Running without a mission

I had one mission for my morning run: run without a mission.  My last few runs from this past week have left me feeling frustrated.  Running is supposed to be energizing…invigorating.  It’s supposed to slow things down.  So today I made up my mind to keep my pace slow and just enjoy the run without any knowledge of time.  That’s exactly what I did, and my morning 4-mile run was a lovely reminder of why I run.  It felt really good to be back in the groove. 😀

Maybe my pre-run oats had something to do with the energizing run?? 😀

Banana-Berry Oats

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 c. milk
  • handful of raisins
  • cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg

On the side I heated 1/2 c. frozen blueberries in a small frying pan over medium-low heat.  I don’t like it when my oats turn blue on me, and this little trick prevents that from happening. 😀  After the oatmeal is cooked, I simply fold the berries right in, and top with walnuts and granola. 

I made a quick dash outside, snapped the picture, and ran back in…there was another frost last night, so I don’t think I’ll be eating breakfast outdoors any time soon! 😀

After my run, I felt so refreshed and energized for the rest of the morning.  A good run has a way of perking up the rest of the day.  It’s amazing how much less I procastinated during today’s early morning hours compared to yesterday!

In between finishing my paper, I had a yogurt snack consisting of plain non-fat yogurt, 1/2 a bosc pear, 1 T. crushed flax, and a heaping spoonful of homemade cranberry sauce.

I love leftovers…usually I’ll change it up or make the meal into something completely different.  But this time I stuck with the same ol’, same ol’ for the white bean and squash saute that was made a few nights ago.  All the flavors had a chance to meld, so it was even more delicious.  Simple meals are oftentimes the tastiest. 😀

+ a cup of tea to-go.  I’m a little obsessed with Twinings herbal teas right now.  It’s the epitome of coziness. 😀

For some reason, this afternoon I could not keep my eyelids open in chemistry lecture.  It was probably due to my late night last night, as I finished my literature review paper.  I managed to stay awake, but it was hard trying to focus on glycolipids when my eyes were feeling so droopy.  I hate when I feel that way, because it totally defeats the point of going to lecture in the first place! 😦  Thankfully, I’m normally much more energetic and awake.  I think last night’s late hours of writing papers had something to do with it, so tomorrow I should be back to normal. 😉

By the time chemistry was over, and I was in my writing in nutrition class, I broke out my snacks: some orange slices and a handful of almonds. 

And, I have to say, I really do realize that my dinner is completely unphotogenic.  But at the time, this may as well have been gourmet.  It was late, I was tired, and I just sort of threw a pile of various favorites into one pile of goodness…haha.  Let’s see if I can remember what was in this giant bowl:

  • cucumbers
  • carrots
  • tomatoes
  • red onions
  • black olives, sliced
  • 1 salmon pattie
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • 1/4 avocado
  • spoonful of cranberry sauce (who would have known it would be so delicious on top of the salad?)

…and a slice of homemade wheat bread on the side.  Despite the randomness, it was exactly what I was in the mood for.  My hungry belly and tastebuds were both pleasantly satisfied. 😉

When dad heard I was out of dark chocolate, he broke out his stash of 60% cacao ghirardelli squares

I ate mine in the usual sort of way. 😀

+ a night time snack of strawberry all-bran medley cereal with milk.

My eyelids are again drooping…hopefully I can actually sleep in a little tomorrow morning!  I have a big exam coming up on Monday, so I’d like to fit in at least 2 hrs. of studying tomorrow morning before classes so I can potentially have the night “free.” 

Oh Friday, you always come at such a good time. 😀 

G’night!

 

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Running without a mission

  1. Can I just tell you again how happy I am your posting again?? lol. Everything looks so good! I have to say your dinner actually looks delicious! Lately I’ve been throwing random ingredients into a stir-fry.. I love it because now that the weather is cold I can enjoy my veggies warm!

    • Thanks so much, April! 😀 I’m really happy to be blogging again. 😀

      Mmm…I always forget about stir-frys. I’m going to look on your blog for inspiration. 😀

  2. That throw-together salad looks unbelievably good! Cranberry sauce on a salad sounds like a fantastic idea. I must try it soon.

    Good luck with your studying in the morning! 🙂

  3. I put cranberry sauce on my salads too! With turkey, veggies, & some walnuts, on spinach it tastes like thanksgiving in a bowl…so good! Yours looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

