Apple Crisp

Apple Crisp is one of those desserts that just screams autumn.  Cinnamon mingling with brown sugar, all swirled in with gooey apples and finished off with an oatmeal studded crust.  It doesn’t get more ‘fallish’ then that, does it?  And with a big bag of freshly picked apples sitting patiently in the kitchen, this recipe was begging to be put to use.  Speaking of bagged apples, by the way, I can’t get over how fast they’ve been going down lately.  I think I had forgotten what a fresh, crisp apple tasted like until this week, and now I simply can’t get enough of them. 😀

Anyways, back to the apple crisp.  Some people insist on topping theirs with icecream.  Others, like me, argue that a dollop of cool whip is where it’s at.  We happened to have vanilla icecream in the house tonight, so that’s what I went with.  Either way, I don’t think you could go wrong. 😉

101_8817

Apple Crisp (serves 6) –adapted from Gold Medal Flour’s Children’s Cookbook

  • 6 medium tart cooking apples, peeled and sliced
  • 6 T. water
  • 1/4-1/2 c. flour
  • 1/4-1/2 c. oats
  • 6 T. brown sugar
  • 4 T. butter, softened
  • 3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1. Heat oven to 350 F.

2. In a square baking dish, add apple slices and sprinkle with water.

3. Mix rest of ingredients with a fork until crumbly and sprinkle over apples.

4. Bake uncovered until golden brown and apples are tender, 25-30 minutes.

5. Enjoy. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Apple Crisp

  1. Apples are my favourite piece of produce. Ever. So just imagine how much I looooove apple crisp 😉 A co-worker brought some in the other day and it seriously made my morning! I’m with you on the Cool Whip too!

  2. Roasted apple anything makes me definitely think of autumn….and even though it is still in the 110s around here and will be for quite some time, I just made a vegan apple pie last week. There is something about these kind of desserts that just hit the spot! Lovely photo.

Leave a Reply

