Short ‘n’ Sweet

This post is guarenteed to be short and sweet.

Why?

It’s short because I didn’t actually do much. 😉  I felt like I needed a day with no plans or anything, and that’s exactly how it turned out to be.  Refreshing and simple.

On the food front, my dad made my favorite meal: wild caught salmon on the grill.  It seems to get better every time.  And I’m loving this new way of cooking zucchini and summer squash…a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and thrown on the grill (well, it’s new to me anyways…;) ).  And let’s talk a bit about this garlic and basil infused rice too…

I simply cooked the rice according to the directions.  On the side I heated up a T. of olive oil, threw in a minced garlic clove, and added some chopped fresh basil (don’t be afraid to add a lot if you’re as big a fan of basil as I am! 😀 ).  Then I mixed it into the cooked rice for a pop of flavor.  Loved it…it was so simple to do and you could use any assortment of herbs you prefer.  Mmm…

101_7632

This post isn’t simply short…it’s also sweet.

101_7634

This afternoon was just begging for a 4-mile walk to the icecream barn.  I’m on a flavor kick with oatmeal cookie, and this was perhaps the best rendition I’ve had of it yet.  It was chock full of chewy oatmeal cookie peices, and bites of chocolate chunks.  It was exactly like eating an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie in icecream form.  Truly delicious. 😀

Now that vacation is officially over and everyone is heading back into the work week tomorrow, I’m looking forward to eating more “normal” again, as far as food choices and the time when I actually get the chance to eat.  It’s always a little tricky eating on the go, as far as having healthy snack options that don’t flag my energy while waiting for lunch & dinner.  I almost caved in to a second cup of coffee this afternoon, but decided that since I had nowhere to go, I could deal with my unusually low energy levels. 😉  Usually the best medicine for when I get low on energy is: more natural and wholesome foods, a little more sleep, and a good long walk or run.  Never fails… 😀

I’ll be back to regular posting tomorrow!!  Hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Short ‘n’ Sweet

  1. That ice cream looks and sounds amazing! We don’t have much yummy froyo or ice cream places around here- just Baskin Robbins, Dairy Queen, and Coldstone. Those places are pretty yummy but I want a yummy flavor like that! lol

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. Wowzers you’re so lucky to get that freshly caught salmon! It looks so good. Ice cream does NOT look bad either…haha. Like the four mile walk to get it too – things taste so much better when there’s effort involved in getting them!!

    You should totally enter for a race! You are 100% fit enough with all your hiking/running/generally fitnessing! And it’s so fun to train for something and then do it! What better thing to dedicate those new running shoes to?!

  3. Garlic and basil infused rice?! OMG, that sounds so simple and yummy I might try it. I love basil!

    “Usually the best medicine for when I get low on energy is: more natural and wholesome foods, a little more sleep, and a good long walk or run.” -Same here. 100% agree.

  4. that rice looks so delicious 🙂 basil infused? yum! basil is definetly my favourite herb too, so il have to try that!!

    mmm oatmeal cookie ice cream…it sounds amazing!

    I completly agree…a walk, sleep and wholesome food is exactly what restores my energy when im feeling energyless!

  5. I think the walk and the ice-cream completely balance themselves. 🙂 The salmon looks awesome. I am glad you were able to have a relaxing Sundays. Those are so needed.

  6. You described that ice cream so beautifully! I love oatmeal cookie ice cream from Ben and Jerry’s. Other people look at me like I am weird if I order it–but they can get over it. 😉

Leave a Reply

