Farmers Markets, Running, and Good Food…:)

I woke up feeling kind of nervous about this morning’s run.  Not because it was pouring outside.  Not because I was running any great distance.  It was all due to my worrying that these shin splints are going to be a recurring problem.  Of course, if I had read all of your kind comments and suggestions before actually running, my mind probably would have been more at ease and my running form (mostly my turnover rate…thanks no meat athlete! 😀 ) would have been different.  I’ll put all the tips to good use on Saturday!

I put my nerves aside and decided that I should just listen to my body.  If I started to feel unbearable pain during my run, I’d stop as needed and take some time off.  No biggie!

Grabbed a toast with a pat of pb and headed out into the rain…

101_7695

For the first mile, I kept my pace even and slow.  My shins felt a little strange and almost tired but they weren’t painful.  I started to relax from that mile on to the second mile, and began to enjoy myself.  The rain was ice cold which was a relief from the heat we’ve been experiencing lately.  And as I sloped around the corner, the clouds began to lift and I caught a glimpse of the early morning sun overhead.  It was such a lovely morning, and was the perfect reminder of why I love running so much. 😀

I came home from the slow 2-mile run, took an ice cold shower, and iced my shins while eating breakfast.  My legs felt unusually tired, so it’s definitely good that I’m taking tomorrow as a day off before going for a longer run on Saturday.  Again…totally planning on listening to my body and shortening that run as needed or biking instead if I feel like it.  No sense in getting hurt! 😉

Am I not one very spoiled girl for having breakfast in a jar for the second time this week??  I’ve been stashing these nearly empty jars away and didn’t break them out until this week when the mood struck.  I filled this with my usual overnight oats concoction:

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 large banana
  • small handful of raisins
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • coconut for the top

101_7700

Now that I was fully energized and rearing to go, I headed out to the local farmer’s market to see what goodies I could find.  In addition to the green beans, cucumbers, summer squash, zucchini, and corn on the cob that I bought, look at these beauties!!

I was super excited to find such pretty radishes there.  The woman selling them said they were delicious and she called them Easter Egg Radishes.  Love ’em!

101_7701

There was an equally good shopping day at the grocery store, as I meandered my way through good sales and many coupons. 😀  I love finding bargains!

When I came home, I was starving and got to work preparing some lunch.  I made a wonderful mix of leftovers that ended up going really well together.  Simultaneously, I was able to clean out a lot of the plastic containers from the fridge. 😀

  • leftover kashi rice pilaf from a couple days ago (about 1 c. worth)
  • 1 c. frozen green beans
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • chopped tomatoes
  • chopped cucumbers
  • sprinkling of cheese
  • spoonful of salsa
  • ww tortilla on the side for dipping and scooping

It was super filling due to all the volume from the veggies and kept me full from the mix of protein and fiber.  😀

101_7703

and some very perfect green grapes for dessert.  I considered freezing them for a treat, but I didn’t have enough patience to wait. 😉

101_7706

I had a really hard time deciding which Oikos flavor I wanted to try first, when using the free coupons that they were kind enough to send me!  Honey?  Strawberry?  Blueberry?  In the end I chose the plain…ha. 😀

I topped it with some kashi wild blueberry cereal…

101_7710

Oh my word…this may even beat chobani (maybe even fage???).  It was perfectly whippy and light, and tasted so creamy.  It was similair to how fage 2% tastes.  Look at those thick, creamy peaks! 😀

101_7709

This afternoon I was glued to the couch once again.  I’m on a role this week with getting homework done, so I’m trying to take advantage of it! 😀

I did break away from the living room long enough to go for a walk with the mom.  We took our time, eating a few handfuls of wild blueberries along the way, and picked a boquet of wild flowers too.  It was such a fun walk, filled with sunshine, cool breezes, bumblebees, and good conversations. 😀

Dinner was flavorful and hit all the right notes.  I topped a big bowl of mesculin greens with…

  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • radishes!!! 😀
  • chicken breast (dethawed cajun chicken, which we had grilled up last week)
  • a big side of sauerkraut
  • 1 tsp. olive oil drizzled on top

…and kashis on the side! 😀

101_7713

I had a hard time deciding between cereal and a smoothie for a snack tonight, and went with the smoothie.  This was a lot like last nights, with only a slight change in the proportion of ingredients!

  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 T. peanut butter
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 T. cocoa
  • a few ice cubes

I really like this mix!  It’s very refreshing and hits the sweet tooth too.  😀

101_7715

I’m planning on a nice, morning yoga workout tomorrow to take over the time I would normally be out running.  I can’t wait to stretch!!  😀

Happy Early Friday and have a good night!! 😀

Exercise: 2-mile run + 4-mile walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

14 thoughts on “Farmers Markets, Running, and Good Food…:)

  1. You are so right, it’s all about listening to our bodies. Good call on that.
    Those radishes look really fresh! I’ve only tried cooking with the large white Japanese daikon which are great in winter soups. I wouldn’t wait for those grapes to freeze as well. The fresher, the better. 😀

  2. The oats in a jar look delicious! and nothing better than the feeling after a run 🙂 i love it!
    Enjoy your weekend hun!

  3. I really love your milkshake. I will definitely be enjoying that soon. So many sweet treats can be consumed so quickly but that looks like a nice, big, cleaner treat.

  4. Your meals looks fantastic! It sounds like you are really treating your body right with going slow and listening. I used to run track in H.S. and developed really bad bursitis in my hips (still have it today), but the coaches made me run through it and even took me to the doctor to get a shot of cortisone. Definitely not good for my body. Now I know I can run a few times a week, but slower than I like and not too far.

  5. Enjoy yoga this morning, I love yoga days just as much as running days.

    I’m an Oikos fan too, especially because it’s a little cheaper than the other two greek yogurt brands!

  6. I love radishes! Sounds strange, but my favorite (and very French) way to enjoy them is on toasted baguette with a little bit of butter and salt. Congrats on doing the run! Hope your shins continue to cooperate 🙂

  7. I’m so excited to use my Oikos coupons too! Eee! I can’t imagine better than Chobani but now you’ve got me excited…haha.

    Glad your legs are holding up. Fingers crossed. That lunch looks so good love, oh my gosh! Everything’s better with salsa, no?

  8. MMM – all your eats look fabulous – love the PB jar as a bowl 🙂

    Were the radishes actually a different type, or did the lady just name them “Easter Egg radishes” ? I’m intrigued 🙂

    • They’re actually a different type! They’re very peppery and strong but also have a subtle sweetness to them too. 😀

Leave a Reply

