Ba, da, da, da da…I’m lovin’ it!

I’m absolutely loving all your responses to the Just My Your Opinion post! 😀  I had such a great time reading, and it’s so interesting to hear what you all had to say about healthy eating.  Here are just a few things you guys had to say:

“OK yes, I have a couple of little quirky things, like no eating (carbs especially) before bed, but that’s just what works for me and the journey I’m on. I’m not going to say eating carbs before bed is unhealthy…My healthy eating motto comes from Michael Pollan: Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”—Alison

“Healthy eating to me means eating as much natural foods as I can but also treating myself.” —April

“healthy eating to me is making fruits and veggies #1, then really just maintaining a balance. real food, every few hours, throw in some carbs + protein, a bit of ice cream for good measure and exercise. i am an everythingtarian for a reason – moderation is key!”—Holly

Okay, so maybe next time I should just make an entire post filled with your guys’ replies, because they were all so great. 😀

 On to today… 😀

The secret to short run fuel for me is to keep it boring.  I know, I know…how incredibly…urm…boring, right? 😀 

But nothing beets a toast with a pat of peanut butter when I run under 4-miles.  It’s just the right amount of fuel to pep me up without weighing me down. 😀

101_7755

I guzzled a bit of water, ate my “notenoughpeanutbuttertomakethisamazing” snack and headed out into my morning run.

Oh, and I need to clarify that for all of you who love to run…you are a runner not a jogger! 😉  I called myself a jogger for the first year or so, until reading the description of what the dictionary says about each:

Jog: “To go in a humdrum fashion…a series of disconnected motions.”

Run: “To move quickly…more rapidly then a walk.  An instant an which both feet are off the ground.”

Which one sounds more appealing?  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want my love for running to be considered going in a “humdrum fashion.” 😉

Today was again, pain free.  In the literal sense anyways.  I had a hard time swallowing my pride and forcing myself to slow down as I focused less on speed and more on proper form.  Speed just isn’t worth focusing on until I can get my form down solid…gotta keep reminding myself of that! 😉  Needless to say, it was a slow run, as I counted my steps and focused on keeping my core nice and strong.  And I still worked up a good sweat by the time I arrived home from the 3-mile run.  I headed straight for the freezer, grabbed two ice packs, and iced the shins.  After an equally ice cold shower, I made myself a delicious bowl of oats…

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • banana
  • handful of raisins
  • Scoop of almond butter on top
  • About 2 T. of FEED’s raisin nut granola

Sometimes a bowl of oats just comes out amazing, and this was that bowl.  It was like eating an oatmeal cinnamon raisin cookie…with almond butter on top. 😀

101_7759

I spent the rest of my morning on a homework assignment that has been nagging at me for the past few weeks.  I can’t seem to get it, which is driving me insane.  I have a week and a half to finish it, but it’s knowing where to start and how to organize it all together that’s making me crazy.  Ugh…I’m hoping it will come together.  Somehow I just need to keep plugging away and rereading the directions until something finally clicks! 

Since I was in such a mish-mashed state of mind by the time lunch came around, due to the assignment, I decided to go with a mish-mash sort of lunch. 😀

  • Corn on the cob
  • Pickles
  • Carrots and pepper slices
  • Kashi crackers
  • Can of tuna, mixed with 1 tsp mayo, pepper, and red onions

I love eating a little of this ‘n’ that. 😀

101_7761

cherries completed the meal with a bang. 😀

101_7762

Back to work…plugging away on the laptop, getting nowhere fast.  I tend not to get stressed very easily, which is something I owe to running…ha!  But spending hours on an assignment that still has nothing to show for it started to really irk me, and I could feel myself starting to get grumpy.

Perfect solution: a) coffee? b) throw a temper tantrum? c) walk away from the laptop…slowly…and take a breath of fresh air.

c) of course! 😀  I went straight towards the flower garden, enjoyed the sunshine, and took a few deep breaths to calm myself down.  Whenever I get over worried or stressed, I ask myself if it will really matter all that much, 10 years from now.  And if not, I need to convince myself to just keep giving it my best and leave it at that.  Because that’s all that any of us can do!

After recovering from a near meltdown (ahaha…okay, it wasn’t that bad, but you get the point 😉 ), I dove into a Natures Path Organic Optimum Energy Bar: Blueberry, Flax and Soy bar.  I was super excited to receive these in the mail, and couldn’t wait to try them out. 

101_7764

Loved it!  I think the frosting swirl on top was a great touch, and there were chunks of blueberries throughout.  The texture was a lot like an odwall bar…chewy in a very good way.  And it kept me full for 3-4 hrs., which was especially nice.  I’d definitely buy these again. 😀

101_7765

Dinner’s idea tonight was taken from my favorite Moosewood cookbook, but with some variations involved.  Basically you cook the  pasta and beens (I used wax beans, which were from the farmers market…major yumminess!) together.  In another large bowl, I combined a pint of halved cherry tomatoes, 1/2 can of sliced black olives, 1 garlic clove minced, 1/4 c. olive oil, 2 tsp balsamic vinegar,  1 tsp salt, pepper to taste, 2 T. fresh basil, parsley…stir it all up, throw in the cooked pasta & beans, and voila!  Dinner is served.  So simple, so fresh, and so tasty.  I’ll be making it again because it’s such a nice summer meal to throw together.  Oh, and feel free to add some beans, chicken, tuna, etc. if you want to boost the protein content.  I threw in some kidney beans to my plate afterwards because they just sounded right for the dish. 😀

101_7767

Night Time Snack…started with a bowl of Natures Path Organic Blueberry and Cinnamon cereal, ended with a chocolate banana peanut butter smoothie because I was still hungry…and now I’m finally content. 😀

101_7770

I’m off to see if I can make more sense of this assignment, and then I’m off to get my stuff ready for an early morning of work at the hospital tomorrow.  It’s getting down to the last days as far as working there, and I’m looking forward to writing the project paper for that part of the class by the end of the week.  I can’t believe my summer class will be over in a couple of weeks!!

Exercise: 3-mile run + 3-mile post-dinner walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Ba, da, da, da da…I’m lovin’ it!

  1. Sometimes boring foods work the best! Even a simple pb & j can make my day 😀

    Your oats seriously always make me drool! One of these days I’m going to copy your exact ingredients!

    And I love that lunch! Lately I’ve been indecisive on what I want to eat and now I think I’ve found the solution- get a little bit of this and that! 😉

  2. all of your eats always look delicious :)!

    haha thanks for the jogging vs running description…i used to call myself a jogger to, but i wont be anymore!

    Lovin the lunch..this n that lunches are so fun to eat!

    enjoy the rest of your night!

  3. I use to say that I “jogged” too, but then I found the RW forums and that was pretty much the end of that.

    Thanks for the shout out, I’ve got to back and check out all the comments I missed yesterday!

  4. ohhh i think i need to purchase that moosewood cookbook…all your eats ALWAYS look so fab from it. what is the title of it?

    also, that oatmeal looks AMAZING and i love mishmash lunches! they are often the most satisfying, no? thanks for the shoutout girly, and have a wonderful tuesday!

    • It’s such a great cookbook! 😀 It’s called “Moosewood Restaurant New Classics” and has a yellow cover with a moose on it. It’s my fave. 😀

  5. I spy a certain Crate & Barrel bowl…yes I read that catalog way too much.
    I used to get those bars all the time, but I can’t find them anymore. Where did you get them?

    • Haha…don’t you just *love* crate and barrel? I go crazy whenever I visit the store and read the catalogs. Love it! 😀

      The bars were sent along with the Natures Path Organic package I received last week, but I’ve seen them at whole foods once in a great while. I haven’t seen this particular flavor near where I live either though…I don’t know what I’ll do when I run out!

  6. Good luck with those assignments!
    Your red dinner plate looks so cute. And again, love all your eats esp the mish mash lunch. I am a fan of a bit of this and that even as running fuel: 1/4 banana, 1/4 toast, a bit of beans. Haha.

  7. Your oatmeal looks so good! Wow! My friend likes to use the saying: “The difference between a runner and a jogger is an entry blank” – I don’t really prescribe to that and I much prefer your description but it’s good motivation!!

Leave a Reply

