RICE!

Last night I decided to set my alarm for 5:30 and see what I felt like doing once I was actually up: option 1: go running now or option 2: hope it doesn’t storm after I get out of work and go then.

Once I was up, I was up…no point in going back to sleep!  So I jumped out of bed, spread a toast with a pat of pb, and headed out for a 2-miler.

101_7682

Okay, I’m actually a little embarrassed to admit this considering it’s only my second “unofficial training day.” ha…but I think this picture is self explanatory:

101_7685

Ahh, yes, icing.  How I missed thee (not really.)  Last year I ended up with achilles tendonitis after training too hard on a hilly route.  But I’ve never really had problems with shin splints before now, and I’m thinking it’s either due to the fact I’m still getting used to new sneakers (???), my legs are still recovering from last week’s hiking, or I suddenly developed a weird gate which caused me to stomp like an elephant…or all of the above, which might be possible. 😉

But seriously, I’m trying to take this as it comes.  Tomorrow I’m planning another 2-miler, but if it starts to hurt like it did after this morning’s short run, then I’ll cross train on Friday and Saturday.  I have a good amount of time before the actual 10k that I might possibly be signing up for, so I can take some rest time off in the form of biking if I need to.  We shall see.  In the meantime, any tips or pointers about strengthening/resting/icing/shin splints in general???? 

Right now I’m following the age old remedy of RICE!

Rest
Ice
Compression
Elevation

Icing wasn’t too painfully boring because I had a breakfast cookie to eat. 😀

In this cookie:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 2-3 T. milk
  • 1 mashed banana (saving a few slices for the top)
  • 1 T. chunky, salted pb
  • 1 T. unsweetened cocoa
  • coconut for the top

Yumminess!

101_7683

Work went really well today.  I was working with the potwasher to learn the ins and outs of everything about his job, which I need in order to write up my paper for the summer class I’m taking.  He was super nice and was pretty good about not laughing at me as I helped him roll the tray carts from the floors to the elevator to the kitchen.  Those things are harder to steer then they look, and I found myself bumping into random objects—thankfully, nobody was hurt in the process. 😉 

I came home right around noon, and I was just starting to feel hungry.  Oh, the power of the breakfast cookie.  They keep me nice and full for at least 3-4 hrs which is all I could ask of any good breakfast. 😀

Lunch was an exact repeat of yesterday.  And yes, even the picture is a repeat (sorry!!)  I took a picture as I was sitting down, but I must have been hungry because it came out blurred and crazy, without my taking another picture. 😀  There was also a side salad with simply lettuce, carrots, and cucumbers.  We’re in desperate need of tomorrow’s visit to the grocery store!! 😀

101_7676

Still feeling hungry, I broke out the other chobani that my mom had bought me (thanks mom! 😀 ) and topped it with some kashi wild blueberry cereal for crunch. 

101_7687

Simple afternoon snack: plain shredded wheat with raisins and milk (added after the picture was taken to prevent sogginess! 😀 )

101_7688

I was dining solo for dinner tonight, so I wanted something simple to prepare without too many dishes.  At first I wanted french toasts, but lost track of what I was doing and ended up with scrambled eggs.  That’s what the heat does to a person! haha… 😀

In the end, this is exactly what I was in the mood for though.  I topped the scrambled eggs with a slice of cheese, and put the eggs between two slices of whole wheat toast with ketchup.  When I snapped the picture, I realized how much it looked like fast food, but enjoyed it way more then any burger or egg mcmuffin. 😉

101_7691

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I’m literally chilling in the basement where it’s cool, sipping on this chocolate pb&banana chiller!

  • 1 c. milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 T. peanut butter
  • 1 T. unsweetened cocoa

101_7693

 Tomorrow is grocery shopping day, which is always nice…I love a restocked fridge, and I’m pretty excited about some of the planned meals for next week too. 😀

G’night all! 😀

Exercise: 2-mile morning run + 2-mile post-dinner walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

21 thoughts on “RICE!

    • uncooked!! 🙂 They soften up really nicely overnight, and give the texture of “cookie dough.” Just mix all your ingredients together and spread it out on to a plate. Cover overnight in the fridge, and voila! Instant breakfast. 😀

  1. Ohh BOO! So sorry you’re experiencing the shin splint pain already! I started running in March and straight away experienced the same pain (after literally my first couple runs) so I might say it’s the shoes (I had new ones too) or the sudden increased mileage. Mine did go away pretty quickly you’ll be pleased to know – it might just be that new pressure on your joints.

    Keep on icing!! That’s all I ever do these days! Ha.

    Errr, your choc, pb, banana shake looks so good and refreshing! And again with the lentil tortilla love! Jealous!

    LOVE grocery shopping days – have fun!

  2. hi hun,
    aw im sorry your experiencing shin splints 😦 i hope they improve very soon! ive heard the R.I.C.E thing is the best thing for it.

    that breakfast cookie looks delicious 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your night!

  3. I’m so sorry about your shin splints. The only thing I have to offer is that if you think it has something to do with your form, the book ChiRunning is great. It’s all about how to run and fix your form and run pain and injury free.

    But I too have heard that they eventually go away, here’s hoping!

  4. Hey doll,
    I am sorry to hear about your shins. That happens to me everytime I start running and get gung-ho about training for something. It can be discouraging! But it seems you are staying positive and taking care of yourself–so you will be up and running, pain-free in no time. 🙂

    Also, that breakfast cookie looks so good. I keep seeing them and saying I will try them but I never do. Sheesh–I am going to try one next week. I have to!!!

  5. I’ve had a lot of shin problems in the past, twice even dealing with stress fractures! But now I’ve fixed it.

    The biggest thing I did was increase my turnover so I run 180 steps per minute. Before, I did much less, and hence had much bigger impacts. This felt so strange when I started doing it, but I think it’s the absolute biggest thing that made the difference for me.

    Also, you should look into Recovery Socks or some other compression socks. My shins and lower legs feel so good after I wear them.

    Good luck!

    • That’s great to know!! I’ll have to give it a try next time. I did notice that I tend to take large steps, so I’m going to focus on increasing my turnover rate on the next run.

      I *should* get some compression socks too, they sound great!! Thanks so much for the recommendations and the help! Appreciate it!! 😀

      • Great! The easiest way to do it is think about it as 3 steps per second, and if you look at a watch while you do it you can get into a rhythm. If you really get into it, you can find a song that has roughly that tempo and run with it; that’s what I did to really hammer it in.

  6. i’m not a runner so I don’t have much advice on that topic.. but I do know about RICE!

    That peanut butter shake sounds amazing! Can you taste the pb in it?

    • Yep! I was a little worried I wasn’t going to be able to, but there were nice hits of pb flavor all throughout the smoothie. 😀

  7. shin splints are the worse – fill dixie cups with water, freeze them, then rip off the top and its so easy to ice your shins (by rubbing them up and down where it hurts). we did that on dance team, and they work awesome!

    keep listening to your body and making more breakfast cookies – that one looks SO GOOD!

    • LOVE that idea! Why didn’t I think of that? 😀 Thanks so much, I’ll have to pick some dixie cups up! 😀

  8. The Breakfast Cookie looks absolutely delicious. I have FINALLY experimented with overnight oats and I’m in love. Next up will have to be the Breakfast Cookie!

  9. Hello lovely,
    Just to let you know I nominated your blog for the Lovely Blog Award. I was meant to pass it on to 15 people but that seemed way too hard so I picked three! I guess you’re meant to pass it on as well!!

    Happy thursday! x

  10. Awww, sorry to hear about the shin problems. Hopefully, Matt’s suggestions might help.
    I can’t wait to see your planned meals for the coming week. Grocery shopping is too fun. I am so making myself an oatmeal cookie during the weekend. Your pic had me sold.

  11. YUM! Yogurt and cereal is my favorite together.
    As for the shin splints. . . you aren’t going to like what I have to say, but the only way to heal is to stop running for a while. My friend ignored her shin splints and ended up tearing her muscle and part of the bone came off… it became a spiral fracture and almost busted her knee because the spiral fracture continued up her leg… Ok, this is the worst / extreme situation it can get, but still. My point, be careful and listen to your body.

    • Oh geez…thanks for the info!! I’m taking a day off tomorrow from running, and I’ll take it easy on Saturday. If it still hurts, I’ll have to take some extended time off and stick with biking for a while.

      Thanks again! 😀

Leave a Reply

