Weekend Highlights Part II…+ Just Your Opinion!!!

I woke up with the sniffles this morning!!

Last night..ur…this morning, rather…at about 3 am, I was sweating bullets in 60 degree weather, so I knew something was up.  Then my throat started hurting a little later, and my immune system is still trying to fight something off.  Blah…at least I got sick on the right kind of day.  I’m home, in my pj’s, no plans…perfect timing!  I just need to feel better for tomorrow so I can meet up with a college friend for a lunch date. 😉

Thankfully being sick doesn’t mess with my appetite at all.  😀  Here are some of today’s Highlights!

HIGHLIGHT #1: Artisan Bread

My family has this thing for good bread.  I remember sleeping over my Memere’s house and watching her bake homemade bread.  Then she’d cut each of us a thick slice as it came out of the oven, slabbed on a bit of butter, and topped each slice with a thick layer of cheese whiz! 😀  Then we’d grab a glass of milk and have a night-time snack…I always thought it was the best thing ever

I’m still a big “bread person.”  As in, I love a good, old world style bread.  Especially Artisan breads.  Minus the cheese whiz. 😉

I’d love to say I made this loaf…haha. 😀 I had plans to make one, but I didn’t feel up to doing much of anything today so ended up going to the store to find a good one.  This one was amazing.  Fresh, crispy on the outside, doughy on the inside…yum! 

101_7890

HIGHLIGHT #2: Lunch

…Speaking of salads, this was the entree of today’s lunch. 😀  Cranberry, Walnut and Feta Salads.  I’m telling you, this is one of the tastiest salad combos!!

I topped a big bed of mesculin greens with:

  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • red onions
  • 1/2 c. white beans
  • 2 T. dried cranberries
  • 1/4 c. feta crumbles
  • 2 T. candied walnuts (toast 1/2 c. walnuts for 3-5 minutes, throw in a T. of butter, take off heat and add in 2 T. brown sugar, a pinch of salt & pepper, and cool)

The candied walnuts and feta cheese pretty much make this salad!  Just a little goes a long way with flavor, and adds so much to the salad. 😀

101_7893

The homemade dressing was very light tasting, a little vinegary, and subtly sweet.  Perfect for the salad. 😀 

DRESSING:

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed fresh parsley sprigs
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • …as seen in Taste of Home-Country: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/Festive-Tossed-Salad-3

    101_7889

    HIGHLIGHT #3: Return of the Avocado

    It’s been too long. 😀

    I was feeling super hungry for dinner, and made myself a veggie burger topped with red onions, tomatoes, lettuce, 1/4 an avocado, and catsup.  All between a whole wheat roll, homemade oven fries on the side, and some green pepper slices because I felt like crunching.  Perfecto! 

    Nothing fancy, but it sure hit the spot… 😀

    101_7895

    Keep your fingers crossed that I feel better tomorrow!!  I haven’t seen my friend since last semester, and I’m refusing to let myself be sick. 😉  If I’m feeling better, I have a 3.5 mile run planned for the morning too.  But I’ll be more then happy to sleep in a little if my body seems to need it too…

    Without further ado…

    It’s Just My Your Opinion

    A couple weeks back, Cristin from Self’s EatLikeMe blog had asked people what they thought of eating a little bit of the “real thing” versus eating a lot of something lighter.  For example, would you rather have a slice of full fat cheese that was out of this world delicious or a couple slices more of a “just okay” cheese that had less calories and fat per serving?

    I’m curious to see what you guys think. 😀  I, for one, feel like I’m in between depending on the food.  I love a good, whole milk robusto cheese.  There was one I had bought from whole foods a while back that had little crystals in it, and it was such a strong cheese that just the tiniest bit satisfied me.  And since it tasted amazing, I was never looking for other foods in order to compensate for the lack of flavor. 😉  Of course, there are some foods where I go for lighter versions, because I can’t tell a difference (such as Edy’s slow churned vs. regular icecream.)

    Then there’s the ongoing butter vs. trans fat free margarine debate!!!!

    What do you guys think??

    ***************_______________________________*******************

    Can’t wait to see what you’ve all been up to this weekend! 😀  I’m about to chillax with a cup of hot green tea (decaf of course! 😀 ) and a magazine in front of the tv with the thickest, most comfortable socks I can possibly find…haha.  Have a great night everyone!

    This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

    About Sarah

    Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

    9 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights Part II…+ Just Your Opinion!!!

    1. Love your weekend highlights and Just Your Opinion! My mom used to buy my sister and I french bread when we were younger and it worked out because I liked the soft inside and she liked the crunchy outside of the bread!

      I need to try salad with feta! I recently tried feta and was pleasantly surprised that I liked it!

      As for my opinion.. I’m in between too! Like I don’t like PB2 at all- I’d rather have real peanut butter! But I do like some lower calorie foods because I can eat more of them!

      http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

    2. Good job on your weekend long run and good luck on the 3.5 miler! Hope you get better; rest well.
      I’m in between, too. I buy non-fat yogurt. When baking, I replace butter with less rich substitutes. I don’t use sugar subs though. I think that just like everything, moderation is still key. 😀

    3. Hope you are feeling better!
      To answer your question:
      I think it depends on my mood and the reason I am eating. If I want quantity (which seems to be often), I go for the lighter version. But sometimes I really want quality, and only the good, rich stuff will do!

    4. love all of the weekend highlights 🙂 that salad looks delicious!
      I think it really depends on what im eating and how hungry i am etc. Sometimes if im really craving something, il go for the real thing…but if its quantity i want, then il go for the other version..its just a matter of how i feel at the time i guess.
      Enjoy your night!

    5. wow that picture you took of the salad looks amazing. i love me some good freshly baked bread as well— my favorite way to enjoy it is to dip it tomato sauce cooking up on the stove 🙂 and regarding the question of the day- im not raelly sure i think it depends on what it is that i am eating. when it comes to cheese i like part skim cheese if its shredded but if its feta chunks of goat cheese- give me the real deal please. and same deal with ice cream- i like froyo and slow churned. but if its something like PB- i dont want any reduced fat version. or reduced sugar ketchup or anything like that

    6. I would love to have out-of-this-world cheese no matter the nutritional information. Usually, though, i buy low fat sharp cheeses. These tend to pack more flavor than anyone ever needs anyway.

    7. That bread looks delicious! I buy skim milk & non-fat yogurts. I never will buy reduced-fat crackers/cookies, etc. I do like to buy frozen yogurt and slow-churned ice cream varieties over the full-fat version…but I will eat the full-fat version sometimes! As with cheese, I usually go for the full fat cheese…occasionally I will buy part-skim…never, never fat-free.

    Leave a Reply

    