Smilie List and Monday Mood Lifters

Monday should start with the complete smilie list, don’t you think?  And please, if you have your own smilie list going or plan on joining in with me on any of these, let us all know about it! 😀

The Weekly Smilie List:

Sunday: Baking Day… 😀  Keunger mentioned how she loves to bake, and I couldn’t agree more.  It’s just so…relaxing!  
Monday: Coffee Day! 😀
Tuesday: Biggest Loser Night…I know for a fact that some of you will be joining me in watching this new season. 😉
Wednesday: Tempt the Tastebuds…trying new foods that I’ve never had before is going to be exciting! 😀
Thursday: Make Someone Smile Day…okay, you ever notice how when you manage to make someone smile, it makes you smile too??  I figured it might be a good idea to pass on the smiles to other people, whether it’s buying flowers for my memere, randomly complimenting someone, helping someone out, etc.  😀
Friday: At-Home Spay Day
Saturday: Slow Down Morning…Susan mentioned how one morning a week, she’ll skip her usual workout and plan a nice breakfast while leisurely enjoying it.  Loved the idea! 😀  My ideal morning consist of a favorite breakfast, a cup of really good coffee, yoga, and my journal.  Since the week can be so hectic, I’ll definitely look forward to having one morning a week where I can just slow down. 😀 

A couple other fun ideas:

“Wear something that makes you feel great to school,” Mia
“Pick one sunny day and for 15 minutes, sit outside in the September sun and soak it in,” Balance for Mere (I totally did this one today, and totally loved it, by the way. 😉 )

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mondays require a couple of things in order to be completely enjoyed.  First, you need a good breakfast.  I planned ahead last night and popped none other then the breakfast cookie into the fridge, with a glass of milk on the side. 

Second requirement?  Coffee. 😀  If you’re not a coffee drinker, tea works well too. 😉  There’s something about holding a warm cup that instantly sparks a feeling of coziness.

101_8770

Third requirement: Get your groove on!  Go for a walk, spend some time at the gym, go out for a run, etc.  Whatever gets you moving is good, and really stomps out any lingering Monday Moodiness.

This morning I went for a 4-mile run, and I found myself smiling from ear to ear by the end.  I literally started my day on the right foot, and felt incredibly energized upon returning. 😀

Fourth requirement: Eat well!  Fuel up with good-for-you foods that give you energy and nutrition.  My go-to snack of the day was yogurt with flax and pumpkin seeds. 😀

101_8771

Fifth requirement: Spend some time in the sun.  If you don’t have any sunny skies at the current moment, still go outside for some fresh air, and turn some lights on in the house for a while to “brighten” up the day.  It doesn’t have quite the same effect as the sun, but does wonders for cheering up any dark weather. 😀

Summer decided to peak its head out this afternoon, reminding me that it hasn’t completely left yet.  I soaked up some September sun just as Meredith suggested, and it felt wonderful! 😀  I also ate lunch outdoors, which was the very last of the lentil tacos (I promise! haha…,) guacamole and the last of the rosemary scones with olivio butter. 

101_8775

…oh and a very crisp cortland apple for dessert. 😀

101_8778

Sixth Requirement: Coffee of course!  I know I already mentioned it in the second requirement, but it bears repeating since it is Coffee Monday after all. 😉  Today I tried starbuck’s pumpkin spiced latte.  I asked for a tall with just 1 shot of syrup.  It was good, but next time I’m going to take a sip first and add cinnamon to taste.  I think it would have been perfect with just a touch more spice. 😀

101_8779

Seventh Requirement: Fish!!  Especially the fatty ones such as salmon, which contain high levels of omega 3 fatty acids.  Among other things, they’ve been shown to boost your mood.  I had haddock tonight, which is much lower in the healthy fats then salmon, but it still offers a little.  For your best source, though, go with a nice peice of salmon. 😀

101_8780

I was still hungry after dinner so I added in a little snack…peanut butter rollup. 😀

101_8782

I used to eat this snack all the time as a kid… 😀

101_8784

My eighth and final way to enjoy my Monday included going for an after dinner walk, reading an interesting homework assignment, and making a berry chiller. 😀  Tonight’s mix included:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 c. frozen blueberies
  • 3 prunes
  • 1 c. milk
  • Natures Path Pumpkin Granola sprinkled on top

101_8786

Do you do anything special to perk up your mood on Monday?  Or are you usually pretty happy regardless of what day of the week it might be?  Do share! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “Smilie List and Monday Mood Lifters

  1. Sarah, if ever the day comes that I’ll need therapy for depression, I’ll just drop by this blog entry to save me some money. 😉 Love your requirements! 😀
    Mondays can indeed be moody. I always want to start the week right by waking up early and having a cup of warm tea at work. This practice somehow sets my mind for the rest of the work week.

  2. I love your idea for the thursday: make someone smile…I find that this makes yourself happy too, a lot! And it’s so important:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  3. I love all your smile ideas! It sounds perfect!

    Did you double the lentil recipe? We only got 4 servings out of ours! Maybe I didn’t add enough water to mine?

    Could you taste the pumpkin in the latte with one shot? I don’t get coffee very often so I never really know how to order them haha!

    And I’m loving the prunes in that smoothie!

  4. My Monday definitely needed a little added cheer yesterday so I just listened to what I wanted. I skipped yoga because I was aching TONS from sunday’s class and came straight home to hang with my boy, drink a beer and make some delicious food! Then it was pj’s time at some ungodly early hour and curling up in front of the TV – whatever works right?!
    Want one of those rosemary scones!

  5. alright…you’ve inspired me!

    i am going to get my list together and make my day happier with the little things! i am loving the looks of that scone my dear – what recipe did you use?

  6. haha coffee is req #1 para mi. but i love the list! and the artsy PB rollup photo. i am not participating in tuesday’s but i already have wednesday’s item up my sleeve!! xo

  7. Whohoo! I am glad you liked the baking idea! My number one thing for putting a smile on my face on Monday is to get moving – followed by a comforting breakfast (coffee always included).

    Also, PB roll-ups played a central roll in my childhood. I forgot all about them until this post – thanks for that! 🙂

    – Katie

  8. Oooh! I am totally participating! I’ve already got new foods in my fridge for tomorrow AND plan on watching the Biggest Loser tonight 🙂 I’m not a huge baker, so I like the idea of experimenting with baking on Sundays too. Maybe it will help me get over my fear of it! 😛

Leave a Reply

