Weekend Highlights! :D

It’s a good thing my weekend posts are meant to be random and filled with the highlights.  Because I realized that my weekends really are just that.  Random.  Full of a little bit of this and a little bit of that.  With plenty of relaxation on the side. 😀

On to the weekend highlights…

Highlight #1: Run Long

It poured cats and dogs last night.  Even when I woke up at 7:30 this morning—super late for me—it was still raining.  I considered sleeping for another hour, but I knew that in order to get in my long run, I would need to beet the late morning heat.  I halfheartedly rolled out of bed, not quite sure what I wanted to do about breakfast.

I ended up making some pancakes with an identity crisis. 😀  Oat cake?  Not really.  Pancake? Urm…not quite.  What are you?

101_8207

I won’t give the recipe because it really isn’t worthy of remaking…ha.  I think it has potential, but it needs some TLC.  Here’s what’s in it though:

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • nutmeg
  • 2 handfuls of blueberries
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 c. milk

Topped with 2 T. walnuts and dunked in 1 mashed, heated banana.  It was very tasty, and I liked the egg addition.  However, it was also very dense and the oat bran contributed a little too much “graininess.”  But, on the plus side, it gave me tons of energy for my run and didn’t cramp me up at all, which was a major concern. 😀 

Breakfast Challenge: Day 4: Not quite a success, but not a failure either…I’ll just call it an “in-betweener.”  😀

101_8209

I had a dilemna after eating breakfast.

Do I give my stomach a full hour to digest and head into the heat of the day?

Do I risk the stomach cramps, but beat the heat by running now?

I decided to take the cramping risk, and head out for a 6-mile run.  It turned out to be fabulous!  I kept my pace very slow for the first 2 miles, and then it started sprinkling out.  Just enough to cool me off like a water sprinkler system.  Loved it.  By mile 3, I started to tire out a little, but when I rounded the corner and spotted someone running ahead of me, I regained my motivation. 😀  He was running at a much faster pace then I was, but for the next mile or so, he was in my view.  Just enough to keep me going!

Then I started feeling really good, and by mile 4, I picked up my pace just a little.  The sky opened up right over me, and there was a huge blue circle surrounded by dark clouds.  It was gorgeous.  I felt as if I were running on a sunny day without having the sun beating down on me.  I felt great by the end…ready for more, instead of feeling over-tired.  Mmm…these are the type of runs that remind me of why I run!! 😀

Highlight #2: Going to an in-store Fashion Show 😀

My mom was part of an in store fashion show, so of course I had to go. 😀  It was so much fun.  There were makeup artists giving skin advice, a bit of fashion advice, and “models” of all shapes, sizes, and ages.  There were talks of inner beauty and confidence, and everyone was just laughing, smiling and having fun! 😀

You did great, mom! 😀

101_8216

Highlight #3: Family Approved Dinners

Thanks to a bottle of Trader Joe’s (or Giotto’s 😉 ) Tomato Basil Marinara sauce, dinner came together really quickly!

101_8221

I knew the zucchini in the garden was going to have to get used rather soon…it was becoming beyond enormous!  And I knew exactly what I wanted to do with them. 😀

First I cooked some brown rice…and got to work with everything else while it was cooking.

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • bottle of marinara sauce
  • 1 c. dry brown rice, cooked
  • 2 oz. feta cheese
  1. Heat 1 T. olive oil over medium heat and add 1 diced red bell pepper, 1 diced medium onion, 1 can of rinsed black beans, 2 minced garlic cloves, sprinkling of cajun, salt and pepper, a little bit of the marinara.  Cook until onions and peppers are tender crisp.
  2. While everything is heating, cut zucchin lengthwise down the center, and scoop out insides.  Chop any of the large “insides”, and add to onion & pepper mixture.
  3. Once rice is cooked, add to onion & pepper mixture.
  4. Add onion & pepper mixture to carved out zucchini.  Add the rest of the marinara sauce to the top, and heat for 5 minutes.
  5. Add feta cheese and cook for another 5-10 minutes or until cheese is beginning to brown.

101_8222

We each had 1/4 of a zucchini, and they were humungous!!!  The above picture was only 1/2 of the zucchini. 

The best part of tonight’s meal though, aside from the feta cheese, wonderful marinara, and the ease and speed of putting it together??

Everyone’s nods of approval.  Totally makes my day…:D

101_8227

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s fun breakfast post.  I’ll be posting up some of the breakfasts you all have been creating from this breakfast challenge. 😀  I love all the ideas I’ve been getting from this challenge, and seeing all of your delightful good eats. 😀

Hope you’re all enjoying the weekend so far!!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights! :D

  1. HOORAY for the long run! I am simply amazed that you can eat that much before a run and quite jealous since it must be some serious fuel! Haha. I love that your favorite part of that gorgeous looking dinner is everyone’s nods of approval – it’s so nice making food for people. Brilliant that you get to do it every night!
    P.S. Your mom is adorable!

  2. Sorry your breakfast wasn’t up to par with your others.. they look delicious though! And at least it gave you energy right??

    Great job on the run! I’m envious of your skills!

  3. Great job with the 6 miler! Looks like you’re race ready. I ran the wrong loop of my 6 miler yday which turned out to be 5.4mi, oops.
    LOL about the pancakes. But they still look seriously delicious. And your mom is gorgeous! 😀

  4. Apparently we were channeling each other last night, I made almost the exact same thing for dinner! Right down to the black beans in the stuffing. To dang funny!

Leave a Reply

