Green Eggs “Minus” The Ham

Despite it being my last day spent in New Hampshire, I woke up super happy this morning.  I felt well rested and so comfy lying in bed, listening to the sounds of rain and singing birds.  My legs felt, as Polly would say, like moosh.  In a good way. 😀

I decided to leave my watch downstairs and let my body wake me up naturally whenever it so felt like it.  Can you guess what time that happened to be?  6:30 of course…never fails! 😉  I ate breakfast indoors this morning, while watching the rain fall down onto the deck.  It was just so peaceful and perfect.  I love quiet mornings!

This bowl was the last of the oatmeal I had brought along on the trip:

  • 3/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 pear (I ate the other half of it while the oatmeal was cooking)
  • cinnamon and nutmeg

Toppings: a big glob of almond butter and FEED raisin nut granola…

101_7569

We were so busy packing up this morning, that I didn’t have time to realize I was getting hungry until we were heading out the door.  But when I finally did realize it, it hit me like a ton of bricks.  Unfortanetly we were completely out of anything remotely close to a snack.  Fortunetlywe were close to a convenience store, and dad quickly pulled in, thereby avoiding a catastrophe (aka, a grumpy girl in the backseat…I get super grumpy when I’m hungry!!  Eeeks!)

There’s not a whole lot to pick from at a small convenience store, located in the middle of nowhere!  I searched high and low for kashi products, but realized I was going to have to branch out of the norm and just go with the most filling, decently balanced snacks I could find. 

Here’s what I came up with for my morning and afternoon snacks:

Balance Chocolate Peanut Butter bar…which was actually pretty filling and satisfying in the morning (no cranky girl to be found…wahoo!)

101_7571

Honey Roasted Cashews for an afternoon snack on the way.  Also very satisfying and filling.  🙂

101_7578

I couldn’t wait to dig into lunch because again I was starving.  All this fresh air and hiking is leaving me with an insatiable appetite!!!  Not to mention, I couldn’t wait to break into the bread that dad and I had picked up at a bakery in Plymouth, NH.  It was a swedish hearth bread and was so buttery tasting!!  And it was wonderfully doughy, which I love in a bread.  I always say, if the bread isn’t a crusty, artisan style bread, then it needs to be super flavorful and doughy.  And this one totally was…delicious!

I also had a huge salad, using the last of the greens we had brought, a carrot, a handful of black olives, red onion, tomato, more sauerkraut, and…GREEN EGGS?

101_7576

Yes, green eggs.  We had 1/4 an avocado left in the fridge and a couple of boiled eggs.  It sounded too interesting to pass up. 😀

It wasn’t just fun to eat (green eggs “minus” the ham 😉 ), it was actually really quite yummy!  The avocado gave it a smooth, buttery texture like mayo does, and it was super flavorful.  I used:

  • 1 whole egg + 1 extra egg white
  • 1/4 avocado
  • salt and pepper

Next on the list of things to try with avocado: tuna and chicken…you just never know! 😉

101_7575

I was munching on the honey roasted peanuts for most of the ride home because they were so much fun to chew on and I wanted to make them last.  I also sipped on this for most of the way…an iced coffee with soy. 

101_7579

AND, we stopped at a specialty running store in Manchester, NH.  I was super excited about this, because the staff is trained to help fit a running shoe to you and there are a ton of gidgets and gadgets that I wanted to buy (it was almost comparable to how excited I get when I walk into a whole foods…yeah…pretty intense! 😉 )  I went with a pair of Asics Gel which felt super comfy and supportive.  They told me that I was pretty neutral and only slight overpronating (or is it underpronating?  I always forget the difference, but they knew what they were talking about, and thats what matters 😉 ).  I can’t wait to try them out…hopefully I’ll fit in a short run tomorrow morning so I can see how they feel on the road. 

Be it ever so humble, there’s nooo place like home!!

That saying is so true.  Vacation was fantabulous, and I had a blast.  The food was completely enjoyable, and there was a nice mix of relaxation and being active.  But there’s still something about being back home to my own place, my own room, my own food again.  Because sometimes you just can’t beat home cooking!!

Dad got right to the grill and cooked up some chicken breast (drizzled with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper, and cajun before grilling.)  I steamed some broccoli and sauteed a bit of cabbage on the side, along with grilled potatoes too.  Except this time I skipped using cajun on the potatoes since I didn’t want to over-heat everyone’s mouths with everything being spicy. 😉

On the side was a lovely glass of sauvignon blanc.  It was clean and simple, and perfect for tonight’s meal.

101_7581

Dessert was my first peach of the season.  I considered grilling it because peaches are heavenly on the grill.  But then I decided that I was more in the mood for the cold, juicy version instead.  A good, fresh peach shouldn’t be fooled around with too much. 🙂

101_7583

Tomorrow is going to be another busy day, but weddings are always fun to go to! 🙂  And I don’t have to go to “work” until Wednesday, so it sort of feels as if I’m still “on vacation.”  Although I guess I shouldn’t feel like that too much, since I have a ton of homework to catch up on! Oops!  Guess what I’ll be doing on Monday and Tuesday, once we get back into the work week?

BUT, now it’s time to enjoy the weekend, and I hope you are all off to a wonderful start of it! 🙂 

Night Time Snack: Bowl of wheaties with milk…finally full and my stomach is officially content. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Green Eggs “Minus” The Ham

  1. Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! Glad you had such a lovely time. It is always so nice coming home though – that drive through familiar streets always gets me a bit goose-bumpy!

    I am exactly the same with the food grumps by the way. If I am over tired or under-fed do NOT come close! It ain’t pretty!

  2. Good job making out with the best you could for healthy snacks at the convenient store!

    YAY for new Asics! And awesome running shoe stores too. I hope you can get out soon and take them for a spin.

    Welcome home!

  3. I haven’t had pear oatmeal in forever! It looks so creamy and good!

    Love the green egg! Avocado is so yummy with eggs!

Leave a Reply

