Weekend Highlights: Random Times :)

Prepare yourself for a very random post.  There isn’t exactly any rhyme or reason to the madness, but some days are just like that—today was…but in a good way. 😀

Today was gorgeous outside: a high of 67 degrees, a few clouds, dry as can be.  This weather is enough to put a smile on anyone’s face. 😀  My dad and I decided that we wouldn’t let such a perfect day slip by, and made plans to hike up Mt. Monadnock. 😀

After church, we made a pit stop at mcdonalds…just to change up, of course. 😀  I felt kind of guilty just using the ladies room to put on my hiking clothes, but we already had lunch planned for the drive up.  Dad went with a tuna fish sandwich, and I went with my absolute favorite travel food: almond butter and blueberry jam sandwich.  This bread is fabulous, by the way.  I just recently picked it up at Trader Joe’s, and its their whole wheat tuscan bread.  I love how chewy and dense it is, and it tastes a little “sour” to me too.  I think it’s going to make a mean hummus sandwich sometime in the future. 😉

101_8581

While eating lunch, I couldn’t get over the fact that almond butter sandwiches just taste so good with milk.  So dad pulled into a gas station, picked up some gatorade, and I bought myself a Vanilla Carnation Instant Breakfast.  It was the closest thing to “milk” that I could find, but I wasn’t expecting it to be so sweet!!  Seriously, I could only drink about half of the bottle.  It would make a nice “dessert” shake, but was just too much for my milk craving…ha. 😉

101_8578

The hike was gorgeous, just like the day.  The top of Monadnock was packed full of people, so me and dad ate our snacks about 3/4 the way down the mountain.  I brought along cheesesticks, apples, and crackers for our munchies. 😀  These apples were super tart, but in a good way. 😀

101_8588

Dinner tonight started with the following as inspiration…

101_8591

No, that is not a garbanzo bean, despite first appearances.  It is in fact, a potato.  😀

Every year we find random potato plants in our garden, from when we compost the scraps.  This was the tiniest one to be found, but there were also 4 large ones that were a little more on the filling side, if you know what I mean. 😉

First I made some zucchini soup, and topped it off with cilantro.  Cilantro really is good on everything. 😉

101_8594

I decided that I need to make more vegetable soups!  This one was super simple to make, and it’s much more comforting on a cool fall day then a salad would have been.  Next time I should double the recipe and just freeze it for another time. 

The main entree was so flavorful and delicious, I just loved every bite.  I was in charge of prepping everything, and dad took care of the grilling! 😀  Nothing felt rushed, because there really wasn’t any time schedule or need to get things done.  I love it when meals just sort of fall together and everything tastes wonderful. 😀  There was cajun spiced chicken breasts, roasted beets, grilled asparagus, and grilled/roasted potatoes with chives.  Mmm…

101_8595

Alison has me hooked on watermelon.  I think I’ll take on the duty, just like she is, of making sure I stay on top of when watermelon goes out of season.  It’s a tough job, but I’m going to try my very best… 😉

101_8597

So you see, a very a random day…a very random post.  But some days–like today–are perfect and wonderful all at the same time.  With my school semester starting Tuesday, I’m so happy that I was able to fit in a fun-filled weekend beforehand.  I hope you’ve all been enjoying the weekend too.  I’d love to hear what everyone’s been up to, and I’ll be sure to catch up on your lovely blogs tomorrow morning too. 😀

G’night!!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights: Random Times :)

  1. Love almond butter and jelly sandwiches, and with milk = total childhood flashback! Too bad they didn’t have real milk for you!
    Hiking looks amazing, especially those views!

  2. Almond butter and jelly sandwiches are delicious! I used to make them the night before school and letting the jelly and almond butter sit together overnight seemed to make it taste better.. but maybe it was my imagination! Either way it was good 😀

    And that soup looks yummy! Where do you get your inspiration for meals from?

  3. Zucchini soup sounds really good and that meal looks lovely! So awesome that you get to hike so close to home (I’m pretty sure I say this every single time you go hiking!) – it looks just beautiful!

    AB and jelly sandwiches truly are amazing! I am with ya there!

  4. that bread sounds great! I need to add it to my TJs list when I get to go in a few weeks!

    glad you got to go hiking – that’s one of our favorite things to do.

  5. I’ve only just started eating nut butter and jam (I know, I’m a little behind). I MUST try the AB and blueberry combo! I like sour breads too 🙂

    I haven’t been hiking in so long. It looks like lot of fun! Good luck starting classes tomorrow!

  6. Lol that’s a potato?! how cute.
    Almond and blueberries go amazzzing together. I love all trader joe bread. it’s really well priced, too.

  7. Hi! I just stumbled upon your blog, it’s great! It looks like you had a great day with dad! I am obsessed with unsweetend chocolate Almond Milk, I can’t wait to try it in oatmeal after seeing your post! Hope your having a great labor day!

  8. I just had lunch but now I’m hungry again after reading this post!

    That same thing happens to us and the volunteer plants. For us it’s always some squash plant! Gotta love it.

Leave a Reply

