Just Another Manic Monday…

This morning my mom’s cousin was planning on coming over to visit, so I found myself rushing around with an air of urgency.  First the living room area needed to be re-organized after my studying session had left nothing but destruction in its path. 😉  Then I wanted to complete a paper that was due for an afternoon class.  Then I wanted to fit in a sweaty run and shower before company arrived.  I fit it all in, but then she called to say that her youngest son was sick with the stomach bug and she couldn’t make it!  Ah well, it made for a very productive morning, all in all.  Sometimes I need a push to get myself reorganized, and this did just the trick.  Considering she rescheduled to come over next week too, it just means that I’ll have another productive morning of cleaning to look forward to for next week. 😉

My pre-run breakfast was a hearty bowl of pumpkin oats.  Same ol’ recipe as yesterday.  Sometimes you can’t beat perfection. 😀  Seriously, this is one of my favorite autumn oatmeal mixes.

Post-run nosh: the juiciest cantaloupe and a cheesestick.

My 4-mile run went decently well, but I didn’t like the way my feet were clobbering the ground on the last stretch home.  My legs felt heavy, and I couldn’t sync back into a rhythm.  I wanted to sound like a greyhound prancing on the grass but instead sounded like a clysedale on pavement.  I’m wondering…would insoles help?  I can’t decide if its worth dishing the extra $40 for them or not!

I wanted nothing more then a pile of veggies for lunch, so that’s what I had:

  • mixed mesculin greens
  • cukes, tomatoes, and a carrot
  • red onions
  • 3/4 c. garbanzo beans, all mashed up
  • 1/4 avocado, all mashed up and mixed with beans
  • balsamic vinegar drizzled on top

And some wheat bunnies on the side.  You can never have too much c-r-u-n-c-h.

I’ve been going through so many almonds these past few weeks.  They’re my go-to school snack, because they’re so transportable, healthy, and satiating! 

+ an apple for the drive down.

Dinner was sort of a heads-up reminder that Thanksgiving is next week!  Mom baked a natural chicken, along with some homemade cranberry sauce, steamed asparagus, mashed potatoes with garlic, and butternut squash.  The squash was from a local farm, and was heavenly sweet!  I went back for seconds on all the veggies. 😀

I love cereal for snacks.  I would most definitely have it for breakfast more often if it would just manage to keep me full.  Tonight’s bowl was one of my personal faves: barbara’s shredded spoonfuls.  In my opinion, it’s the better version of LIFE. 😀

Now I’m back to work on the couch (I just realized how silly that sounds!)  I have a Nutrition in the Life Cycle exam on Wednesday, with a bunch of papers due tomorrow and Thursday, so I’ve gotta keep chugging away!

G’night!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Just Another Manic Monday…

Leave a Reply

