Vacation: Day 4 (last full day already??)

This morning I was up bright and early, showered, and dressed by 6:45.  There were plans being thrown around last night, about possibly hiking another 4k ft. mountain.  It kind of all depended on the weather, and so far everything was looking splendidly sunny!

I also offered to make breakfast for everyone.  What better food to make then oatmeal??

For three people, I put together 2 bananas, 3 c. milk, 1.5 c. water, and 3/4 c. each of oatmeal and oat bran.  I left the toppings out on the table so that people could serve themselves.  I topped mine with walnuts and raisin nut granola.  This breakfast never gets old!

101_7526

Mt. Jackson is the first 4k mountain I did in New Hampshire, so there are some special memories there.  I specifically remember Elephants Head, a rock that’s a short way up the mountain that actually looks like an elephants head.  Can you see it??  It’s a little hard to tell with this angle, but you can sort of make it out. 🙂

101_7529

We were running low on food at the house, but I piled together what I could…as you might notice, everything was slightly unphotogenic, kind of random, but pretty tasty. 😉

Gorp: quaker oatmeal squares, raisins, and almonds…this handful x3 during the hike up. 

101_7533

The hike was pretty challenging in some spots.  I was trying to think about how to describe it in one sentence, and this is what I came up with: Jillian Michaels meets Stair Master Extreme. 😉

The trail was beautiful and unique, but pretty steep too.  The top rock ledge became more mental work then physical work…its like a little taste of rock climbing. 🙂  Has anyone ever done any rock climbing?  I would love to give it a try someday, but I’m not sure if I have enough arm strength for it!

101_7558

This is the lunch we ate at the top…again, nothing fancy but it does the trick for a last-minute, put-together lunch for hiking! 🙂 

Whole wheat hotdog roll with globs of almond butter.

101_7535

+ cheese and a cracker…

101_7536

+ a very crisp, tart apple…

101_7537

+ carrot sticks!

101_7539

+ a honey graham cracker with a peice of hershey’s chocolate.  It’s a s’more without the ‘mallow! 😉

101_7540

We enjoyed lunch at the top, even without the views.  We were literally up in the clouds, and there was a light, fine mist coming through. 

101_7546

Despite the lack of views, we still enjoyed the hike. 🙂  It left us all starving, and we chatted about what we would be ordering once we arrived down to the bottom. 

101_7547

The first thing I did when we arrived back at the car was to snack on a yogurt with some FEED raisin nut granola on top. 

101_7561

First we drove back to the house and cleaned up a little.  I could tell we were all starving, because somehow we managed to shower, change, apply a bit of makeup, and get out the doors within 15 minutes flat.  When does that ever happen other then when there’s food on the mind? 😉

We decided on a place called Sunset Grill.  We’ve been trying a different place everytime we come, and this one has been on the list of places to try for a while now.

This salad was a pretty good starter…I loved the house made Lemon Basil dressing.  Very lemony, but not sour…sort of like a lemonade mixed with leaves of basil.  Mmm…I think it could easily be recreated, and I’d add mint too I think. 🙂

101_7562

Dad let me select the appetizer, and I went with the Crab Cakes.  These.  Were.  Amazing!!  Seriously, probably one of the best I’ve had.  They were crispy and hot, and the interior was soft and tender.  They didn’t need the tartar sauce, in my opinion, they were just perfect as is. 🙂  I ate 1-1/2 and totally savored each bite!!

101_7563

For my entree I ordered a grilled salmon served on sauteed greens, with a side of green bean almondine and mashed potatoes.  LOVED the green beans…they tasted as if they were cooked in a light butter sauce with slivers of almonds throughout.  The potatoes were tasty too…creamy and delicious.  But the salmon was just okay, only because I’m so used to my dad cooking the wild caught fillets on the grill, which is perhaps my favorite dish of all times.  But it was still good.  Just not amazing. 😉

I ate about 1/2 the salmon, all the green beans, and 1/2 the potatoes…+ an unpictured dinner roll that was warm and doughy. 🙂

101_7565

I was excited to try out some of their desserts, especially since they offered them in 1/2 portioned martini glasses!  We ordered the America the Beautiful Chocolate Cake and the Apple Crisp a la mode.  I took a couple bites of each, but was getting pretty full by now, so left it at that.  I love the idea of the portion sizes though.  It would be great if more restaurants would offer this as a dessert option.  Sometimes you just want a taste of something sweet, you know?  And I love being able to taste a bit of everything rather then sticking with one big dessert. 🙂

101_7568

Night-time Snack: bowl of Kashi Autumn Wheat and milk

Now I’m plain tuckered out!  I can’t believe we’re already spending our last night of vacation here!  Where does the time go?  Still savoring every moment though…I think we’ve all had such a great time so far. 🙂

Happy early Friday to everyone!  I might not be posting until later tomorrow night, depending on when we arrive back home and how tired I am. 😀  G’night!!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Vacation: Day 4 (last full day already??)

  1. that hike sounded super intense, but in a good way 🙂 Im glad you enjoyed it! and as always, the pics are breathtaking of the mountians and what not! the food looks pretty good too 🙂

    enjoy your last day of vacay hun!

  2. What a fantastic vacation!!! I bounced over here from your comment on Carrots ‘N’ Cake, and here you are in one of my favorite weekend getaway locations. Whenever the guy and I are there we usually eat at least two meals at Moat Mountain in North Conway – if you and your fam haven’t made it there yet, I highly recommend a stop: http://moatmountain.com/ Enjoy your last full day in the mountains – I’ll check back to see what the hiking schedule was!

    • Thanks so much for the recommendation to Moat Mountain!! I’ve yet to try it out there, but I’m making a mental note to check it out next time I’m up there! 😀 Thanks so much!

  3. Those desserts are so cool – it is a really good idea! I am definitely a sharer of food as well and love to try everything!
    Those crab cakes look really delicious!

    Looks like you’ve had such a fab vacation! All that outdoor activity = brilliant!

  4. wow you sure manage to eat AMAZING food while on vacation! Love the almond butter in the hot dog bun – classic on the go food 🙂
    dessert looks divine!

Leave a Reply

