Weekend Highlights

These are a few of my favorite things (for the weekend, anyways! 😉 )

1. Basil

I’ve been adding this stuff wherever and whenever I can.  Its especially amazing in a hummus veggie sandwich.  The more you layer on, the better. 😀

101_7738

2. Hanging with the Sis

We went to Applebees, chatted about anything and everything, and just had fun!  We both ordered this Italiano Portobello Sandwich off the weight watchers menu.  It  came with a dish of fruit on the side, and was the perfect size sandwich.  Loved the marinara sauce on the side too… 😀  There was also a little “What Drink Should I Order?” card on the table, where you press your thumb into a spot, and whatever color it reveals matches up with what your mood supposedly is.  This determines what “drink you should order.”  My sister kept getting the response that she was happy and should go with a fruity drink to revel in this.  Mine kept telling me I was stressed and overworked and should go for a dark ale.  Ahaha…oh well.  I wasn’t planning on ordering a beer tonight, so the icecream plans for later were going to have to do. 😉

101_7740

3. Friendlys Friendzies

This was a real treat.  Nicole and I walked to the Friendlys near her apartment where we both ordered a friendzie.  She went with the kit-kat blend, and I went with reeses peanut butter cup, which was loaded with chocolate and pb swirls, along with hunks of pb cups.  It was the perfect evening for icecream, and was a refreshing break from the heat! 

101_7742

4. Visiting with my furry nephews 😉

These little goobers spent most of their time lying on the cool kitchen floor or burying in the dirt on the deck. 😉 

101_7745

5. Painless Running

Thankfully, there was no pain at all today on my 4-mile long run.  I kept my strides nice and short, being sure to have my feet fall right below me and followed the 3 strides per second rule (thanks again no meat athlete!.)  I think part of my problem is definitely in improper form.  I tend to lift my knees rather then letting my legs move in a swinging motion.  I also noticed that at the end of my runs, I tend to slouch a bit, instead of keeping my core muscles nice and strong.  It was actually kind of exhausting to try and focus on my form so much, but it helped a lot!!!  I figure eventually it will just come naturally and I won’t have to keep reminding myself!! 😀

Off to enjoy the rest of my Saturday…hope you’re all enjoying yours too! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights

  1. I am on a basil kick lately too! I highly recommend adding it to your next burger/veggie burger.
    Glad you’re having a good weekend with the sis!

  2. awesome idea for a post. the ice cream looks awesome. i had a “blizzard” type thing last night with vanilla froyo, peanut butter cups, and banana. yours looks great too but i would have subbed for vanilla icecream haha…peanut butter cups and ice cream is like heaven on earth

Leave a Reply

