Weekend Highlights

Highlight #1: Making Breakfast for the Fam’

It was a rare moment in the family household this morning.  Everyone was sitting at the breakfast table, eating the very same breakfast.  Last night, I had asked if everyone (or anyone?) wanted overnight oats for breakfast, not really expecting anyone to say “yes.”  But everyone was feeling adventurous, so I got to work and made three giant bowls for each of us.  😀

  • 3/4 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 banana
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 2 T. walnuts on top
  • yogurt, mixed in the morning

My parents seemed to really enjoy the mix…it was a really warm morning, so this hit the spot exactly! 😀

101_7906

Highlight #2: Food Should (and does) Taste Good Chips

These. Are. Addicting.

After crunching on a handful with my hummus, avocado, and basil sandwich, I passed the bag on to my brother to take with him. 😉 I can’t wait to bring these Multigrain chips with some salsa to a summer party.  My family all enjoyed this flavor the best out of all of them, but I’m still a devoted Sweet Potato girl. 😀 

101_7998

Highlight #3: Fresh Cut Summer Flowers

I had so much fun picking these flowers from the garden!  They’re just so…happy!  And they know how to put a smile on everyone’s face. 😀  I especially love the cone flowers and daisies.

101_8001

Highlight#4: Finding this Beauty!

I coudn’t get over the size of this green giant!  It was hiding in the jungle of a garden. 😀  I immediately turned it into a side for dinner, which immediately brings us to…

101_8006

Highlight #5: Dinner!

There’s a lot happening on this plate!

First there’s a Trader Joe’s sweet italian chicken sausage topped with sauerkraut and catsup!  This is the first time I tried the Trader Joe’s version, and they were very, very tasty!  They weren’t quite as chewy as the Al Fresco brand, but the flavor was all there.  Everyone else loved them too, so I think they’re here to stay as the go-to chicken sausage. 😀  There’s a ton of other flavors to be tried, including a spinach and feta variety that sounds super interesting.

Then the zucchini needed to be used up in some way!  I heated 1 T. olive oil and a clove of garlic, threw in the zucchini with a bit of oregano and basil, and added a pint of cherry tomatoes and a splash of balsamic at the last minute.  Once it was all heated, and I gave everyone their portions, I sprinkled a bit of feta on top for a “pow!” of flavor.  😀

Then there was the slaw!  It was simple to put together, was full of flavor, and so crunchy! 😀

  • 5 c. red cabbage
  • 5 c. green cabbage
  • 2 c. shredded carrot
  • 1 c. raisins

Topped with:

  • 2/3 c. cider vinegar
  • 2 T. white wine vinegar
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp salt
  • pepper

I got the idea from a Cooking Light recipe but made the changes according to what I had in the house.  It’s very tweakable. 😀

101_8008

I’m now off to relax and enjoy the rest of my Saturday night!  I hope you’re all enjoying the weekend!! 😀

~Sarah

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights

  1. I love the Trader Joe’s italian chicken sausage! I have some the apple flavor that I’m dying to use this weekend. Just trying to figure out what to use it in 🙂

    Glad the overnight oats were a hit! I’ve never tried that before myself! Looks so yummy!

    • I’ve always wanted to try the apple flavored chicken sausages, but I’ve yet to be “daring” about trying them…ha! 😀 Let me know how you like them, because one of these days I’m going to have to try them out. 😀

  2. After reading about your overnight oats, I just made myself some for later today. Haha. It’s too hot here I don’t want to turn on the stove. 😀
    The slaw looks lovely. I’m undecided with raisins. Sometimes I love them in salads, sometimes they annoy me and would eat them separately. Haha.

  3. Your weekends always have the best food!! That’s so awesome your family liked the overnight oats! I’ve got my mom converted but my dad won’t try them!

    And that sandwich sounds so good! What kind of bread did you use?

    • Love this bread! 🙂 I used Pepperidge Farm’s German Dark Wheat bread. It taste almost exactly like pumpernickle, so if you enjoy that sort of flavor, you’d love this bread. 😀

  4. Your sandwich bread looks like chocolate cake! Me gusta.
    Those flowers are so so gorgeous AND your dinner looks delicious. Looks like you’ve had a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

