Full House

Thanks for all the feedback on the picture sizes…looks like the big pictures are here to stay! 😀

I woke up with one goal in mind: run.

Last night I gave myself a full, 8-hrs of sleep and woke up feeling wonderfully refreshed and (mostly) pain free! 😉  That’s right, I’m finally walking normal again, and going down the stairs isn’t such a literal pain.  My calves were feeling so good, in fact, that a run sounded like a very pleasant idea.  So I headed out for a light 2-mile run in the sun.  It was absolutely delicious.  My legs were feeling a little tight at first, but by the end I felt so loose and energetic.  I love that feeling. 🙂

Of course, this all took place after consuming this bowl of goodness…

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 c. mixed berries

On top I sprinkled about 2 T. worth of FEED’S bittersweetness granola and a scoop of raw crunchy almond butter.  I’m almost done this bittersweetness flavor and can’t wait to try one of the others.  Although, I have a feeling I’ll need to restock on this particular flavor because it’s incredibly addicting. 😉

100_7232

I love oatbran, and was considering doubling up on my portion size of it to keep me full longer.  But then I realized that I kind of like eating every 3 hrs. when I can and have the time to do it.  So I kept the regular portion and added in a midmorning snack to make up for my lighter morning fare.

I ate this after my sweaty run, when I just wanted something cold and refreshing!  A plain Dannon yogurt mixed with 1 T. crushed flax, and topped with about 1/2 c. of Kashi Autumn Harvest. 

100_7236

I spent more time then normal in the grocery stores today.  Reading labels, chatting with fellow customers interested in the same products as me (gotta love meeting new people in the “health food isles” 😉 ), looking for discounts…shopping can be such fun.  ha…

Speaking of deals, I’m trying out some store brand products, a little at a time.  Some stuff isn’t worth saving on (like some of the storebrand coffees I’ve tried…some are great, some aren’t worth a second sip!) but some stuff tastes exactly the same with the same ingredients for much, much less money.  As an example, I bought a storebrand box of raisins for $2 less then the regular Sunmaid raisins we usually buy.  The verdict?  Identical.  I can’t believe I didn’t think of doing this before, because it can save a lot of money over time. 

After finishing up my shopping trip and putting everything into its proper place, I sat down to lunch with dad.  I made us each a grilled veggie sandwich:

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1/4 c. spinach artichoke hummus
  • sliced black olives
  • cucumber slices
  • tomato slices
  • lettuce

On the side I chopped a carrot and threw on some cherry tomatoes.  The best part to this meal (aside from an ooey gooey hot sandwich which is always a good thing) were the cherries on the side and the cup of chocolate soymilk too.  Usually I’ll buy plain soymilk since I drink so much of it on a pretty regular basis.  But today I was craving some chocolate milk and went with that.  Makes for a nice treat and it hits the sweet tooth too. 🙂

100_7238

A favorite snack of mine: chocolate rice cake with peanut butter and cottage cheese and cinnamon.  I seem to be making a habit of eating these during the time that I go for a walk.  What’s up with that?  Well, it’s sort of a last minute decision as I realize I’m hungry before heading out.  And rather then popping something in my mouth without realizing that I just ate something, I take my time and eat as I go. haha..random.  But it makes for a nice lil afternoon snack and doesn’t ruin my appetite for dinner, which is sometimes tricky business.

The walk was great!  My walking partner (aka: mom) is back from her vacation, so we headed out for a 4-mile stroll around town. 

100_7242

On tonight’s dinner menu: Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers with a side salad, eaten on the deck with the family.  It’s so nice to have a full house again!  While I did enjoy being able to take over the living room as my “yoga stuido” 😉 , and dancing to my favorite tunes on the radio, and cooking what tasted good to me at the moment, and being queen of the remote control, I don’t think I could take an empty house for very long.  It was just too quiet!

Speaking of Full House, it made me think of the series that used to be on tv.  Did any of you ever watch it?  Do you still watch it, like me?  Ha…I was so addicted to the show and would watch the reruns over and over. 

100_7244

These stuffed peppers were quite yummy, if I say so myself.  Approval nods were had by all…haha.  Here’s the general recipe that I put together…feel free to tweak it according to what you like or what you have on hand:

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers (serves 4)

  • 4 peppers, cut in half, with inner core removed (but leave the stems on to make it easier to stuff and hold together!)
  • 1 c. uncooked whole wheat couscous
  • 3 c. canned beans (I used a mix of black and kidney beans)
  • about 1 c. salsa (more or less, depending on how spicy you want it..don’t be afraid to taste it before you fill the peppers!)
  • garlic powder (sprinkled to taste)
  • basil (sprinkled to taste)
  • oregano (sprinkled to taste)
  • pepper
  • 1 c. reduced fat mozzerella cheese
  • 1-15 oz. can of tomato sauce
  • 1 garlic clove
  • cilantro (optional)
  1. Heat the oven to 425. 
  2. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray, place the peppers cut side down, spray over tops of peppers again.
  3. Heat peppers for about 10 minutes or until tender when peirced with a knife.
  4. While peppers are heating, boil 1 c. water, add couscous, stir, and take off heat for 5 minutes.  After the 5 minutes are up and the water has been absorbed, add the rest of the ingredients to the couscous and heat slightly.
  5. Reduce oven to 350.
  6. Flip peppers over and fill with stuffing.  Sprinkle each with cheese.
  7. Put back in oven, and heat until cheese is melted.
  8. While in oven, mix tomato sauce, garlic clove, basil and oregano in small saucepan and heat.
  9. Take peppers out of oven, drop some sauce on top.  Cilantro optional but highly recommended. 😉

It sounds complicated, but it’s actually super quick and easy to put together.  And you could skip the salsa and use tomato sauce if thats what you have on hand, or use some other sort of filling.  Really, your imagination is the only limit.  The main idea is 1. Roast peppers, 2. Fill with whole wheat couscous, beans and seasonings/sauce of preferrence, 3. Heat and top with cheese and more sauce if you want.  Easy peasy and so very versatile! 😀

100_7245

I know I’m having a snack tonight, but I can’t decide what I want.  Somehow I always go for cereal because there’s always an urge for something just a lil’ sweet but filling and crunchy at the same time.  And since I never have cereal for breakfast in the morning due it’s lack of filling me up, I enjoy it as a night time snack. 🙂 

Can you believe tomorrow is Friday???  I have plans to go blueberry picking as long as the weather holds up, and already have a ton of very blue plansThey’re by far my favorite berry.  Although I probably said that when I had gone strawberry picking as well.  ha…you just can’t beat fresh berries picked right off the bush.  YUM!

Hope you’re all doing well and are looking forward to the weekend as much as I am! 🙂

Exercise: 2-mile run (no more sore legs! YAY!) and a 4-mile pre-dinner walk. 🙂

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Full House

  1. Stuffed peppers look awesome…you’ve got me daydreaming about my lunch for tomorrow!
    Glad your run was awesome – that energetic feeling is the BEST!

    Weekend is here sooooon….have a good one love

  2. Full House… I never got into it when I was younger, but I started watching it when I was in college. Imagine what I was missing out on! Hehe. I love the rice cake and stuffed peppers. Putting that on the list of things for when my boyfriend isn’t around. Yum!

  3. Oh sweet moses, your eats look fab today! Lovin the grilled veggie sandwich and MUCHO LOVIN the stuffed peppers!!

    I didn’t watch Full House too often when I was a kid (I do remember watching the series finale though!), but I totally watch it now! ABC family?! Yes sir!

    I cant wait to try the bittersweet granola flavor. I’ve only tried the blueberry and cinnamon raisin one so far!

  4. I have a similar veg stuffed pepper recipe with quinoa in place of couscous, yours look great and that pic makes me feel like I could take a bite right through the screen.

    I watched Full House as a kid for sure! I haven’t seen it in ages but it was one of my childhood favs.

  5. glad to hear the legs are feeling great again 🙂

    dinner looks delicious! i cant wai to try that reciepe, thanks for sharing it 🙂

    have a nice night!

  6. I also spend forever in the grocery store, I love reading every label and searching for new products. Since I know where everything is so well, I often help others find things 🙂

    Those peppers look divine – I haven’t made stuffed peppers in a few years, I think it’s time!

Leave a Reply

