New Seasons

How did you all enjoy your first day of September? 😀

I know it’s not officially fall or anything, but somehow the first day of September always feels like fall to me.  Even moreso when you wake up and the outdoor thermometer reads 46 degrees out. 😉  Cool weather aside, everything just feels so crisp, clean, and fresh. The garden is slowing down, the daylight is fading earlier and earlier each night, and some of the leaves are showing signs of changing colors.  September is also the time of year when people start going back to school!  I’m thrilled to be starting again next week. 😀

But probably the two of my biggest “wow, it feels like fall” moments of today were: (1) I now close the door behind me when I go out for a walk, preventing the house from becoming too chilly.  When did this happen?  Just a couple weeks back, I was running in tank tops and shorts, sticking my head in the freezer upon my return—well, not really, but I did dream of doing this. 😀  And (2) I’m not eating my breakfasts out on the porch anymore, which just feels strange!

For photogenic purposes though, I still brought my meal outdoors.  Then promptly returned to the warm kitchen to eat my…urr…cold smoothie.

Yes, it’s true.  I have no pattern of matching my breakfasts to the weather!

Berry Banilla Chiller

  • 3 icecubes
  • 1 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 T. flax
  • 1 T. raisins—all out of dates, but these did the trick! 😀
  • 2 T. FEED cranberry coconut granola on top

101_8470

Plus a zucchini banana-nut muffin!

I was dying to try these out, and managed to wait until this morning to dig in.  And now I can officially say yum! 😀  I don’t really know what I was expecting…dry?  tasteless?  But these were nothing like my last batch at all, and were soft, moist, and flavorful! 😀  The bananas were sort of an after thought and didn’t stand out too much, which I liked.  They added just the right hit of flavor, keeping everything moist and sweet.  I think next time I’ll add even more cinnamon and a touch of cloves too.

So,  yes, I recommend this recipe!  I think it would be dreamy to top it with almond butter, like April did with her zucchini muffin recipe. 😀

101_8471

All together now! 😀

101_8472

This morning was pretty slow moving.  I love keeping busy, so it was a little strange having nothing to do or plans to be made.  I have to keep reminding myself that once the semester starts next week, I’ll be craving having nothing to do, and should be enjoying it while I still can. 😉

After cleaning up some blog related stuff—the recipes are now alphabetized, but I still need to organize it a little better!—I headed to the den for some yoga.  I didn’t feel like following a video, so made up a session as I went. 😀  By the end, my legs felt nice and loose, and my arms were burning (but in a good way 😉 .)  I love starting my day with yoga and definitely need to fit it in more often then I actually do!!

I snacked on this aterwards:

  • 1/2 c. cottage cheese
  • 1/2 c. kashi go lean
  • cinnamon

101_8473

My mom was here for lunch, and I wanted to remake for her the same salad I had yesterday.  It was de ja vu all over again, but this is a meal that I don’t mind repeating. 😉  I made it the exact same way as yesterday’s salad, only this time I roasted some carrots as well.  They took the same amount of time (about 23 minutes) and came out so sweet and earthy.  Mmm…

I realized yesterday that I didn’t really make it a point of how I roast the veggies, but it’s super simple and a definite must try cooking method for veggies. 😀

  • Peel any hard skins off veggies.  Chop or dice, and place on sprayed cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake at 425F for 20-25 minutes.

See?  Told you it was quick, easy, and amazing. 😀  Sometimes I’ll drizzle the carrots with honey as they’re baking too, for an extra special touch. 😀

101_8476

I finally managed to get my hair cut and styled today.  It’s been way too long.  Somehow things always manage to come up, and I talk about getting my hair cut weeks before I actually do.  But this afternoon I was finally fed up with split ends and frizzy fries, and headed to the salon to get a cut, wash and blowdry.

Love the way it feels, all bouncy, light and soft.  But I’m definitely not crazy for the style.  I came home and had my brother and mom staring at me for a few minutes with too-friendly smiles saying that it looked good (I said my family was honest with my baking…not necessarily honest with my hairstyles 😉 .)  But I’m hoping that once I wash and style it myself, I’ll look more like me again.  At least I don’t have to wear it up in a ponytail all the time anymore… 😉

On my way home I picked up a medium iced soy latte and snacked on this chocolate rice cake smeared with almond butter.  I think I prefer peanut butter on chocolate rice cakes because of the salty-sweet combo it gives, but this snack was mighty fine too. 😀

101_8478

Breakfast for dinner…one of my faves. 😀  I’m in love with these clementines right now, as they’re perfectly juicy.  I love that they’re completely seedless and easy to peel. 😀 

And I’ve discovered the secret to wonderful eggs: butter.  Seriously.  I’m a huge Pam-user in that I spray everything with cooking spray: the hot pancake griddle, cookie sheets for baking, cake pans, and usually my frying pan for making eggs.  But this is one situation when you really can tell the difference between using butter and spray. Just the tiniest pat of butter adds an incredible amount of flavor. 

The meal was complete with a couple of whole wheat blueberry pancakes served with a little dipping bowl of real maple syrup. 😀

  • 1 c. milk
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 handfuls of frozen blueberries (could also use fresh!)
  • 1/4 c. walnuts

Mix wet ingredients in bowl.  Mix rest of ingredients in separate bowl.  Combine wet and dry ingredients together just until moistened, avoiding over mixing.  Heat on hot skillet until bubbly and browned on one side.  Flip and cook until lightly browned.  Enjoy! 😀

101_8482

Tonight’s Dessert Dilemna: no dates…no dark chocolate squares.  What’s a girl to do when she has a sweet tooth but none of the above in the pantry?

Break out the hot cocoa.  It really is starting to feel like fall. 😀

I heated a cup of milk, added a T. of Godiva Dark Hot Cocoa mix, and topped it all off with a spray of whipped cream. 

101_8483

I have to say, one of my favorite things about this chilly weather is that I’m drinking hot tea again.  Every night.  Usually I opt for Decaf Green tea with a hint of lemon.  Mmm…

Happy September 1st! 😀

Exercise: 4-mile walk + 30 minutes of yoga

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “New Seasons

  1. Breakfast for dinner is the best! Mmm I love your after dinner treat of the hot chocolate! I’ll have to look for that brand!

    And your muffins look awesome! They look like they are decent sized too- mine came out teeny for some reason!

  2. Ahhh, now I have to try making zuke muffins! No doubt I’ll be adding bananas in there. 😛 Oooh, nothing’s better to keep warm than a mug of hot chocolate.
    Loving your eats, esp that rice cake-AB snack!

  3. Breakfast for dinner is pretty much amazing. I usually don’t crave any sweets after that kind of dinner. I am really enjoying the coming of fall too, I can’t wait for the leaves to change 🙂

  4. no dates ?!?!

    well .. i never have dates at home, they are a bit too pricey, but i do LOOOOOVE them. if i splurge and get some, they are gone in like … a day. haha .. shameless

    i wish the weather would listen to what season its supposed to be :p late september – decemeber is totally the best time of the year, i swell with happiness just thinking about it

  5. my coffee/warm drink consumption SKYROCKETS during winter. seriously. there is nothing better than holding a warm mug of goodness.

    yay for breakfast for dinner – that is one of my favorites. ahhh, all these fall-themed posts make me happy. i LOVE fall!

Leave a Reply

