On the Upswing!

This morning I woke up at 6, and once I realized that my sore throat was completely gone and that I could actually breathe again, I practically jumped out of bed with excitement…ha!  It felt so good to be able to breathe. 😀  I knew right away that I wanted to run, which made me even more excited.  This also meant there was no point in trying to sleep in…time to run!

But now I’m getting ahead of myself.  Breakfast came first, of course. 😀  I’m trying different foods to see what sits well in my stomach before running.  I love eating a mostly dry toast with a pat of pb for my short runs, but I need to experiment to see what I can eat before the 10k in September. 

How will the blog-famous breakfast cookie do in this eating experiment???

101_7942

Woohoo…really, really well! 😀

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 T. chunky peanut butter
  • 2 T. milk
  • banana slices and coconut on top

I added a glass of milk on the side for a complete meal of cookies and milk. 😉  One hour later, I was out the door, excited to be running!!

I can’t say it was my best run ever, but that’s not the cookie’s fault.  Some runs are just like that.  I was repeatedly having to slow myself down to figure out my pace while counting in my head—one, two, three…one, two, three.  It helped to take a short walking break at the 2-mile marker, stretching my legs out a bit and focusing myself.  “Sarah, why do you run?  This is supposed to be fun, remember? Just relax and enjoy it!”  Oh,right…and then I kept repeating to myself: I love this hill, I love this hill.  It’s even more convincing if you say it out loud. 😉 Thankfully, my rhythm came back to me from this point on, and by the third mile, I was starting to finally loosen up and felt good. 

Best of all, no stomach cramps, which gives the breakfast cookie a thumbs up for a pre-run meal. 😀 

Once back from my 4-miler, I iced my shins, took an ice shower, and drank some ice water–nothing new there! 😉

My appetite was still not normal today, but my stomach did start to grumble around 12’ish, which is when I pulled out the leftovers.  Sometimes day old pizza can’t be beat.  It made for a nice, easy, healthy lunch, and I just love how chewy the crusts gets. 😀  On the side I had about a cup’s worth of mixed veggies and 1/4 a smashed avocado to spread on my pizza crust. 

101_7944

+ an apple for dessert…

101_7946

I swear this homework assignment is driving me insane.  It’s not so much the homework part of it, as much as it is just sitting down for such a long period.  The worst form of punishment, for me, would be if someone forced me to sit down in one spot for an entire day.  Ugh…hate it!  But I knew I needed to get things done, so I decided to grin and bear it.  I can’t say I was actually grinning…but I did bear it. 😉

Thankfully there was at least a break in between though.  Today was cloudy and overcast with a chance of rain.  It really helped to keep everything nice and cool, so mom and I headed out for an afternoon walk.  It felt good to move after sitting down for so long. 😀

Once back, it was snack time…TJ’s raisin bran with milk.  One of my current favorite cereals. 😀

101_7947

I’ve been eyeing Rachel Ray’s Turkey Cacciatore Burgers ever since I saw Cristin on Self’s EatLikeMe blog make them.  And I was getting a vibe that everyone in the family (aside from my brother, who’s vegetarian, of course) was craving meat.  I think yesterday’s veggie burger on pizza started it, when everyone started talking sausages and hamburg.  Oh goodness…I figured this was a good time to pull out the recipe and try it out! 

Everyone loved this recipe, and I especially loved how easy it all came together!  The burger has a kick to it, so lower the amount of hot pepper flakes that you add if you’re “so-so” when it comes to spicy foods.  And when you’re looking for ground turkey, try finding a lean, natural, turkey breast.  Stop and Shop’s Natures Promise turkey breast is vegetarian fed, organic choice, and isn’t too pricey either.  Also, the recipe calls for portobello mushrooms to be used as the “buns” and is then topped with mozzarella, but I didn’t do either due to cost…but it would have went lovely with the meal, I’m sure. 😀

I topped the burgers with:

  • tomatoes
  • red onions
  • 1/4 avocado
  • ketchup

…and made some oven roasted zucchini on the side.  Quick and easy: Place cut zucchini on a sprayed cookie sheet and bake at 425 for 13 minutes, flipping half way through.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper. 😀

101_7948

I almost couldn’t fit my mouth around it! 😀

101_7949

Dessert!  I’m loving this sweet/salty combo of peanut butter on dark chocolate.  Totally hits the sweet tooth. 😀

101_7950

I just found out through a friend that the finale of Top Chef is on tonight.  I haven’t been watching it at all this season, but I’m figuring that this would be the show to watch…ha! 😀  I think there’s a new season coming along too, but I can’t decide if I want to watch it or not.  Part of me prefers not to have a series to follow because then I just become super addicted and can’t miss one single night!!  That’s how I am with Biggest Loser, every season.  It’s awful…ha. 😀  Maybe I’ll just watch this first show and see if I like it or not.

Anyone else addicted to a favorite series or show? 😀 

Exercise: 4-mile morning run + 4-mile pre-dinner walk

***Night Time Snack: Chiller!!  I plan on making it with blueberries vs. the banana this time, and I’ll be sure to let you know if it comes out blueberrific.  Sorry for the cheesiness…Have a great night everyone!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “On the Upswing!

  1. So glad you are feeling better, I think it’s to be expected that your runs might be a little *off* until your recovery is complete.

    I’ve done the breakfast cookie before runs, with enough time it works well for me.

    LOVE avocado on veggie burgers, who needs cheese or mayo (something I use to eat way too much of) when you’ve got natural creamy goodness!

    • Thanks for the reminder that it’s normal to be “off” until I’m completely better. 😀

      Aren’t avocados just the best? I could eat them on everything and anything…actually, I kind of do. 😀

  2. I’m glad your feeling a little bit better! I hope the appetite returns.. it stinks when you want to eat and aren’t hungry!

    And pizza with avocado sounds fabulous! I haven’t had pizza in so long but now you’ve got me craving it! mmm!

  3. glad to see that you are feeling better! was this your first breakfast cookie? i had my first one yesterday- really good! that rachel ray recipe looks great- i just bookmarked it- im gonna show my sister and see if she wants to make it one of these days! thanks…again haha 🙂

    • I actually started eating breakfast cookies a couple weeks back after finally giving in, when I saw them on Alison (mama’s weeds) blog. I couldn’t stop drooling over them and have been hooked ever since. 😀

  4. Glad you’re feeling better now.
    Whoa, that burger looks oh so good esp with the avocadoes. Hmmm, what I haven’t tried though is combining avo with ketchup. I love ketchup so I’m sure that’s yummy as well.
    Love how your dessert is quick, simple, but totally right on! 😀

    • Nope, they’re just “dry!” They soak up all the liquid overnight and get soft and end up sort of like “cooke dough.” Love it! 😀

  5. I am terrible with the Biggest Loser too! Argh – it’s so addictive and it makes me cry every week (I am a weakling and very susceptible!)

    Your breakfast cookie looks really good – glad it didn’t interfere with the run: hurrah!!

    Those burgers look so amazing – I saw them on Cristin’s blog the other day too! We make a mean turkey burger in this household already but I might have to try that recipe. They look gigantic!

  6. OMG turkey burgers are one of my faves. It looks great! Glad you were feeling better & got to go on a run 🙂 And your pizza lunch looks sooooo good.

    PS: Santa would be proud of your cookies + milk breakfast 🙂

  7. So glad to hear the breakfast cookie did you well! They are so yummy! That Gina is a genius! The burgers look great too- love the avocado on top- yum yum!

Leave a Reply

