We’re havin’ a heat wave…

Last night I found myself continuously checking the weather, hoping I would witness even the slightest temperature change.  I’m thinking after today, though, that summer has decided it wants to stick around for a while.  😉

That’s okay, I just need to learn how to improvise.  I knew we were expecting 95+ degrees by midday, so I planned on a bright and early morning run to avoid the full heat.  I also planned on having a later breakfast, because running in the heat with a full stomach is not always the most wonderful experience. 😉

Pre-run fuel was a simple toast with a pat of peanut butter with a tall glass of iced water.  Then I was off!

101_8027

The run started off a little rocky.  Every muscle seemed to be achy and tired, and my breathing was more labored then normal.  I didn’t like the heat…nope, not one bit.  Then I decided to stop complaining and noticing all the negatives, and start focusing on getting myself to zone out and enjoy the run!

Then it turned into a wonderful run by the second mile.  I’m really starting to get this 3 strikes per second rhythm, and its done wonders for keeping my shins pain free.  I was hot and sweaty by the 3rd mile, but felt awesome, as if I could run forever.  That’s when I decided to switch up my running schedule and make today a 4 miler instead of just a 3.  Usually I’m really cautious about switching things up when I’m in the middle of a run, because sometimes my feel-good-endorphins can’t be trusted. 😉  However, sometimes the body knows better then the training schedule, as far as knowing when to push a little harder and when to back off and take an easy day.  The calender doesn’t always know that sort of stuff. 😉

When I came home, I was dripping with sweat and feeling on top of the world, as if I had just conquered a marathon. 😀  I plopped myself right down and iced the shins right away.  Still no pain, but I figure that icing them can’t hurt!

After showering, I couldn’t decide what I wanted for breakfast.  I felt as if I should be craving a smoothie on such a hot day.  But can you imagine that nothing but hot oats sounded appealing?  I let it cool off just a little bit so that it wasn’t piping hot when I ate it.  And it was just so amazingly creamy and delicious that it hit the spot exactly.  Loved it!!  😀

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + a little more then 1/2 c. water (don’t be afraid to add just a little more…it increases cooking time but also increases bowl volume! 😀 )
  • 1 large banana
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 T. crushed flax

Topped with:

  • 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin Granola (seriously addicting!)
  • 1 T. almond butter
  • 1 tsp. unsweetened coconut

The secret, I’ve found, to a really great bowl of oats is a very ripe banana and your favorite granola to pile on top.  Perfection. 😀

101_8034

Then I got right to work, sipping an iced coffee while staying busy.  I can’t imagine what I’d do in this heat without ceiling fans and iced coffees. 😀

101_8036

It’s been too long since I’ve had gigantic salads as my lunch mainstays. 😀  This one was absolutely huge and full of all kinds of goodies.  There were:

  • kidney beans
  • white beans
  • 1/4 avocado
  • carrots, cucumbers, 1/2 a tomato
  • mushrooms
  • red onion
  • black olives
  • balsamic (of course!)
  • sauerkraut

…and kashis and slaw on the side.  I felt very content and happy to be munching on a nice cold salad. 😀  Sometimes only a super salad will do.

101_8038

One thing that this warm weather doesn’t do to me is to decrease my appetite.  Not one bit.  By 2 o’clock I was ready for my afternoon snack, and went straight for a bowl of Barbara’s Shredded Oats with some ice cold milk.  I love how sweet and crunchy this cereal is…its one of my favorites. 😀

101_8044

For dinner I made Feta-Cranberry Lentil Salad from Taste of Home.  I doubled the batch, was quite happy about how it was turning out and then…

…I tasted it…

It was like I had bit into a salt block.  Eeks!  I felt a combination of failure and heat exhaustion mixed together as I considered throwing everything out and starting from scratch.  That’s when my mom came in and saved the day by telling me to just mix something else with it in order to balance some of the saltiness.  Ahh…what would I do without her? 😉

I figured doctoring it couldn’t hurt anything, and it was better then simply throwing it out and wasting a good bag of lentils and feta cheese.  So I added some blanched green beans to the mix and it ended up turning out to be a very tasty meal.  I would still cut back on the salt quite a bit, but overall it was really yummy and super quick and easy.  I especially liked how I could just pop it in the fridge and dinner was made for the night.  Love that! 😀

101_8045

Oh, but as a side note, the dish is very vegetarian.  In that unless you enjoy eating vegetarian (like me!) on occasion, or have some meat side dish to accompany it, the meat eaters of the family might be feeling like there’s something missing. 😉  My dad quickly exclaimed that it would have made a great side for chicken.  BUT, if you are like me and enjoy such dishes, then this one is worth trying. 😀

Oh…one more side note!!!  Add some balsamic.  Seriously, and I’m not just saying that because I like to add it to everything. 😉  It really did balance everything out and added a touch of zing.

For dessert I sliced up two kiwis.  These are perfect right now, and I’m kind of wishing I would have bought more.  They’re tangy but sweet, all at the same time.  And Alison inspired me to eat them with fuzz and all.  It’s really not that scary once you think of it as eating peach fuzz…ha. 😀

101_8047

I can’t get over how much homework I have left to finish before Wednesday.  Where did it all come from?  I just need to stay motivated and productive for two more days and then I’ll be finished for the summer.  Phew…now I’m just sitting under the ceiling fan once again, sipping on a smoothie made of a very ripe banana, handful of frozen strawberries, 1 c. milk and ice.  It’s hitting the spot and keeping me cool… 😀

101_8051

I’m going to have to cut this post short and get back to work!  I’d love to continue blogging and talking, but duty calls! 😀  Goodnight everyone, and I hope you’ve all had a good day back into the work week!

Exercise: 4-mile early morning run + 3-mile post dinner walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “We’re havin’ a heat wave…

  1. I’m the same way with hot oats on hot days.. some reason they are always appealing to me! Sometimes I have to force myself to try new breakfasts because I always want oats! haha.

    your salad at lunch looks beautiful! And so satisfying!

    Thanks for the tips on the lentil recipe- I’ve been looking for a lentil salad recipe but I think I may do your suggestions for it 😀

  2. Great job on listening to your body! 😀 I’m so excited for you and the September race.
    That massive salad has my name on it. It sure is hot this week! I’m impressed with how you can control yourself to stop at a single serving of cereal. I could munch cereal as a snack mindlessly so I have to stay away from those. :s

  3. YAY for kiwi with the skin on! It really isn’t that big a deal – I totally expected it to be weird and gross and it’s not at all. Welcome to the “other side” heheheh.

    And YAHOO for a fab run! That is so so awesome you’ve figured out how to change your form and alleviate your shin pain. Rock on with your bad self! Awesome news.

  4. ahhhhh such goodness! okay, i have to say i tried eating kiwi with the skin and was not a fan. something about it didn’t seem quite right…

    however, that smoothie looks fantastic! there is NOTHING better than a cold smoothie on a HOT day. and i am with ya on the heat – i’m not a huge fan, especially when running. running + heat + me = no good.

    sometimes when you crave oats, you are just craving oats! i love how you listen to your body and do what is right for YOU!

    happy tuesday dear 🙂

  5. I’m not veg but I love eating that way some meals and that dinner looks awesome. i’m sure I could even get the parents around here to try it since it looks soo good

  6. Wow – your smoothie is so pretty today!
    Congrats on the run – there really is nothing better than the feeling of a really wonderful run 🙂
    Happy days. And yes, I agree, sometimes your body knows better than your training schedule!!

    Love that you managed to salvage your lentils – mom to the rescue! My mum would never let me waste a dish of food either 🙂
    Oh and I LOVE your cola glas/jar? Awesome.

Leave a Reply

