Running Goals

I had big plans for a run this morning.  After catching up on last month’s issue of Runners World, I found myself deeply motivated to consider a Half-Marathon for next year.  It’s still too early to be training hard-core, but it gives me reason to focus on good, quality workouts while gradually increasing my mileage.  I love having plans and goals, and this is just the thing I need.  And–going against my typical Sarah fashion–I’m letting everyone know of my plans.  It will keep me all the more on track during my winter training. 😀

For breakfast I had overnight pumpkin pie oats.  It literally reminded me of a spicy pumpkin pie.

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1 sliced banana
  • handful of raisins
  • lots of cinnamon, a few dashes of cloves and nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. milk

I popped it in the fridge overnight and this morning I stirred in:

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 1/2 c. pumpkin
  • walnuts and granola on top

I love autumn style oats! 😀

In between studying for today’s exam, I toasted a slice of bread and smeared on some peanut butter.  Half hour later, I was off on a brilliant run.  Lately I’ve been stopping after the hills for a quick walking break, but today with the half-marathon in mind, I decided to push through the heavy breathing.  I slowed myself down some, letting it catch back up with me.  But I know that I need to build some endurance for when the runs get tough and I just need to keep moving. 

Besides, after the hill, my breathing tends to return pretty quickly once I’m back on flat ground.  Just in time for the next hill…haha. 😉 

Cooking Light has one of my favorite lentil soup recipes (click on the link for the recipe!)  I love the simplicity of it, and I love, love, love my lentil soups to be nice and tomato-ey.  Which is why I usually double the amount of tomatoes that the recipe calls for. 😀  Without any feta cheese on hand, I sprinkled on a bit of mozzarella and ate some bunnies on the side for the crunch.

Guess which one I ate?

…the pear?

…the apple?

…the almonds?

…all of the above (ur…below?)

…yes, it was all of the above.  Let’s just say I was in class longer then I was expecting, and I ate all the packed snacks that I had for emergency situations.  The exam was excruciatingly difficult and exhausting, but I think I managed to do okay.  We’ll have to wait and see.  But at least she drops the lowest score, and I did okay on the last two as well.  Now I just have to start preparing for the cumulative final! 

Mom made an old family favorite for dinner.  😀  It’s one of those “secret recipes” that I won’t even get until I’m older.  Which means I’m as in the dark as you guys!  I do know that there’s bison meat, rice, onions, tomato soup, and green peppers (obviously!)  The flavor is out of this world, and I’m dying to know what spices are in there! 

Just now I’m munching on a little night-time snack, while reading my newest edition of Today’s Dietitian magazine.  It feels so good to be done all of my major projects before Thanksgiving!  My paper is complete, my lab report is finished, and now I can sit back and enjoy the holiday! 😀

Oh, and this snack was meant to be a 6-oz. container of yogurt, but as I was dripping some of the excess liquid off of the top of my yogurt, half of it fell in the sink!  It’s totally fine though, because my toppings made up for the disappointment:

  • plain yogurt
  • whole wheat pumpkin muffin
  • a few puffins for crunch

To think that I’ve never tried muffins in my yogurt before.  I loved the textures together.  The yogurt was soaked up a little in all of the tiny air pockets of the muffin, and it made for a tasty snack. 😀

I’ll leave you with a few pic’s I took over the weekend.  Sometimes a walk in the woods to view nature is just what a girl needs after a full day of studying. 😉

G’night! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Running Goals

  1. I love pumpkin pie oats! And I love the volume the pumpkin gives.. mmm!

    I’ve recently been eating a lot of bison meat and I love it! It’s a lot milder than most red meats so I really like it!

    And muffins in yogurt are so good! Add some peanut butter and you’ve got yourself an amazing snack!

  2. Gorgeous pictures! What kind of camera do you have?.. I am looking for a new one having finally taken time to read the manual, and realised that it literally does nothing except flash/no flash pics.

    Muffins + yogurt = YUM!

  3. GORGEOUS pictures! that leaf is amazing…i love nature pictures. there is just no better subject 🙂

    and i am in love with your overnight pumpkin oats. genius!

Leave a Reply

