Brown Rice for Breakfast

You all know how much I just love using up leftovers from the fridge.  I hate seeing things go to waste, especially when it’s from my over-guesstimating on how much food that I need to make—and ending up with enough to feed an army!  This is exactly what happened with last night’s meal, as I found myself with a ton of leftover brown rice.  In this situation, there was really only one thing that could take care of such an overabundance…

101_8818

If you thought that was oatmeal or cottage cheese curds, look again. 😉  It came out rather nice, although–I have to point out–it still needs some perfecting before I can call it complete.  I think it would be a good idea to actually let the rice sit in the liquid overnight so that it absorbs all the flavor.  But the raisins went wonderfully with the mix, as did the walnuts.  So if you’re daring and want to take a shot at eating brown rice for breakfast, then let me know what crazy ideas you can come up with for yourself—or for me, because I inevitably always cook more rice then everyone can eat which means I’ll be trying another morning meal with it soon enough. 😉

Here’s how I made this particular bowl (but again…not perfect—it needs a tweak or two! 😉 )

  • 1-1/2 c. leftover, cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 c. POM juice
  • 6 oz. plain yogurt
  • 1 banana

Stir, stir, stir…and top with:

  • handful of raisins
  • sprinkle of coconut
  • about 2 T. walnuts

I think next time I’ll even mash a little of the banana and add it in.  The POM juice was great in there but kind of tart like cranberry juice.  So it definitely needs some sweetness. 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tonight I am home alone again.  I’m actually really enjoying these free nights where it’s just me.  Not that I enjoy being a hermit all the time ( 😉 ), but sometimes it feels so good.  I found myself 15 minutes into a yoga video before feeling some intense stretches that I figured would be best saved for after the race.  No sense in getting muscle aches beforehand. 😉  In the meantime, I spent my evening doing gentle yoga and later I plan on a bubble bath (it’s Friday Spa Day, after all 😉 ) and reading my new Runners World front to back.  Friday nights are so lovely. 😀

Oh, and stay tuned for a series I plan on putting together, called “The Art of Eyeballing.”  I hope it will be of some help to calorie counters who might want to try a more intuitive approach, as well as seasoned intuitive eaters who might want the practice at figuring out what a proper portion of certain food items are…and how they vary depending on each individual! 😀

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Brown Rice for Breakfast

  1. Hmm, brown rice for breakfast, interesting? haha. Idk, I don’t think it will catch on with me, but I had some amazing bread from the Dekalb Farmer’s market that was made with brown rice in it, and it added such great chewiness.
    And I can’t wait to read the art of eyeballing. I’ve stopped counting since coming to college but on days with a lot of running I try to keep a running tally to keep track so I’m fueling right.

  2. That breakfast sounds fantastic! It looks like rice pudding.. one of my favorites!

    I can’t wait for the eyeballing post! I can’t seem to stop measuring my nut butter!

  3. My mom used to make me brown rice, butter, cinnamon and sugar and it was the best breakfast food ever. Ever. This reminds me that I need to get more brown rice in my diet…yum. Happy Weekend!

  4. Wow, you are one creative girl! I think coconut milk would go vey well with brown rice. Enjoy your Spa Day! 😀 And have a great race on Sunday!

  5. That breakfast sounds really good. I like to make new dishes with leftover ingredients too…

    Enjoy your weekend!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. This immediately made me think of rice pudding. People eat rice for dessert, why not breakfast too? FABULOUS idea, I don’t think I would have ever been brave enough to try it, I love that you did! I will never look at rice leftovers the same again.

    GOOD LUCK TOMORROW!! I’m so excited for you!

  7. Oooh, that makes me think of rice pudding too!! Which I lovelovelove 🙂 My little step-sis ate white rice with parmesan cheese every morning for breakfast all through elementary school. Whatever floats your boat I guess 😉

  8. I love rice for breakfast 😀 I went through a stage of cooking rice with raisins and apples, then adding to yogurt for breakfast…or any time of day. So good 😀

    my name is coming up different on everyone’s blogs today! GAH WORDPRESS!

Leave a Reply

