Breakfast Challenge Finale, already??

This morning was the last day of my Breakfast Challenge!!  I started out expecting it to be incredibly difficult.  But now that it’s over, I can honestly say that I loved it.  There was no need for my oatmeal “wild card”…haha…and I was happy to have found some breakfasts that satisfied and filled me as much as the beloved bowl of oats.  I hope to carry on some variety in my breakfasts from now on! 😀

This morning I wanted to finish with a bang.  Which is why I was baking yesterday afternoon so that I could have more then just a simple bowl of yogurt .  Banana-bran muffins anyone??

But first, let’s talk about the yogurt.  I’ve really been enjoying having a bowl of yogurt first thing in the morning.  It does wonders for keeping me full, and it’s the perfect accomaniment to fresh fruit! 😀  This morning I mixed in a T. of crushed flax with plain yogurt, and topped it with a peach and 2 T. almonds.  Then I ate a muffin…

101_8260

…LOVE these!!  The rest of the family agrees that they’re brilliant.

Keep in mind though, that these aren’t your typical “banana bread.”  Think more in the line of the texture and taste of bran muffins, mixed with super sweet bananas and cinnamon. 

Eating Well’s Banana-Bran Muffins—with some variations!

2 large eggs
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
3 medium, partially mashed bananas—make sure they’re super ripe (almost black) and leave some chunks in there too! 😀 
1 cup buttermilk–or 1 c. milk with 1 T. lemon juice
1 cup unprocessed wheat bran
1/4 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon + 1/4 tsp. nutmeg (optional)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.
2. Whisk eggs and brown sugar in a medium bowl until smooth. Whisk in bananas, buttermilk, wheat bran, oil and vanilla.
3. Whisk whole-wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in a large bowl. Make a well in the dry ingredients; add the wet ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until just combined.  Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin cups (they’ll be quite full). Sprinkle with walnuts, if using.
4. Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown and spring back when touched lightly, 15 to 25 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Loosen edges and turn muffins out onto a wire rack to cool slightly before serving.

They come out super moist inside, especially when they’re underbaked just a little.  I took them out after 18 minutes of baking. 😀  YUM!!!

101_8259

After breakfast, I headed to the den to fit in a 45-min. yoga session.  It was absolutely wonderful!  I haven’t been regularly doing yoga for a while now, and I need to remind myself of how great it feels to fit it in! 😀

Afterwards, I finished off the watermelon.  Is there anything more refreshing then watermelon juice?  I look forward to the bottom of the bowl every time. 😀

101_8263

I wish I would have known about green eggs when I was small.  I would have eaten it all the time. 😀

Anyways, better late then never.  Green eggs -MINUS- the ham is a fun meal for adults too. 😀  I made myself a sandwich with:

  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 avocado

Between two slices of toasted honey oat bread…carrot and red pepper sticks on the side.  Plus a glass of milk. 😀

101_8271

Dessert!  I finished off the dates, and I don’t think any other family member even touched them.  I think I’m obsessed!!

101_8274

This afternoon I went shoppin’!!!  There were so many sales!!  I had to force myself to focus on shopping exclusively what I needed—walking shoes!  But I did end up trying on some cute tops at the Gap and walked away with a bag or two. 😀  They were having a Buy one, Get one free sale…it was too much to resist. 😉  When it came time to look for some new shoes, there were some more good deals, and I walked away with two new pairs.  I plan on trying them on with my jeans tomorrow to make sure I like them before I decide.  It was hard to tell since I was wearing shorts at the time. 😉

When I came home, it was already 4 o’clock, and I knew dinner would be coming soon.  Still, my stomach demanded a snack so I broke out the kashi warm cinnamon and poured a bit of milk on top for a light nosh.

101_8275

Well, the plan was to make stuffed eggplant.  But I didn’t realize until later that it took about 2 hrs. to make!  Woah…I don’t think anyone in the family would have appreciated that tiny fact. 😉

So I scrounged through my new Moosewood Cookbook and ended up making the Eggplant Curry instead!  The only substitution I made: adding a can of diced tomatoes and topping with a bit of shredded parmesan for a pow of flavor! 😀

I’ll admit that I was scared of the recipe.  And I was scared of the eggplant.  I’ve only cooked with it once before, and that was just to stuff it…never mind dicing it up.  Do I peel it?  Do I seed it?  I honestly had no idea.  So I just chopped up the big purple globe and hoped for the best!

Loved it!  I can’t recommend it to everyone though, because it did receive some mixed reactions.  My dad was just “eh” about it, my mom couldn’t decide if she liked it or not and the rest of the family weren’t here (maybe they heard I was making eggplant for dinner??? haha 😉 ).  But I thought the flavors were all there, and loved the addition of the cilantro on top.  Mmm…

101_8278

My night snack was the usual! 😀 

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 c. frozen blueberries
  • 2-3 icecubes
  • 1 c. milk

 With a handful of Natures Path granola sprinkled on top for crunch.

101_8281

Today was fun!!  Full of shopping, cooking, and the beautiful outdoors.  But tomorrow I need to be productive in filling out applications and ordering next semester’s books.  Which explains why I need to hit the hay for an early night tonight! 😀  Have a happy humpday!! 😀

Exercise: 45-minutes of yoga + 4-mile walk

Keep the Breakfasts Comin’! 😀

There were so many wonderful breakfasts made this past week!  I couldn’t stop oohing and awwing over them all, and wish I could post them all up.  Rest assured, eventually they’ll all be here in one time or another though.  I plan on trying them out along the way! 😀

On to some of your good eats, in celebration of the past week of the Breakfast Challenge…if you haven’t completed the challenge for yourself yet, keep on going and leave a comment so people can check out your continuous good eats!

Drum Roll Please

Seriously…can melty brie cheese on an egg sandwich get any better??  Pam created this drool worthy breakfast.  YUM!

I’m such a fan of April’s breakfasts because they always have something new and different in them!!  This bowl of goodness is full of a variety of flavors and texture…plus crunch which I think every breakfast should have! 😀

Tay knows how to whip up an awesome looking batch of pancakes…and the blueberries just make it look even more amazing. 😀

+++

many, many more!!  Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment to let people know about your favorite breakfast of the week.  I’m sure we’d all be super interested to try something *new*! 😀

Question: What was your favorite breakfast that you’ve eaten from your Breakfast Challenge?  I think mine was the French toast with pb and jam that I made on my very first day into the challenge.  Although the banana muffins this morning were pretty good too.  Such a toss up!  I think I’ll have to remake some next week. 😀

or…if you’re still in the Breakfast Challenge, what has your favorite breakfast been so far??

OR…(sorry!)…if you didn’t have a Breakfast Challenge but still love breakfasts, what is your favorite breakfast?

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Breakfast Challenge Finale, already??

  1. Oh my, oh my, oh my! Those muffins look so delectable! They might have to be baked by me as soon as possible!

    Thanks for the overnight oats advice – I just made up a batch for the morning using your tip on bananas so we’ll see how it goes!

  2. Woop thanks for posting my breakfast girlie!! That was definitely a good one 🙂 Your eats today look sooo good! Those muffins! That eggplant curry! I want to make them noooooow. I loved the breakfast challenge this week – thanks for being such a great inspiration!

  3. Man, I totally missed the bfast challenge! Looks like some great things were made though! I have some great inspiration now. Thanks! Those banana muffins look great. I made some the other day and my fam is gobbling them up! Yum dates + pb = my new fav dessert!! Have a great Hump day.

    ~Justine

  4. yay for bfast challenge – it was tough some days when i knew i could make something i already had, but i was sooo glad to change it up! i will have a lovely recap tonight 🙂

    mmmm those muffins look delish, and if no one else wants to eat it, i will happily devour the eggplant curry. mmmmmm!

    fave breakfast? surprising the savory/spicy oats were good as was my overnight oats. i just ❤ them!

  5. Those muffins look amaaaaaaaaazing! Ah. Saving that recipe. I love the Moosewood cookbook- think I might need to borrow it from my mom 🙂

    I am new to the breakfast challenge, but tomorrow’s is planned and I am excited already! Lol.

    Favourite cereal? Just ONE?! Hmm. I love crazy oat combinations, but for ‘classic cereal’, sultana bran or raisin bran crunch. Or weetabix. Or cinnamon grahams (do they still make those?). Or honey bunches of oats. Gah…can’t pick.

  6. A girl after my own heart drinking watermelon juice straight from the bowl! I think We’re BOWL sistas! 😉

    My fav breakfast from the Breakfast Challenge was definitely the WATERMELON KIWI SMOOTHIE! I will absolutely be making that one again! This was a lot of fun, thanks for encouraging us to take some chances and mix it up! 😀

  7. what a great idea you had with this breakfast challenge! it made me want to step out of the box and try some french toast one morning- now how good does thatsound??! cinnamon raisin french toast to be exact 😉
    love shopping…but sometimes i can be a compulsive shopper…. example- i went to pick up a few running socks at dicks today- left with socks PLUS really nice (and sorta pricey) underarmor capris…oh well at least i look cute haha

  8. i may have failed at the end of the bfast challenge! but i went 6 days, if that counts for anything!! hahahahah that bowl! i am cracking up at the photo!! thanks for the recipe, i prefer branny muffins over sweet ones every day of the week. bookmarked! oh and the best bfast i had this past week, hmmm i cant pick. bfast is my fave. hands down.

Leave a Reply

