Vacation: DAY 1

What. A. Day.

I was exhuasted last night, which is why I headed directly for bed.  I got a good solid 8 hr night of sleep and felt super refreshed upon waking up this morning to sunlight pouring through the windows.  I love sunny, cool mornings…especially in the mountains. 🙂

The house is sort of in the middle of nowhere and its absolutely perfect for just getting away.  And considering how close we are to various mountains and trails, it also makes for lots of opportunites to be outdoors (as long as the weather holds up…*crossing fingers!*).

This is the front of the house, after driving up a very steep driveway to the top of the hill.

101_7377

I take over the upstairs whenever we come here, and it’s just so cozy.  The bedroom has a rustic, “cabin’esh” feeling to it… 😀

101_7384

After coming downstairs this morning, I realized that A) I was the first one up and B) I was starving!!

First I did a little bit of light, gentle yoga for about 10-15 minutes to fully wake myself up.  Then I got right to work on breakfast.

I had a nice big bowl of hot oats to warm me up on a cool morning…

  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon and nutmeg

Topped with blueberries (of course 😉 ), Raisin Nut FEED granola (making me wonder which flavor I love the most???  This one’s amazing and taste like a cinnamon raisin cookie!!), and a scoop of almond butter.  As always, super delicious and filling too! 🙂

101_7325

I looked at the weather forecast for today and took note of the fact that today was supposedly the best weather we’ll be seeing all week.  Dad churped in that we should take advante of it and hike Mt. Osceola!!  We had hiked this mountain once before when I was 7, and all I could remember from it was running out of water on a really hot, hot day.  Haha…so I think some new memories of this particular mountain needed to be made. 😉 

I scrambled to put together a quick gorp with whatever food we happened to have with us.  Cheerios, Almonds, Raisins.  Nothing too fancy, but it did the trick for energy food! 

This handful x7…at least.  We stopped every 1/2 hr. or so to keep our fuel up. 🙂

101_7334

We stayed at a pretty constant pace going up the mountain, but took time to appreciate the open views along the way too. 🙂 

101_7337

At the top, I pulled out “lunch.”  An apple and a berry go-mega bar…you can’t beat lunch on top of a mountain, no matter how simple it is!  Everything just tastes sooo good after a sweaty hike…ha. 😉

101_7343

We were treated with gorgeous views on top of Mt. Osceola, which is, according to dad, about 4,300 ft.  It’s one of the 48-4,000+ ft. mountains of New Hampshire.  I can’t decide if I want to accomplish all of them or if I should just stick to the ones with great views like this one…I can’t help that I like to be rewarded for my hard work of climbing up! 😀 

101_7363

We were also treated with this beautiful rainbow.  It started spreading thinner and thinner as the wind blew the clouds away, but it lasted long enough for us to all enjoy it.  SO pretty! 🙂

101_7346

Camera posing time! 🙂

101_7354

Mom was on her toes today and packed us up a cooler full of chilled water, ice cold grapes…

101_7376

And cheese & crackers.  The cheese is really yummy…sometimes I’m not a fan of the lighter cheeses, but this is cracker barrel’s 2 % extra sharp cheddar and was really yummy.  The crackers are sourdough wasa crackers.  Some people say they taste like cardboard, others love them.  Personally I think they’re a crunchy addition to a good cheese and love them this way or with peanut butter. 🙂

101_7375

We finally arrived back “home” after a long day of hiking, and we were all pretty hungry.  Dad got to work on starting the grill.  Him and mom were both stoked about getting their rib eye steaks on the grill, and I opted for a chicken sausage instead…

But since that would be taking a while, I had a little snack of chocolate soy milk and a slice of delicious multigrain boule…

101_7388

It’s crusty but doughy all at the same time.  And sort of sweet too, from the molasses in there.  Mmm…this is a very good bread and will be great as toast for a breakfast sometime this week too. 🙂

101_7389

Time for dinner!!!  On the menu tonight:

  • Chicken Sausages: These are the spicy buffalo al Fresco sausages, which I promptly topped with sauerkraut and some catsup.  Absolutely heavenly! 😀
  • Grilled Potatoes: There wasn’t any garlic powder in the house, so I went the simple route by sprinklin’ with salt and pepper.  They were actually perfect this way!  We picked them up from a farm stand, and I find that with really fresh produce items, simplicity is usually the best option. 🙂
  • Grilled Zucchini and Summer Squash: Easy Peazy option: drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper, place on grill until nicely browned. 🙂 

Everything came together wonderfully and tasted great!  It was the perfect post-workout fuel. 🙂

101_7392

Nobody was too full for this…:)

Edy’s Peanut Butter Cup Slow Churned icecream…heaven on  a spoon. 🙂

101_7400

The sun started to set after dinner, so we flicked these on for ultimate coziness appeal… 🙂

101_7401

And now I’m just finishing up on catching up on blogs and this post while sitting on the deck.  Life is good. 🙂

101_7403

Bedtime Snack: Bowl of Quaker Oatmeal Squares and milk…love this stuff!

Today was a full day but in a good way!!  Now I’m off to relax a little bit…g’night all!!! 🙂

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Vacation: DAY 1

  1. What a wonderful post – I love vacation posts! Your hike looks so good and those views are ridiculous. Any plans for when the weather doesn’t hold up?

    It looks so so good to be in the middle of nowhere – I’m completely jealous!! Your eats are fabulous as ever too. Anything does taste good when you’re out in the wilderness it’s true but ice cold grapes sound pretty good to me sat in my apartment. Also, love the ice cream money shot. I need more PB ice cream in my life!

    • You know, I’m not even sure…I do know there are a bunch of restaurants that I’ve been wanting to check out (not that I’d spend an entire rainy day in a restaurant…haha 😉 ). One of these times I come back out here, I’d love to check some of the vineyards and farms as well…there’s a bunch in the area. 🙂

  2. What a wonderful day! I love getting away! Did you rent the cabin or is it your family’s?

    Your breakfast is making me so hungry! It looks so delicious!

    So does that ice cream.. I’ve never seen that flavor! I must find it!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

    • It’s actually owned by a family that my dad works with…we’ve been coming here for at least 5 or so years so it sort of feels like “home away from home” by now. 😉

  3. I love how your vacations are fun AND healthy. You have great outdoor activities and delicious, balanced food.
    The view on top of the mountain is AMAZING! All that green must have been heavenly; I am so jealous. 😀
    I hope the weather stays great the entire time you are there!

  4. wow, it sounds like the perfect day 🙂 the views are beautiful of the mountain! and breakfast looks delicious!

    enjoy the rest of your trip hun!

  5. mmmm that looks like some yummy food. Edy’s slow churned Peanut Butter Cup is one of my favs…except I can never stick to just a little bowl!!

Leave a Reply

