An End and the Beginning of Something New :)

Last night I had an interesting conversation with a friend of mine who is actively participating in a program that promotes the intake of fruit in children.  Once a month, the kids are introduced to a new fruit and different ways they can implement it into their diet.  Bananas in their cereal, berry smoothies, etc.  I was excited about her project, and suddenly thought to myself, “what am I doing that reflects my passion for nutrition?”  Then as I was reading Pregnancy Nutrition today, I couldn’t help but feel even more motivated to do something.  Hopefully I’ll be getting involved with WIC (women, infants and children) soon to help promote healthy eating in moms and their children, because that is something that I feel passionately for. 😀

Another thought came across my head, over how I kind of want to change the format of the blog a little.  By now, I’m sure you all know my average, typical day. 😉  So I’d kind of like to go back to what this blog was originally meant for: the occasional–not necessarily daily–entry when I feel inspired to write (which will give me more flexibility.)  I plan on writing better posts when I do write, rather then any rushed last minute scrambling. 😀  I really want to focus more on healthy living issues, nutrition questions and answers, recipes, running thoughts, etc. 

I’m excited about this change because it’s more the direction that I wanted it to take in the first place. 😉  Best of all, this will give me more time to read all of your blogs and take the time to answer any questions asked on the blog or via email.  AND it will give me the flexibility to take a few days off when I need it for homework–or hopefully getting involved with WIC!!–which is important too.

So there you have it…the end and the beginning of something new.  Stay tuned for more updates and changes as they come. 😉

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “An End and the Beginning of Something New :)

  1. I THINK THAT IS A GREAT IDEA!!! And, to comment on your friends idea I thing that is “wonderful”! As someone who has struggled with “eating” since late childhood I think it is a wonderful idea. I made it a point to start my own daughter, now 9 years old in October, off eating fruits when she was a baby……..fruits, yogurt, cherrios, veggies, etc. I did not want her to have the same Eating Issues as me. I am happy to say she now LOVES FRUIT and will 9 times out of 10 pick fruit over anything else offered to her……even chocolate if you can believe that one. Same goes for yogurt too. GOOD LUCK! =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  2. Yay for new beginnings! Your WIC project sounds fabulous – you are such a kind hearted one, aren’t ya?
    I like the idea for the blog – I feel the same way about my own and have been moving that way slowly but surely recently 🙂

    Anything that means more Sarah-recipes sounds good to me!

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you will not be blogging daily. One of the highlights of my day was looking at your healthy food choices and thinking of ways that I could implement them into my own diet. However, I do understand the need for more time (there isn’t enough time in the day to do everything is there?) so that you can focus and devote more attention to specific tasks.

    I agree with Angharad.. more Sarah recipes sounds like a great idea to me!

  4. I’m excited for that, and think it’s a brilliant idea!!!

    Also, last semester I got involved in “Husky Nutrition” here at UConn, and every other saturday I went to a children’s home in East Hartford and taught the kids lessons on fruits and veggies. We made smoothies, “pearsauce”, and even apple cider with them. It was such an amazing experience!

    -Laura

  5. good for you! do whatever fits you best – i think mine will eventually change too. i am not sure to what, but it looks like you are headed in a direction that suits you, and for that – i am sooo excited!

    love you getting involved with WIC!

  6. Boy lady, I hear ya loud and clear! Just a few days away from the computer busy with LIFE and I feel so behind. Can’t imagine trying to do this is a student. Can’t wait to see what you’ve got in store for us. I’ll be here reading!

  7. I’m glad your doing what’s right for you! I agree when I have lots of homework I just throw together a random post that probably isn’t as good as it could be!

    You should definitely post some of your occasional oatmeal mixtures.. I love looking at those beautiful bowls! 😀

Leave a Reply

