Smile Each Day

You may recall when I mentioned my plans to make a daily smile list.  I think every day should have some small perk that you look forward to.  It could be anything from a Monday cup of coffee, a Sunday night at-home spa treatment–as one reader suggested–or taking the time on a Thursday night to read your favorite magazine. 

The idea came when I realized that I normally pile all my happy events and plans onto Friday.  But when it comes right down to it, does Friday really need any more perfection?  😉  Monday mornings deserve a little perk, and so does Sunday night.  My list has been started, but isn’t quite complete. 

Sunday: TBD
Monday: “official coffee day.” 😀  There’s something special about a comforting, warm latte or cappucino.  I already have plans to indulge in a starbuck’s pumpkin spice latte this Monday. 😀
Tuesday: “biggest loser night.”  Am I the only one addicted to this show? 😀  Usually I don’t watch tv during the week, but I can’t wait for the new season to start.  With Tuesdays being my busiest school day, it’s going to be nice having a veg-out night. 😀
Wednesday: “tempt the tastebuds.”  On the typical Wednesday night, there is nothing in the house.  Maybe one apple in the fruit drawer or a carrot in the veggie tray. 😉  In other words, the perfect night to take a trek to whole foods and find a unique food that I’ve never tried before. 😀
Thursday: TBD
Friday: TBD
Saturday: “spa day.”  A reader suggested this one, and I loved it. 😀  At home french manicures, facials, hair moisturizing treatments…basically a refresher from the week and a way to start the new.  😀

I need your help with the “To Be Decided’s”!!! 😀

7:00am

Today was cold, wet and cloudy.  I was more then happy for my morning of rest. 😉  I enjoyed it with a whole wheat bagel, about 2 T. peanut butter, an orange, and a side of plain yogurt and flax.

101_8687

9:30am

Despite the cold rain drops falling from the sky, mom and I bundled up in our hoodies, grabbed the umbrellas, and headed out for a brisk walk.  Not before grabbing a cheese stick on my way out. 😉 

101_8688

11:30am

A day—or two—old slice of homemade bread still tastes wonderful when it’s toasted and patted with a touch of butter.  The inside becomes soft again, while the outer crust becomes even crustier. 😀  Mmm…love it!

The salad was super simple, but easy to put together before I had to head off to school.  I feel as if I’ve been slacking on the veggies lately too, so it was nice to get a big bowl full of them all in one meal.

  • mesculin greens
  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • red onions
  • black and green olives
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • balsamic vinegar

101_8691

1:00pm

I wasn’t sure what it would be like sitting through an entire evening of one lecture, with no time for breaks!  I packed along a peach and a Natures Path Banana Manna bar just in case I did get the chance to nosh on something.  Come to find out, both of the classes are going to include a 10-minute planned snack break…just one of the perks to being in a nutrition class! 😉  I ate my planned snacks for today, but I can’t wait to sample some of the goodies that people will be bringing in.

Oh, and I have to take back what I first said about the banana manna bars.  I wasn’t originally a fan, partially due to the sticky texture.  But today it hit the spot, and I really enjoyed the flavor and crunch from the nuts.  Maybe it’s one of those things that just takes time to learn to love?  I’m not really sure, but I do know that you’ll be seeing more of these as I make my way through the box that they were kind enough to send me. 😀

101_8693

5:00pm

I spent some time meandering my way through barnes and noble, and somehow found myself at whole foods in the process.  How does that happen?? 😉

I picked up a little snack to eat on the car ride home, since I knew dinner was going to be later.  Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera with me, but just picture a plain chobani yogurt topped with dry roasted pumpkin seeds.  It was the perfect little snack.  And considering how many red lights I hit on the way home, I had time to actually enjoy it too. 😉

6:30pm

There’s an overabundance of lentil tacos in the fridge, so that’s exactly what I had for dinner tonight. 😀  Except instead of eating it in it’s normal taco form, I topped half of a very large sweet potato with the spicy mix.  Leftovers like this don’t have to be boring if you change it up a little and make it into a “new” meal. 

101_8711

Tonight I’m home alone, with my parents dining out for their anniversary celebration…26 years.  How cool is that? 😀  Anyways, I’m enjoying some “me time” alone.  My original plans involved me in my pj’s with the tv on and a couple of magazines.  Nothing wrong with a night spent this way, but I ended up tuning in to the yoga channel, and found myself doing some sun salutations and downward dogs instead. 😀  It was really an enjoyable way to end the day, and I think I’ll need to include it much more often.

Happy weekend!  Can’t wait to hear about all your plans and happenings! 😀

 (p.s. Fruit cereal is also on the agenda for tonight, of course. 😉 G’night!)

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Smile Each Day

  1. ohh i love the idea of having something to look forward to daily. i may have to copycat you on that one. it is a fun idea!

    loving that glorious salad! looks like it had all the right stuff.

    i have seen those bars around but never have tried one.. maybe i will, thanks for the thoughts on it.

    happy anniversary to the parents!

  2. OMG I love love love your smile each day plan!! I was actually JUST thinking about this as I was driving to work this evening. About making each day a “special day” to perk up the blog and spice up life a bit. How funny 🙂 Maybe one of the days (Sunday?) can be a try a new recipe day? Even though you’re already so creative with all your recipes!

  3. Still loving lentils here! 😀 I made a huge curry (Japanese curry though) batch, yum! 😀
    Suggestions:
    -Wear something special to school – a cute top, stylish earrings – something that makes you feel great! 😀
    -*Connect* with a loved one: bond with your sister, call a relative/friend, hang out with a friend at the bookstore, etc.
    -Sunday can be an ‘anyhing goes day’? 😛

  4. I’ll definitely be joining you on Biggest Loser night in spirit! I love that show. It’s so inspiring.

    That lentil and sweet potato meal looks amazing. I’d never have thought those were “leftovers”

  5. What a great idea! I need a pumpkin latte! I’m not a big coffee drinker but when the holidays roll around I just have to get their pumpkin, peppermint mocha, and gingerbread lattes! It’s a must! 😀

    Good idea for the sweet potato! You know me I always top it with sweet peanut butter but I bet it’d be good with a spicy topping!

    Enjoy your me time!

  6. OMG I’m a Biggest Loser Addict!! The season premier is even WRITTEN ON THE KITCHEN CALENDAR. I too rarely watch TV but Tuesday night is must see TV for me! I love some of the Thursday night shows too but BL takes the cake!

    I would definitely do a dessert night! One day a week where you indulge in something sweet! Maybe a cookie at school or something made at home for the whole family to enjoy. That would totally make me smile.

  7. I was writing a post similar to this! Will be up next week.. I LOVE this idea (and glad you liked my spa-day idea!) The Wednesday one sounds great! What about one night you call a friend/relative you haven’t talked to in ages and lives far away, or a movie night or date night… Hmm. Maybe you could get some friends on board and do a dinner party each week hosted at someone else’s house every week?

  8. I lke the coffee day idea, since I’m a sucker for lattes and cappuccinos 😉 One morning a week, I skip my usual crack-of-dawn workout, make myself a big wonderful breakfast and take my time to enjoy it 🙂

    I didn’t know the Biggest Loser was starting soon! Exciting! 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

  9. I love the daily smile list!! I also treat myself to coffee on Mondays and that makes it 100 times easier to get out of bed after the weekend.

    Also – one of my “smile” things comes from making cookies or bread, and so I try to do that once a week. Not only do I like the baking/dough tasting, but then I have home baked goodies for the end of the week.

  10. So glad to know I’m not the only Biggest Loser junkie out there! I LOVE that show!! Can’t wait for the new season.

  11. Ahhh! I go away for a few days and I come back and everything’s different! Love the new look…
    I am also addicted to the Biggest Loser and manage to cry every episode like a complete fool!

    As usual your lentils are calling my name…one of these days!

Leave a Reply

