Almond Butter Lovin’…

It’s official…almond butter rocks my socks off.

I first tried almond butter by buying Whole Foods’ 365 brand: unsalted, dry roasted, creamy.  It was just okay.

Then I tried Trader Joe’s Chunky Raw Almond Butter…simply amazin’!!! 😀

This morning’s bowl consisted of:

  • 1/4 c. oat bran
  • 1/4 c. 1-minute oats
  • 1 c. soymilk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 large banana

I heated it all up and topped the bowl of deliciousness with 2 T. FEED’S bittersweetness granola and a big ol’ scoop of almond butter.  This may be my new breakfast fave of the week. 😀

100_7024

After waiting a half hour for my food to digest, I headed out into a run.  I kept my pace nice and slow.  The weather cooperated quite nicely too.  It was 60 degrees, just a little breezy, and mostly cloudy.  Perfect for my long run of the week. 😀

I ended up running 5 miles and felt great.  My pace was super slow, but I didn’t care.  Pace and distance should never be increased all at the same time, so I took advantage of the slow pace and really enjoyed myself.  😀

I finally got around to trying out the Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar today too.  I munched on it during the drive to the grocery store…

The verdict? 

100_7026

Oh. My. GOOODNESS.

How is it possible to combine peanuts, dates and a bit of salt, and expect it to come out tasting like a real peanut butter cookie?  I have no idea.  But larabar does, and thats all that matters.  Too bad these things are so crazy expensive!!  Loved, loved, loved this flavor…

Enough gushing…on to lunch.

I thoroughly enjoy cleaning out the leftovers on Thursdays before restocking the fridge with new stuff.  So today I decided to make a hodgepodge out of:

  • about a cup’s worth of leftover brown rice
  • about a cup’s worth of leftover mixed veggies from yesterday
  • about 1/4 c. of leftover spaghetti sauce mixed with soy sausages…a concoction Matthew had made last night which turned out really tasty

It actually tasted pretty good.  It doesn’t look so pretty all jumbled up together, but the flavors melded together which was most important at the moment. 😉

100_7027

Dessert: yogurt with blueberries

100_7030

I finally managed to be somewhat productive this afternoon.  The last thing I wanted to be doing on a  gloriously sunny day was sitting on the couch with a math book.  But I stuck with it and got a good, solid hours worth in.  When I focus, I really focus and can get a lot done.  Unfortanetly I have a huge procastination side that likes to take over sometimes… 😉

After sitting down for some of the afternoon, I needed to get back up and move.  So mom and I headed out for our routine 4-mile walk, with me literally eating this snack on the go.  I globbed on some peanut butter on top of a chocolate rice cake, and ate it while walking. 😀

100_7034

Dinner was simply delicious…feta cheese was the star along with some giant black olives too.  On top of the  mesculin mix, I added:

  • 1/2 c. kidney beans
  • tomatoes
  • carrot slices
  • cucumbers
  • red onions
  • 4-5 black olives
  • 4 green olives
  • sprinkling of feta cheese
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar, drizzled over the entire salad

This is why salads don’t need to be boring.  Kind of like oatmeal.  A blank canvas just waiting to become a masterpiece. 

100_7036

kashi’s…gotta love ’em, no matter how many times they’re shown on blogland.

100_7037

For dessert I had a giant grapefruit.  It was perfect.  Firm, slightly tart, incredibly juicy, a little sweet…just the way I like them. 😀

100_7038

Snack was another bowl of multigrain cheerios with raisins and soy (which was added post-picture to avoid soggy O’s)…

100_7022

Okay, all, I’m determined to be super productive tomorrow with homework assignments and work that I need to get done for the hospital too.  If I come back tomorrow night, saying that I didn’t get much done, you have my full permission to yell at me. 😉

I’m now off to relax and read some more of My Sister’s Keeper…and yep, I stocked up on kleenex, so I’m good to go! 😉 

Tomorrow is FRIDAY!

Exercise: 5-mile morning run and a 4-mile pre-dinner walk…I’m glad I didn’t run yesterday because my legs really did feel nice and fresh for today. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “Almond Butter Lovin’…

  1. Your breakfast bowl looks amazing!!

    I have been wanting to try the Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar; now I will definitely have to!! 🙂

    • I let it sit for a good half hour and it didn’t give me any cramps (or heartburn, which is a biggie for me!) I like oatbran a lot for pre-working out because it seems to digest really well, along with bananas which also digest well too. Sometimes a peanut butter and banana sandwich makes a nice pre-workout meal. The only foods I try to stay away from before working out are dairy (which tends to upset my stomach when I run,) and liquidy foods like smoothies or green monsters, which just tend to jostle around in my stomach.

      And for when I’m planning on short workouts, a toast with pb is fine. But anything longer then 1/2 hr., I need more food to keep me going. 😀 So, after this long reply, I’d have to say oatbran and oatmeal are my top picks, when combined with a bit of protien and fat, for lasting energy minus the cramps–as long as you give your stomach time to digest, of course. 😀

  2. After a rest day Wednesday, I also had a 5 mile slow run yesterday. Nothing feels better than fresh legs indeed.

    Your breakfast rocks! Too bad we don’t have those healthy nut butters here in Japan. :S

  3. I’m learning to love slower paced long runs. And yay for trying almond butter! I didn’t realize you were relatively new to it. I agree though, not all AB’s are the same. Everyone seems to love the maranatha AB and I don’t think it’s that great. Woodstock Farms is my FAVORITE. If I ever happen by a TJ’s I will totally check their store brand version out.

    I also have yet to try the PB Larabar but I will! 😀

    • I’ll have to give the Woodstock Farms brand a try sometime! 😀 So many nut butters, so little time… 😉 haha

  4. that breakfast looks delicous!

    way to go on the 5 mile run 🙂 thats awesome!!

    im a total procrasinator at times too..either that, or i focus so much that i HAVE to finish something once i start it!

    enjoy reading!

  5. Oh lord! Such good eats lady! I need to get on the TJs AB bandwagon sharpish! That Larabar does sound amazing but I agree, why’d they have to be soooo spenny?! Love the ‘hodge podge’. Hodge podge/mish mash dinners have been the stars of at least our blogs the last couple days!

    And yay on the run – nice work! I have a long one coming up this weekend and I’m excited to keep it nice and sloooow 🙂

    Happy Friday!!!

  6. this post is calling my name! first things first:

    (1) join the TJ’s raw AB fan club. trust me, it only tastes better and better!

    (2) PB Cookie…amazing! i don’t know how Lara gets these things to taste so authentic!

    (3) rice cake w/ PB – always good!

    (4) finally, i love my Kashi crackers.

    a fabulous day of eats, most def!

    • Yay…so happy to be part of the AB fan club. haha…I had more this morning, and your’e so right. It just keeps getting better. Mmm…

    • Agreed! I tried barney butter a while back but wasn’t much a fan…I guess I like my nut butters less sweet and more nutty! 🙂

    • Yum…yep, totally agree! 🙂 I always go for the chunky butters, because I love the consistency and that added crunch. So good!

Leave a Reply

