Living in the moment…

Learning to live in the moment isn’t always as easy as it sounds, and its something I personally strive (and struggle!) for.  Take this morning, for example.  It was my day off from running, and what was it that I wanted to be doing most?  Running, of course.  While on days where I have runs planned, sometimes I just don’t feel like doing it and take my runs for granted!!

Thankfully, just remembering to remind myself to live in the moment forces me to live in the moment.  If that makes any sense at all? haha…

I headed outdoors to the porch for breakfast this morning, with an energizing bowl of:

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1 large banana
  • handful of raisins
  • T. almond butter
  • 2 T. of FEED’s raisin nut granola

I tried making friends with the neighbor’s cat this morning, but he’d have none of that!  He stared at me from afar before heading off to find something more interesting. 😀

101_7718

Today’s rain storm brought in a burst of cool weather, which I’m absolutely lovin!  And as I was walking home from the usual 4-mile walk, I was dreaming of soup.

Take a quick glance at this, because you’ll rarely ever see Progresso soup on this blog… 😉

101_7721

I’m not usually a fan…at all.  But for some reason I had this urge for Vegetable Italiano soup.  Rainy day comfort food maybe?  😉  I bulked it up with 1 c. worth of frozen green beans and 1/2 c. black beans.  Oh, and I also had a grilled cheese sandwich on the side, made with two slices of whole wheat bread and two slices of 2% American cheese. 

101_7722

+ an apple for dessert. 😀

101_7723

I took the afternoon off from homework today.  It’s Friday after all! 😉  I plan on covering a few hours worth over the weekend and may be finished up by the end of next week.  That would be so great!  We’ll have to see if my productivity carries over into next week…hold me to it! 😉

Instead of spending my afternoon with school books, I drove to my grandparents since it feels like forever since I saw them last!  I snacked on this crinkled up but amazing cashew cookie larabar.  I still think peanut butter cookie is my favorite, but this one is right up there on my fave list too! 😀

101_7724

When I came home, there was a wonderful surprise package from the people over at Nature’s Path Organic!!  A big special THANKS to Joy, who put it all together! 😀 

I literally did a happy dance as I pulled out all the fun products.  I’m especially excited over the Banana Manna bars.  Ingredients?  Dates, bananas, almonds.  Yes, I’m just a little excited.  😀

101_7726

Dinner started with a side salad, topped with kidney beans, Easter Egg radishes, tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, and red onions.

101_7733

Sushi is so simple to make at home, I’m surprised I don’t do it more often!  The longest part of making it is just waiting for the sushi rice to cook! 

It can also be very nutritious.  I prefer mine with whole grain brown rice, and I like to fill it with some sort of protein, a bit of fat, and veggies.  This mix was mostly good, but I wasn’t crazy for the addition of the canned salmon.  I should have known better I guess…sushi is just meant to taste fresh!!  I guess that’s why they oftentimes make it with raw, smoked, or seared salmon and tuna.  I did, however, once make it before with cooked shrimp and it came out wonderful. 😀  Don’t be afraid to experiment with different fillings…some people even throw in fruit!

  • 1 nori roll
  • 1/4 c. dry sushi brown rice, cooked
  • julienned carrots
  • sliced avocado
  • 1/4 c. canned salmon

In addition, I use a bit of rice vinegar to add a little flavor to the rice and to prevent it from sticking as I press it against the nori sheet.  You could use regular white wine vinegar too though, if that’s what you have on hand! 😀

101_7729

My night time snack…what else?  I was dying  to try Nature’s Path Organic’s newest Strawberry & Yogurt cereal.  And with 7 grams of fiber and 5 grams of protein, I knew it would fill me up as well! 😀 

I poured myself a bowl, filled it with milk, and took my first bite. 

DELICIOUS!

There were bites of puffed wheat, sweet strawberries, and bits of yogurt clusters throughout.  I absolutely loved it.  And, I have to admit, I stashed it away in the back of the closet to prevent it from disappearing in a day.  I have this strange feeling that my family will be loving it too. 😉

101_7735

Tonight I had an hour long yoga session in the den, and it was wonderful.  😀  There were so many new moves that I’ve never done before, and I felt so loose and limber afterwards.  Then I headed out for a 2-mile after dinner walk before relaxing.  I don’t have any plans for the night, but I’ll be hanging with the sister over the weekend.  Her and her husband are moving forward in buying a new house, so there’s so much to talk about! 😀

Any fun weekend plans??? 😀

Exercise: 4-mile walk + 1 hr. yoga session + 2-mile post dinner walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Living in the moment…

  1. I love how you bulked up your soup- that’s a great idea!

    And yay for all those yummy cereals! I love Optimum Slim.. I’m jealous of your new stash!

    And you go girl! 6 miles walking and an hour of yoga on a rest day?? I’m envious! I’m way too lazy on my rest days for my own good! lol

    • I had emailed them a while back, by going to their website (naturespath.com.) I’m not sure if they’re still giving away products for blog reviews, but it doesn’t hurt to ask! 🙂

      Joy was great, because she stopped by my blog to see what kinds of foods I was most in to, and sent me products based on preferences. Obviously I *love* blueberries, so I can’t wait to give the blueberry bars a try. 😀

  2. yay for lots of yummy new cereal 🙂 that package would have made my day haha!
    breakfast looks delicious and i love how you ate it outside on the porch..it sounds so relaxing 🙂

  3. I have never made my own sushi, yours looks totally professional! What sort of knife do you use to cut it? I’d be afraid to squash it or tear all apart while cutting it.

    WOOT for cereal loot! You hit the jackpot!

    • I use a really thin, sharp paring knife. The first couple rolls that I make come out much nicer then the later ones, when I just lose all patience and rush to get it done. 😀 I think the secret is to run the blade back and forth rather then pushing directly down into it which just causes it all to collapse.

  4. whoa on that sushi girl – work it out! i’ve heard sushi is really hard to make – can you give us some tips when making it!

    yay for free goods, more walking, cool weather and living in the moment! i struggle with that one too – sometimes i try to fit too much in, i plan the heck out of my life and then never enjoy today. that will be my new goal for today 🙂

    happy weekend!

    • I’d love to give some tips! Next time I make sushi, I’ll be sure to throw in some pictures as I go. 😀 But really, it’s not all too hard at all! A real sushi chef would probably cry if he watched the techniques I use to put it all together, haha, but I just want it to look pretty and taste good. 😀

  5. Soup and a sandwich can never be bad.
    And wow I’m jealous of that nature’s path loot lol. i was looking at their granola yesterday since it’s on sale at WF this week.

  6. Lovely, lovely, lovely stuff in here! Isn’t it the worst when you really want to run on your day off? I also suffer from not necessarily feeling it when I’, actually meant to go…luckily I have a six-miler scheduled for today and I couldn’t be more pumped for it!

    Yay for free products to try – those banana manna things sound SO good! Can’t wait to hear about em!

    I’ve been meaning to make sushi at home for ages but just can’t seem to get around to it! You have inspired me with saying how easy it is – I need to just get going!

  7. ive been wondering how cashew cookie is…and contemplated eating one today actually and decided not to because i didnt feel like being disappointed but since you say its good i might give it a shot! and your breakfast looks pretty much amazing.

  8. Sad days you were rejected by the neighbor’s cat… don’t worry she was probably just jealous that you had that amazing looking breakfast and she only got cat food

Leave a Reply

