Highlighting the Day

Goin’ Long

I was mentally prepared for a nice long run today.  The weather had other plans.  It wasn’t just raining outside.  It was pouring buckets!  I decided to risk giving up my morning motivation, by picking up some eggs from the farm down the street before venturing out on my run.

Of course, what always happens when I give myself too much time happened, as I was driving to the farm.  I had conflicting opinions on whether I wanted to go for a long run.  Eventually the good angel won, and I arrived back home and pulled on my sneaks just as the fog started to lift and the sun made its attempts to pop out.

And off I went…

I wish I could say it was the best run I’ve ever had and that I felt like super woman, but then I would just be fluffing things up.  Because it really didn’t turn out that way at all.  Actually, my legs were pounding the earth like a stampede of elephants, and my steps became slower and slower until I think even the walkers were starting to pass me (okay, okay, it wasn’t that bad, but you get the point…haha.)

All in all though, it was still amazing!  Funny how that works.  I had to mentally tell myself to start thinking of something…anything…just to get my mind off of of the fact it was 80 degrees and humid out.  So I trekked on, up and over hills, down a new route to make things interesting, and found myself on the last mile, heading home before I even realized it.

Later I went back to measure it, and it comes out to be a 6.6 mile loop.  Goodness, I haven’t gone that long in forever!  I immediately took an iced cold shower after stretching a bit, and my legs are good as new. 😉

Continued Blueberry Bliss

I made a good dent in the blueberry supply today.  A girls gotta do, what a girls gotta do… 😉

Blueberries for breakfast…

100_7289

Blueberries for a post run snack…

100_7291

Blueberries for dessert…

100_7293

I can kind of see the beauty to eating a lot of what happens to be in season at the moment, until you become sick of it and something else new and fresh comes along. 😀  I was reading in the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, where a family decided to have a year long venture of eating only what they could grow or purchase locally.  My favorite part was when the cherrie trees started giving fruit, and they would eat it for days until it was end of season.  They were naturally tired of it, but then along came some other in season fruit to go crazy on.  Can you imagine?

The only problem with that would be that bananas would not be a daily eat…bummer! 😉

Snobby Joes

When there’s snobby joes from veganomicon on the menu, it’s automatically included as a highlight of the day. 😉 

I made mine sort of unconventionally today.  We were out of kaiser rolls, so I made myself some quinoa, and plopped the snobby joes on top with a sprinklin’ of cheese and cilantro.  I actually wasn’t shooting for cheese, but dad accidentally put it on my plate instead of his. 😉  But it went really well with the mix, and I think cheese might be a regular addition after all… 😀

100_7295

Packing For Vacation

That’s right!  I’m so excited, vacation starts officially tomorrow night as I head up to New Hampshire with the parents for a week long vacation.  I’ll try to blog as often as I can because I’m sure as usual I’ll have a ton to say and take pictures of. 😀  And of course I’ll still be checking out all your wonderful blogs as well. 🙂

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, everyone! 🙂

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Highlighting the Day

  1. Mmm you can never get tired of fresh fruit! Especially when it’s on/in carbs- bread, oatmeal, cake, etc 😀

    Have a wonderful safe trip! Can’t wait to see all of the pictures you take!

    Oh and good job on the run! Your amazing!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. So many blueberries! Ha ha. Good job – I get sick of too much of the same thing so quickly.

    I’m impressed you pulled it out the bag for your long run! I had one of those today as well and really wasn’t feeling it but I managed to pull it off. I am so with you on how a run can still be amazing once all is said and done even when there are really low points involved – the beauty of running hey!

    Have an amazing vacation, I am super jealous but very excited to hear your updates from another part of the country. Woo woo!

  3. Congrats on your long run, that’s really fab! Especially considering the weather.

    And holy kamoly what a beautiful bowl of oats!

    Have a great vacation, looking forward to hearing updates on your trip while you’re away.

    • I usually use two different methods to make sure they’re both coming out the same way. 😉 1) put the distance measurer on my car to zero and drive the loop. Usually this comes out really close to 2) using mapmyrun.com or favoriterun.com…they’re both pretty good and accurate. 🙂

  4. 6.6 miles is amazing hun 🙂 way to go!

    breakfast looks delish! lots of blueberries again 🙂

    have a great vacation!!

Leave a Reply

