Vacation: Day 3 (easiest titles I’ve yet to come up with! ;)

6:30…really??? 

I knew my parents wouldn’t be up for at least another couple of hours, so I closed my eyes.

7:30…really???

Yes, really.  And there was no way I could get any more sleep in at this point.  Sometimes I wake up practically begging for coffee.  Other mornings, its all I can do to prevent myself from bouncing off walls with energy.  That was this morning.

I was also starving, so ate a “snack” to hold me over for dad’s special breakfast.  I had a simple bowl of plain yogurt, a banana, and some cinnamon sprinkled on top.

101_7487

Dad makes his special omelettes at least once a year on vacation, and they always taste amazing.  This time he filled it with peppers, onions, and extra sharp cheddar cheese.  Oh goodness, it was really good.  On the side I had a ton of cantaloupe and a multigrain toast with homemade blueberry jam.  This breakfast had such a rustic feel to it, and I enjoyed every morsel…

101_7489

Despite my energy levels being through the roof, I still sipped on a coffee.  I swear, I need to start getting decaf.  Half the time I just want something hot to sip on and I love my coffee so, so much.  But I could take or leave the caffeine. 🙂

While sipping on coffee, we analyzed some trail maps to figure out if we wanted to go for a trail walk somewhere.  It was slightly cloudy but not raining, so why not take the chance and head outdoors?

101_7493

We decided on a relatively level trail called the Greeley Ponds Trail.  It was a 0.6 walk to the sign and back, plus 6.8 miles to the Upper Pond and back, which made for a 7.4 round trip walk.  It was a nice little morning workout and I was so glad to get the tip off my energy levels!  Not to mention the beautiful views we saw along the way.  I can’t get over how fresh everything smells in the woods.  It’s all pine mixed with cool rivers and other such earthy smells.  I absolutely love every bit of it!

101_7495

By the time we reached the Upper Pond, we stopped for a quick snack.  There were no other people around…just us…and it was such a peaceful place to eat. 

101_7505

My snack consisted of a Larabar favorite. 🙂

101_7506

And a very juicy red pear…

101_7508

I’m glad we were able to get out and enjoy some clear weather, because I thought for sure we were going to have another “wash out” with the rain.  Don’t you love it when the weathermen are wrong? 😀

For lunch, all I wanted was a big salad full of greens and other such things. 🙂  I topped a bed of mesculin mix with carrots, cucumber, tomatoes, red onions, black olives, green olives, avocadoes, and sauerkraut??  😀  Ever since my dad bought that sauerkraut sausage a while back, I’ve been craving it on everything and anything.  Its a surprisingly nice topping to a salad…sort of like pickles in a funny way. 😉

101_7520

It felt good to eat a lot of volume for lunch!!

On the side I had a glass of chocolate soymilk and a small sliver of leftover pizza.  Is it just me, or does cold pizza always taste even better the next day???

101_7521

Can you believe that lunch didn’t get eaten until about 3’ish and dinner came around 6:30??  Haha…gotta love how vacation throws everything off!  Its nice having no time schedule to follow sometimes. 🙂

Dinner was delicious…whole wheat pasta topped with Newmans Own Sockarooni sauce.  I also added some sauteed peppers and onions to the sauce, as well as the rest of the chicken sausages we had bought from a couple nights ago.  Delish! 

101_7523

And I finished off on a sweet note with a bowl of the Edy’s Peanut Butter Cup icecream.  This may be my favorite flavor of Edy’s.  I’m a huge fan of anything pb, and this one reminds me of a peanut butter pie, which happens to be my favorite dessert ever. 😀 

 

101_7525

I’m not sure if I’ll be hungry for a bowl of cereal later or not…right now I’m pretty full!  But in a good, not-too-overstuffed, sort of way. 😉 

Happy Hump Day to everyone!!! 🙂  I’m off to relax and enjoy a gorgeous, sunny evening in my pj’s with a good book and maybe a cup of tea. 😀  G’night!!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Vacation: Day 3 (easiest titles I’ve yet to come up with! ;)

  1. I totally love it when the weatherman is wrong! Haha. The walk must have been very relaxing and refreshing.
    I don’t know if I should be sad or glad that Edy’s Peanut Butter Cup isn’t available here. If it were, I’d have it everyday and that would not be too good. 😛 I can’t control my PB loving sometimes. Haha.

  2. I have the same problem with sleeping in! Sometimes I wake up early but there’s no way I could go back to sleep!

    That hike/walk sounds like so much fun! it seems like it’d be relaxing yet challenging.. if that makes sense! haha.

    That omelette looks so yummy! I didn’t think I was an egg person but I had one last night and it was actually really tasty! I think the cheese made the difference 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  3. I am living vicariously through you…haha.

    That picture of your parents with the lake in the background is incredibly beautiful!!

    Love that your Dad makes “special breakfast” – family traditions are rad and it looks delicious! I’m really into the fact that you love a bit of ice cream too – that Edy’s stuff looks amazing!

  4. your dads special breakfast looks delicious 🙂 your dad can cook!!!!

    beautiful views..i love how you and your parents go on hikes and everhything, its such a nice thing to do together!

    mmm no better way to end the day than with ice cream 🙂

  5. haha I know that feeling of waking up and wanting to go back to bed, but can’t :\
    all of your eats look so freaking good 😀 of course I am just loving that larabar!

Leave a Reply

