Topsy Turvy Stomach

The summer night is like a perfection of thought—Wallace Stevens

Some mornings I wake up hungry.

And some mornings I wake up hungryThat was today.

Rather then running on an empty stomach, I decided to eat breakfast directly before running.  Cramping up was possible, but there was no way that a dry toast with a pat of pb could hold me over this morning!! 

Breakfast Challenge: Day 1 was…urm…challenging!  I couldn’t decide upon any one breakfast.  I considered starting with my wild card–aka, oatmeal–but decided that should be saved for now, until I truly need it…ha!  Although with all of you lovely blog readers joining in with me, I might not even need the wild card.  So many options, so little time! 😀

Anyways, on to this morning!  I decided to go with a Midnight Swirl French Toast.  It needed a name, after all. 😀  I whisked together in a medium sized bowl:

  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • 8 dashes of cinnamon and 3 dashes of nutmeg
  • splash of vanilla
  • splash of milk
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1 T. raisins

Trust me on the cinnamon and nutmeg.  It was absolutely lovely.  Into the mix, I dunked two slices of whole wheat bread, and threw onto a sprayed and hot frying pan.  I then poured the rest of the mix over the bread, and let it cook!  Once it was nicely browned, cooked, and no longer soft, I topped them with:

  • 2 T. almond butter
  • 2 tsp homemade blueberry jam

It was so delicious!  It was crunchy from the flax, creamy and gooey with the almond butter, sweet from the jam, and full of flavor from the cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.  Day 1: SUCCESS! 😀

101_8089

As I finished eating, I felt nice and full, but also felt a little nervous about now having a full stomach before my run!  I decided to use 1/2 an hour to let my stomach digest a little, while cleaning and organizing my room to stretch out while being productive. 😀  By 7:30, I was out the door and into a warm morning run.

The run was kept at a nice even pace, and I felt good and comfortable.  Even though I was running solo, I tried to run so that I could have carried on a conversation if I wanted to.  I know one of my very first problems when I began running was that I always started out too fast, thinking that if my heart rate wasn’t really high, I wasn’t truly running.  This always left me burnt out and frustrated.  No more! 😀  I keep most of my runs at a not-too-fast but not-too-slow pace, and save the speedy runs for special days when I can follow them immediately with a rest day.  😀

Once I was home from a sweaty 3-mile run, I immediately iced the shins and became a two fisted drinker–iced coffee in one hand, iced water in the other. 😀  I’m becoming a fan of unsweetened iced coffees.  This one was just 1 c. coffee + 1/2 c. milk, and tasted much stronger without the sugar, which I liked.

101_8103

+ an apple.  It tasted exactly like a Panera apple…only it was much larger. 😀

101_8105

I was planning on a late lunch for today so that I could finalize my paper.  Around 10 I started feeling a bit hungry and put together a veggie platter, made up of carrots, tomatoes, and celery.  For dipping, there was a bowl of hummus and salsa.  I love munching on veggies when I’m busy with homework. 😀

101_8107

At around 1:30, it was time to break for lunch!

I could not, for the life of me, decide what to eat today.  I wasn’t in the mood for anything but felt hungry.  This salad with white beans, olives, red bell pepper slices, carrots, cucumbers, and balsamic hit the spot and was totally normal.  But wait…what’s that sitting there in the left corner?

101_8114

My not so normal accompaniment of course. 😉  But it was actually quite tasty.  I mashed a can of sardines in olive oil with a bit of fresh pepper, plopped it on top of some wheat crackers, and added a dollop of yellow mustard.  Any other sardine lovers out there? 😀

101_8111

Dessert was also unusual, but I highly recommend it for when you have a sweet craving. 😉

What is it? 

1 T. of peanut butter, 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin granola, and 1 T. swirled chocolate chips.  I was hoping it would form a firm cookie that could be eaten with my hands, but it didn’t really hold together.  It was, however, intensely sweet, salty, and crunchy.  And I rather enjoyed eating it with a spoon. 😀

101_8120

All through the afternoon, I was just never hungry.  And then around 3 o’clock, my stomach started feeling topsy-turvy.  Ick!  I wasn’t even hungry by 5, when everyone was eating dinner.  I was planning on a veggie pasta for dinner, but it turned into a quick ‘n’ easy veggie burger dinner that I could quickly throw together for everyone.

But somehow spicy chipotle black bean burgers didn’t sound quite right for an upset stomach, so I turned my dinner into a 2-step process.

First Step:

Plain yogurt with 1 T. flax and a banana…

101_8122

…and topped with 1 c. of Barbara’s Shredded Oats. 😀  It was just enough to calm my stomach down.  I figured I could eat more later if my stomach felt like tolerating it.

101_8125

Second Step:

I knew I needed something more to eat, and started feeling hungry…but I still just didn’t feel in the mood for anything.  What’s with me today??  I decided to just go with what I was in the mood for, which was a hot bowl of oatbran (surprise, surprise! ha)

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. milk
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • handful of raisins
  • 2 T. natures path pumpkin granola
  • 1 T. peanut butter

My stomach finally felt settled and comfortably full. 😀
  101_8128

On further news, I have finally finished my summer class!!  With two weeks left of summer vacation, I’ll be spending my time researching different internships, filling out applications, and creating a portfolio.  😀

Tomorrow I’ll be grocery shopping, and need to get the list started.  I spent my entire day writing a paper, which means not much else got done!  But at least tomorrow is my running rest day, which gives me plenty of free morning time…which might hopefully include some yoga. 😀

For everyone who’s in on the Breakfast Challenge, how’s it going so far?  Any thoughts or fun new discoveries? 😀  After this morning, I’m really excited to see what else is out there.  Thanks for the suggestions too!  I can’t wait to try out the veggie omelet suggestion. 😀

G’night!!

Exercise: 3-mile run + 4-mile walk

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “Topsy Turvy Stomach

  1. I’m sorry about your tummy! But everything looks soo good.. no joke! The french toast looks fabulous topped with ab.. the lunch dessert sounds amazing.. and dinner sounds perfect!!

  2. Hey lady,
    Glad to hear your stomach was ok on the run – nice! Sorry though that it was off all day! I hate days like that -food is meant to ALWAYS be a pleasure, right?!
    Love your breakfast! I’m hoping to make French Toast this weekend – never done it before! I am really excited about the breakfast challenge! Ha ha. I am hoping to incorporate some serious savouriness into my week because my breakfasts seem to be getting sweeter by the day!

  3. I am semi-new to your blog (about a month now), however I have noticed that you get hungry a lot……which I am sure is due to your fast metobolism, which I figured you must have if you have been trying to gain weight this past year. Anyway, I have had the same problem and noticed a huge difference once I added more “protein” to my diet this stopped happening to me, bascially I stopped being hungry a few hours after I ate! I started eating eggs with my breakfast and always had a healthy protein (lean meats, beans, peanut butter) for lunch and pretty much the same for dinner and also munched on almonds through the day. I know what a pain it was for me to always be hungry and thought you might feel the same. =)

    • Oh my, yes! I know exactly what you’re talking about. 😀 I do find that including protein with each meal and snack helps a lot, for sure. Especially in the form of yogurts, lean meat, and peanut butter like you mentioned.

      So glad to hear I’m not alone, and thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! 😀

  4. I’ve got my eye on french toast for one of my mix it up breakfasts this week.

    I too enjoy coffee without sugar, and I didn’t use to! Coffee with some milk is all I need.

    I have those not-quite-hungry days, I feel all out of whack.

    Love your salsa/hummus dipping platter – great presentation! 😉

    And this concludes my very random comment.

    • I love random comments…haha! 😀 Isn’t it funny how tastes can change? I used to never touch coffee (especially the iced version) without sugar, but now I’m preferring it without the sweetness.

  5. I’m sure it’s nothing like that french toast, but I’ve been enjoying french toast oatmeal recently. I let 1/4 steel cut oats and 1/4 cup oatbran cook for 2 minutes, crack an egg in and lightly swirl it around, cook for another minute until the egg sets, and pour maple syrup and cinnamon on top. I didn’t know how it would be but I really like it because of all the different flavors/textures going on–but you have to not overswirl the egg in so that whole bits remain

  6. That is an intense day of deliberating over food. I generally just shovel food in my mouth, aiming to get high amounts of fiber and protein, and I take vitamins. Alternating running and lifting weights, every other day, so I keep it mixed up and yet never stop working out. I wish I felt like making all the delicious things you described but I guess I’m a pretty lazy fitness guy. Haha

Leave a Reply

