Just a typical Sunday…

Due to yesterday’s lack of post, I decided that my usual weekend highlight needed to be more then just a…highlight.

So here’s a peek into a typical Sunday…. 😀 

My Sunday morning started with oats in a jar, one of my most favorite combinations.  I enjoyed it indoors, while listening to the rain patter against the house..mmm…coziness! 😀

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 T. flax—mixed in after oats were cooked
  • peanut butter, of course! 😉

101_8378

Then I was off!!

In a cooler, I had packed a yogurt snack, complete with frozen blueberries and FEED cranberry coconut granola on top.  I knew lunch would be later today, and this did a wonderful job of holding me over until then. 😀

101_8382

The long car ride to Rockport is totally worth it whenever I see this sign… 😀

101_8388

Their menu is so fun.  From the Bad Dog to the Chihuahua, everyone can find some topping they enjoy.  They even offer veggie dogs for the vegetarians.  My family has made it a point to visit this place at least once a year during the summer months. 😀

101_8387

Today I went with my favorite Top Dog meal.  Their clam chowder is probably the finest I’ve ever had.  Thick, creamy, chunky….perfect!  I enjoyed a cup’s worth along with some kashi crackers I had stashed along from home.

101_8391

For dessert I ate a juicy bosc pear…which now made my purse feel much lighter as I walked away. 😉

101_8397

After lunch, I fit in lots of walking, enjoying all the sights–and smells!—of the coast.  These roses smell absolutely heavenly! 😀

101_8385

After walking around Rockport for a while, my stomach started to rumble.  The clam chowder, while delicious, just wasn’t as voluminous as my lunches normally are.  I ended up stopping by this quaint little cafe & sandwich shop, and ordered their hummus vegetable wrap on a tomato basil wrap.  Oh my word…delicious!  Next time I may be stopping here before Top Dog. 😉 

It’s been forever since I enjoyed alfalfa sprouts, and they really add so much to a sandwich.  So crunchy and crisp..yum!

Half of this sandwich plus the pickle was more then enough to finally fill me up. 😀

101_8407

A little more walking took place afterwards, because the day turned out to be gorgoues!!  Not a cloud in the sky. 😀  Besides, there were so many fun and interesting sights to see!

101_8410

Can you spot the seagull? 😉

101_8412

It was fun exploring a new town for the afternoon, along with taking in the local sights and smells.  Once 4 o’clock rolled around though, I realized how hungry I was becoming.  Not just hungry…but grumpy hungry.  Eeks!  Oh yes, it’s true.  If I reach a point of feeling too hungry, it’s not good for the people around me. 😉  I should have known to pack a granola bar along with me, but unfortanetly hadn’t planned that far ahead.

Panera saved my day. 😀

I ordered the “pick two option,” with  Fuji Chicken Apple Salad and the Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich.  I pretty much inhaled this meal. 😉  Everything tasted wonderful, and I felt so content and satisfied afterwards. 

101_8413

And my final eat of the day was this chiller:

  • 3 icecubes
  • 1 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 3 dates
  • 1 c. milk
  • handful of FEED cranberry coconut granola

101_8418

Just a typical Sunday. 😀

It was a fun weekend, and I feel refreshed and energized for the new week. 😀  I hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend…have a great night!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “Just a typical Sunday…

  1. What a wonderful day!! And such yummy eats I must say!

    We don’t have a Panera bread in New Mexico but that salad is making me wish we did!

    and I just want to say your so inspiring with how you listen and feed your hunger.. just one reason why I love your blog!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. oh my gosh! what an adorable little spot to dine! love it. love all the fun views. and also sprouts make everything better. and the teddy bear all laid out on your nut butter jar made me smile 🙂

  3. it really does look like you had an amazing weekend!

    thst wrap looks sooo delcious! i wish we had places that were healthy to eat out at where i live!

    sorry if i am out of the loop, but where is rockport? is it CT ? that sounds right, but i dont know haha

  4. oh my gosh…i want to go to rockport! honestly, with the exception of NYC and south carolina, i have never really been to the east coast which makes me sad because i know i would LOVE it.

    all the eats (clam chowder is sooo good!) and sights are gorgeous – such a fabulous weekend.

    love that panera combo – its one of my faves too!

    • You would love it! 😀

      Can you believe I’ve lived on the east coast all my life and I’ve never gone to NYC? I need to, it sounds fabulous. 😀

  5. Adventures on the East coast! Fun! I’ve never visited the north east. It looks so amazingly beautiful. Love all your eats from the day out and your great appetite! Haha – I am the same when it comes to hunger. I had that moment on saturday when I couldn’t talk to anyone until I had eaten something!! Grrr…

    • Haha…nope, not weird at all. I get super excited when I come close to finishing a jar of peanut butter. They’re just so enjoyable. 😀

  6. What a lovely day, Sarah!
    Why haven’t mentioned this before but your chillers always look so perfect? Seriously, that purple hue is fantastic!

    And where in Japan can I have a hummus vegetable wrap on a tomato basil wrap?! I’m dying here! 😛

Leave a Reply

