of tomato sauce…but either way works! 😀

      If you do see the movie or read the book, stock up on kleenex! 😉

  8. I know…such a sad sad movie! At the end, through the credits, no one moved…all you could hear were sniffles! That’s nice food prepping with processors and not by hand! When I worked in kitchens for my lab, I had to spend 3 hours chopping tomatoes, or peeling cucumbers. Hang me now! haha

    • Ugh…that must have been horrid! haha…I remember chopping potatoes by hand in the nursing home I worked at, and my wrists would be killing by the end of the day!

Leave a Reply

