Doin’ The Friday Dance…

Breakfast was superb this morning…

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. soymilk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1 medium banana
  • handful of raisins

Topped with:

  • scoop of chunky almond butter (simply amazing)
  • 2 T. FEED’S bittersweetness granola
  • huge handful of blueberries

Loved every delicious bite. 😀

100_7039

Today was another gorgeous day.  I don’t think people around here know what to do with such nice weather, for 2 full days in a row.  I knew exactly what I wanted to do though, and that was a nice session of post-breakfast yoga. 😀

I spent a good 20 minutes in the living room, with the sun pouring through the front door and a cool breeze coming through.  It was just so enjoyable, and it felt good to stretch out my muscles.  I felt so loose after.  You can’t beat that feeling sometimes…

For my midmorning snack, I grabbed a grapefruit.

100_7043

I made a delicious salad for lunch, much resembling yesterday’s except for a swap of cheese.  This time I used some TJ’s mozzerella sticks instead of the feta, and plopped on some black olives.  I used to hate black olives, but now I think I might even be addicted?  Crazy how tastebuds can change so drastically. 🙂

100_7045

I wanted to take a rest on my legs today, since I have a bigger workout planned for Sunday and I’d like to fit in a short run tomorrow.  But I knew myself…I couldn’t be doing nothing or I’d end up out on the road in my sneakers without a second chance to argue. 

So I made myself busy in a fun way by baking some muffins…

100_7050

These are the Jam-Filled Muffins from Eating Well’s magazine, but I made some minor adjustments, which I typed out here…

Makes 1 dozen muffins

1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup milk + 1 T. lemon juice, combined together to make “buttermilk”
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup strawberry jam
1/2 cup chopped walnuts 

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.
2. Whisk whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.
3. Whisk eggs and brown sugar in a medium bowl until smooth. Add buttermilk, orange juice, oil and vanilla; whisk to blend. Add to the dry ingredients and mix with a rubber spatula just until moistened.
4. Scoop half the batter into the prepared pan. Mix jam and almond extract; drop a generous teaspoonful into the center of each muffin. Spoon on the remaining batter, filling each muffin cup completely. Sprinkle with almonds, then sugar.
5. Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown and spring back when touched lightly, 15 to 25 minutes. Loosen edges and turn muffins out onto a wire rack to cool slightly before serving.

 

 

These were super tasty!!!  You can’t really see the jam in the center, because I used some of my homemade jam which is a bit thinner and spread out throughout the muffin…ha. 🙂  But it came out lightly sweet and fluffy.  My dad said they looked kind of funny, with the walnuts making them appear like, I quote, “something Shrek would eat.”  Haha…but everyone enjoyed munching on them this afternoon, with plenty to spare for the weekend. 🙂

100_7047

This afternoon I also got to work on one of the signs I promised to make for an RD at the hospital.  I have one more to make, but this one is almost complete…it took a long time to finish, but it was fun putting it together too. 🙂

100_7061

By the end, I was feeling a little hungry, and I wanted to be prepared for a late dinner.  So I put together this little snack:

  • 1 Dannon Plain, Fat Free yogurt
  • 1 T. flax mixed in
  • Handful of cherries (with a couple more handfuls eaten throughout the day…they’re finally going on sale! 🙂 )
  • Wheetabix biscuit
  • Sprinklin’ of coconut

YUM!  And filling to boot…

100_7055

Dinner did come later, so I’m glad I was prepared.  By 7 o’clock, we were finally all sitting down on the deck…

This made for the perfect Friday night meal…Dad cooked up some 4-oz bison burgers on the grill, with lettuce, tomato, red onion, and catsup…all sitting between a grilled whole wheat roll.  SO GOOD!!!  Great grilling, dad… 😀

On the side I had some carrot sticks and cucumbers, a brown dog ale (I really liked this one, and I’m not usually a beer person,) and made some oven baked potatoes:

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Spray cookie sheet.
  3. Dice some potatoes into whichever size you prefer (the smaller/thinner they are, the more crispy the get!)
  4. Spray over them with spray.
  5. Sprinkle on favorite seasonings (I like cajun and garlic powder.)
  6. Pop in the oven for 20 minutes, stirring around midway through cooking.

Simple to prepare and way better then the frozen kind. 😉

100_7056

Dessert was this…

100_7059

Scooped into this…

100_7060

I really enjoyed this stuff.  It was very tart and reminded me of Thanksgiving’s cranberry sauce. 🙂 

I’m preparing for a fun weekend and hope you guys have some fun plans as well! 🙂  Don’t forget to do the Friday Dance… 😉

Exercise: 4-mile walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Doin’ The Friday Dance…

  1. Those muffins are so cute! Looks aren’t everything when it comes to food I’ve found out!

    I’ve never added a string cheese to a salad before.. I need to remember that one!

  2. I love a muffin with nice big walnuts on top! I could probably eat all of those up! Yum! Baking is such a fun way to keep yourself busy when you don’t have a workout planned.

  3. Brilliant eats! The bbq sounds really good. Mmm.

    Also, homemade bread = one of my favorite things of all time and the fried balogna does not sound bad AT ALL! Ha.

    Those muffins look delish – I’m really in the mood for baking at the moment. This is rare so I should jump on it!

    Have an awesome weekend love!

  4. those muffins look awesome! thanks for sharing that reciepe 🙂

    dinner looks delicous!

    enjoy your friday evening hun 🙂

  5. Friday dance friday dance! haha I do that dance everyday to make me smile! 🙂

    That made me laugh about the “shrek” looking muffins…never thought of that but I can see where your dad is coming from.

  6. I’ve got yoga on the agenda for tomorrow, I’m ready for it!

    I loved your sign for the RD! I don’t eat out often, but those are great suggestions to keep in mind. We definitely don’t need to SUPERSIZE everything. Small is good.

Leave a Reply

